We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star hotel but definitely not 4 star customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sevilla Macarena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
Ranked #80 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 star hotel but definitely not 4 star customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friends and I a group of 9 from Malaysia arrived in the evening to the hotel on 16 May 2014. We proceeded to confirm with the front desk staff on our prebooked dinner that was arranged by the local tour operator. To our surprise the staff very rudely said that there is no prebooked dinner and that we have to go for buffet. She claimed that they had over 200 guests and the kitchen is unable to cater to our dinner and the hotel has a right to change without notice. We spoke to our tour operator who could do nothing so we had to eat at their buffet. There were not enough food and the food seems like leftovers. That night all of us had only fruits for dinner.

As we just arrived and ran out of drinking water and at the buffet we just wanted some water to fill up our small drinking bottle. However we were very rudely told that we cannot take their drinking water to fill up our water bottles and can only drink at the table. We were not the only ones told off rudely other guests were also told off. This caused quite an embarrassment to us. We would appreciate if we could be advised on this rule more politely without embarrassing the guests.

We wonder how is this hotel rated 4 star when the service is less than one star. For our dinner the next night, we ate at a restaurant instead as we could not bear to eat "leftover" food. We were glad to check out the following day to continue with our tour of Spain.

I will not recommend this hotel to my friends who intend to visit Seville. I sincerely hope that the staff and management should buck up on their service. Unhelpful and rude staff. Besides this, the place looks old, dining area looks like a communal hall, small elevator that could hardly fit 4 with luggage.

Thumbs down for this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mataharilim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

As first, thank you for choosing our Hotel TRYP Macarena in your stay in Sevilla.

We sorry about the problems caused in the dinner. We try that these problems do not recur in our hotel.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Seville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    892
    476
    153
    79
See reviews for
447
857
92
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Situated in the Macarena district of Seville this large hotel would not normally have been my choice as I prefer to stay in much smaller hotels but this was booked as part of coach tour.
The building is very old and traditional and the reception and public areas are very grand.
Our room was a good size as was the en suite bathroom and sumptuously furnished with a magnificent mirrored headboard and an extremely comfortable bed. However as previous reviewers have commented, the soundproofing in the bathroom left a lot to be desired as one could hear everything in the adjoining bathroom.
My fears were realised at dinnertime when we were herded into a large but very beautiful dining room where hundreds of people were trying to get to the buffet and by the time we went to the hot buffet table it was empty and when it was finally replaced the food was cold.
After a disappointing meal we retired to our room which was very quiet and we had an excellent night's sleep.
The breakfast buffet was very good and our meal the second evening was much better thanks to our tour manager who requested an earlier time for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Lisa,

First of all thank you for staying at Hotel Tryp Macarena at your visit at Seville.

We are pleased of being your last but best choice.

We hope seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We moved to this hotel after being dissatisfied with another and were very pleased. The front desk staff were helpful and arranged our tours and the rooms were nice. Breakfast was nice too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for staying at Hotel Tryp Macarena and dedicating your time writting to us.

We are very sorry of your dissapointed with our buffet service, but that day was a particular case because all the groups were trying to eat at the same time. Our service is always like the second day of your comment.

We hope you come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Tastefully furnished and decorated, but few power sockets. We were thankful we had a room with window to inside. Would have preferred a kettle to the (defective) fridge. Somewhat noisy at the weekend with weddings. Breakfast not included but plenty of local bars nearby - also supermarkets. Well placed for tourist attractions - very close to the basilica of La Macarena. Would choose this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Rob,

First of all thank you for choosing Hotel Tryp Macarena for your visit to Seville.

We will be been charmed if if you visit us very soon

Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in good location. Not very fancy but does the job.
Receprion was very busy, ut took us 30 minutes to check in!
There was no parking spaces left so we parked at the hospital's parking which is 3 minutes walk and paid 37 euros for 3 full days.
The breakfast is rich and tasty.
The hotel was fully booked in May so I believe it's crouded all year long.
Don't(!!!!!!) use the green hop on-hop off tourist bus which they sell tickets to at the reception!!! The green busses are old ones and they arrive every 30 minutes! 5ake the RED!!! busses are they are newer and run more frequently.
All & all rating: good hotel at goid location with good breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shahar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Shaha.

As firts thank you for choosing our Hotel TRYP Macarena in your visit to Seville.


We are grateful for his comments to him, this year one of our important holidays of the city has been in May for what the occupation has been a Superior, we are sorry the time to wait to fulfil his check-in .
The hotel he has parking lots for his use, for major facility for the clients it is recommended to reserve previously to insure itself to have the square for his car.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have just returned from a week in Seville and had a lovely stay in Tryp Macarena. The hotel is located just outside of the city walls and is a thirty minute walk (or five minute bus journey) to the central attractions of the city - the Cathedral, Alcazar, Plaza de Torros and Plaza de Espana. However, do not let proximity dissuade you from booking a stay here. For a 4* Hotel we found the customer service to be of a very high standard. The reception staff were friendly and incredibly helpful, even going as far as printing our boarding tickets out for us for our return flight home and giving us lots of local tips on where to visit. We arrived on the last night of the Feria and the hotel gave us free tickets and a free bus transfer to the south-east of the city where the festivities were taking place.

The rooms were clean and had all of the facilities that you would expect or need for a week’s break. The hotel also has a swimming pool on the roof which is definitely worth a visit, especially after exploring the central attractions on a very hot May day! There are a good amount of sun beds on the roof, and the views from the top of the hotel are great. On one occasion the swimming pool area was quite busy and initially we were unable to get sun beds but we didn’t have to wait too long to get settled.

I have seen on some of the reviews that there have been complaints due to proximity to a busy road. Fortunately we were in a bedroom that was facing a courtyard and could not hear the traffic. Buses in the city tend to stop running from 11.30pm onwards and the traffic did not seem that busy during our stay so I cannot complain at all.

We booked bed and breakfast and found the breakfasts were a good quality and were surprised by the selection on offer. We have stayed in 5* hotels recently that only offered a continental breakfast selection, but Tryp Macarena endeavoured to cater to a variety of guests. There were some hot options, the usual continental offers, including a good choice of Spanish tortilla and cured meat, and a small Asian offering. The food was not outstanding in quality, but it was a good set up for the day.

We chose not to eat in the restaurant in the evening because, even though Macarena is not overly close to the centre, you can get a quick bus into the middle of the city and also there are some good eateries around the hotel. The nearest that we visited was El Rincon de Rosita, where we had brilliant service from Rosita and great tapas dishes. If you walk a bit further, through the maze of Seville streets, you will come to La Alameda de Hercules which is very popular with the locals and hosts a variety of tapas and Spanish restaurants.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to all of my friends and family and when I revisit Seville, which I am hoping to in the near future, I would look to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Kate.

As first tnahk you for choosing our Hotel TRYP Macarena in your visit to Seville.

We are delighted of knowing that his stay in the hotel has been pleasant, and that it would not hesitate to return to lodge at our facilities.
It pleases us to know that they have liked both our city and our gastronomy.
We will be been charmed with of them returning to see in his near visit Seville.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudolfstetten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The positives: charming staff, speaking English and very helpful. Although somewhat outdated, the rooms were small but clean .....not too good isolated though (you can hear your neighbours if you are unlucky). Modern safe in room and Internet free. The Swimming Pool on the roof was much appreciated after a long sightseeing in this lovely town. The negatives: very loud air conditioning (we had to turn it off ...could not sleep).See to it, that your room is not facing the busy street, if you have to open the window! The bathroom was ra bit too small small.
I personally would not give it the 4-stars the hotel boasts but rather 3-stars, but then again in Spain the ratings of the hotels are mostly higher than in other countries. The hotel is situated not far from the old town and if you walk some 15 minutes down to the River, you can enjoy a lovely promenade. We were lucky to see the Fiera and we have never ever seen a celebration with so many beautifully dressed Spanish young ladies and literally hundreds of horse-drawn carriages and male and female riders.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Christian

As first, thank you for choosing our Hotel TRYP Macarena in your visit to Seville.

Thank you for all his comments, it helps us very much to know his opinion to be able to improve.
It pleases us that both our city and the "the feria" was of his pleasure since Seville is characterized by his streets and his people.
We will be been charmed with of receiving him if he visits again our city.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
1.2 mi away
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#34 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sevilla
1.7 mi away
Melia Sevilla
Melia Sevilla
#27 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hesperia Sevilla
Hesperia Sevilla
#65 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Gil
Hotel San Gil
#69 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sevilla Macarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sevilla Macarena

Property: Hotel Sevilla Macarena
Address: Calle San Juan de Ribera 2, 41009 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sevilla Macarena 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sevilla Macarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Macarena Hotel Seville
Tryp Hotel Seville
Tryp Hotel Macarena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing