We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Giralda Hotel
Ranked #77 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 17 June 2014

excellent location, close to the old city with the nice tapas restaurants and bars, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, pleasant and comfortable room. Parking is bit of a challenge .We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valeriu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Director General at Catalonia Giralda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Usually you can find at least one good thing about bad hotels. Not this one. The front desk staff are rude; always. If you ask for directions, they send you in the wrong direction. The bathroom was dirty, littered with hairs of all sorts. When I saw how bad it is, I wanted to leave. Unfortunately, I booked on-line for two nights and there was no way to get my money back. From the dingy carpet in the hallways and in the room, to the lumpy bed this place is one to avoid. The website claimed it is a 15 minute walk to the centre of town. It's more like half an hour. I didn't feel safe leaving anything in the room so I asked for a key to the in-room safe. They demanded a 20 Euro deposit, which I never got back. I wrote to the manager 2 weeks ago, but haven't heard from him. I guess it's a scam. In fact, this whole place seems to be a scam. It claims to be a four star property, it's more like 2. There are plenty of better hotels in Sevilla. Over priced for what you get and really over rated.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be anything good about this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetravelprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Director General at Catalonia Giralda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for using your time to give us your impressions about hotel Catalonia Giralda
We first want to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us.
Unfortunately I have not received any letter so I could not answer but please contact me to get you address to answer and return the deposit. Please I need you send me the safe key and receipt.
As for your comments on the hallway carpets, remind you that in the corridors of the hotel are not carpets.
On our website you will find our email address to contact me.
And thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First thing that comes to mind when we think of our stay at this Hotel - unattentive, rude staff at the Reception (one of them was called Elena). Completely disregarded our preferences, although we said that we are a young couple on a romantic journey - gave us the worst room overlooking concrete wall, without fridge or minibar, with almost ruined bathtub, and above all - with 2 separate beds! No apologies made, or offer to change the room next day!

And we were not the only ones who were treated as white trash (well, it felt this way!) - they talk the same way with everyone, it seems. A guy was checking out together with us, in a hurry. Instead of wishing him a nice journey, the receptionist yelled: "Hey, did you pay for your breakfast". Urgh!!

Cutting the long story short about Catalonia Giralda Hotel: Never again! Worst spend of EUR 200 for a 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Xenia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Director General at Catalonia Giralda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel.

First of all, let me apologize if you have not been fully satisfied with our hotel as we are all very committed to deliver a very high level of service quality.

Regarding your comments about your room reservation and I must tell you that requests depend on availability.
According to our records on May 8th, you room on second floor was scheduled to change to the fifth floor but do not disturb sing was hanging on the door of your room on the second floor.
Please accept our apologies and thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The first thing and probably only thing that this hotel had going for it, was it's location.
We stayed there for 2 nights as part of a school group. From the website, this was the hotel that we were most excited about, but turned out to be our least favorite. Rooms were clean but very dark and dingy... Wifi? Forget about it. Kept on kicking you off and was extremely frustrating. Breakfast was ok but in comparison to the other hotels we stayed in...not good. Sorry, would not rush back. Apparently there were nicer rooms in the hotel, but alas we were not one of the lucky ones to stay in them. Also, did not find the desk staff to be particularly helpful. Seemed not to care.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor above the reception.... rooms dark and dingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Director General at Catalonia Giralda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel.
First of all, let me apologize if you have not been fully satisfied with our hotel.

Regarding your comments about the rooms, the hotel has posted on the website different room types: standard, premium and junior suite.
Student groups usually reserved standard rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

OK firstly don't believe the name. The hotel is about 2 miles from the Giralda Cathedral, there are lots of hotels closer.
2. We went during holy week so maybe that's why it was very expensive. We paid it believing it was a 4 star hotel. It's not...2 star at best. When we checked in we were then taken down a back street and up a number of flights of stairs (no lift). This building had no fire escape and the rooms were very very dated. we could hear the people in the next room very clear. It's advertised as wifi in the rooms but there wasn't. When I rang up about it reception said they would see about it. I heard nothing back. I rang again and again I got the same response. There was wifi in the main lobby but only there and there was no WIFI the following morning in the whole hotel. They do seem to have a lot of maintenance problems as I heard other guests complaining about no hot water. The photos are deceiving as the this is quiet a small hotel with a bar, a lobby and not much else.
Just think their website sells it as a grand 4 star and really it's cheap 2 star with lots of faults.

Room Tip: don't stay in the grotty rooms down a back lane... actually look elsewhere there are much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Director General at Catalonia Giralda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel.

First of all, let me apologize if you have not been satisfied with our hotel as we are all very committed to deliver a very high level of service quality.

On regards to your comments about the wifi that broke down and set in the next morning.

Thank you very much again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel reception is fine, breakfast is very god, people there are very nice and helpful, but the wifi did not work in the room (tested 5 days), but in the reception it was ok.
The room's window could not be closed properly or locked. This resulted in cold and noiseful nights.
The hotel was somewhat shabby in the room and on the stairs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Director General at Catalonia Giralda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us.
We apologize that he windows could not be closed properly.If we had known we could fix it.
Thank you very much again for stay with us and comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. We found the hotel to be adequate, well maintained and in a good location (walking distance to the major historical sites and the city center) but nothing special. The staff were very helpful but the rooms were small and the breakfast just OK by the standards of other Spanish hotels we stayed in on this trip. Since we did not enable cell phone service overseas, we depended on hotel wi-fi for communicating with our family at home, and the wi-fi in this hotel was very unreliable. It seemed to have limited capacity, so it was possible to get on very late at night or very early in the morning, but as long as other guests were up and around, access was virtually impossible. If I went back to Seville, I would probably seek out other hotels before going back to this one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Santa Justa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Imperial
Hotel Casa Imperial
#78 of 177 in Seville
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#64 of 177 in Seville
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fernando III
Hotel Fernando III
#41 of 177 in Seville
1,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Petit Palace Santa Cruz
Petit Palace Santa Cruz
#23 of 177 in Seville
1,011 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte Carmelo Hotel
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#11 of 177 in Seville
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Giralda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Giralda Hotel

Address: Calle Sierra Nevada 3, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £51 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Giralda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Giralda is located right in the historic and shopping centre of Seville. It is named after one of Seville's most famous sightseeing locations, "la Giralda", which is just a few metres walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is also very close to the Santa Justa train station, where the AVE (high speed train) terminal is located. The hotel was built in 1967 and renovated in 2016, and has 109 rooms on 5 floors. All rooms are fully equipped with interactive satellite TV with pay-per-view movies, Canal +, free Wireless Internet connection (WIFI), piped-in music, radio, telephone and a hair dryer in the bathroom, etc. The hotel also has a bar, restaurant with international cuisine, indoor swimming pool, gym, parking and a room for holding meetings and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalonia Giralda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalonia Giralda
Catalonia Giralda Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing