We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star, Generally good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
Ranked #91 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a large, old ‘grand’ hotel, and as such the décor is quite dated, however, the hotel is clean.

Checking in for our tour group (Leger Holidays) was smooth and quick, so we were up to our rooms within 10 minutes.

We had a room on the 4th floor, a fairly small double, but ok for just the couple of nights we were there.
As far as I know the lower floor rooms had small Juliet balconies, ours didn’t.
There is just enough room to set out two large suitcases, and a reasonable sized wardrobe.
In general the room was a little worn.

The room has a minibar, a free electronic safe a TV and a couple of chairs.
The bathroom was also quite small, with minimal toiletries in dispensers (shower gel and shampoo).

Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel, but dropped off constantly in our room and wasn’t strong at all on the rooftop pool.
The dining room and reception have the best signal.

The pool is large for a rooftop pool, and during our stay was very busy.
The terrace and bar are on a split level below the pool with only chairs and no sun loungers, which was disappointing as there aren’t enough loungers for the space available.
Towels are available from the bar at the pool.

A small beer at the pool costs 2 euros.

For this size of hotel it seems strange that there is no gym.

Breakfast selection was a good variety and the quality ok.
There are the usual buffet options including cold meats, cheeses, juices, yoghurt, hot selections, fruit and pastries.
There are a couple of good toasting machines, and tea and coffee are served at the tables.

Diner was also a good variety, though the quality wasn’t great.
There was Paella, Chicken, and Beef – see photos.
Drinks can be ordered at the table, a small beer cost 2.60 Euro.

Though the staff at the hotel were generally good, one of the maître d at diner was quite ignorant and couldn’t raise a smile!

The hotel is a 30 minute brisk walk to the Cathedral, or 5 minutes in a taxi for between 7 to 9 Euros.

A good value hotel just out of the centre!

Room Tip: Lower than the 4th floor, and you should get a Juliet Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liveyourlifebefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear liveyourlifebefree,

First of all thank you for choosing Hotel Tryp Macarena at your visit at Seville.

Also thank your comment because they help us to improve every day.

Hope to see you with us very soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Tryp hotel. Hotel was great value, lovely roof top
Pool with great views. Rooms were very clean and a good size. Staff were friendly although check in at reception was quite slow.
The location of the hotel is great, 20 minute walk to cathedral. It's away from the main tourist area of the city so it's cheaper to eat out. Lots of good restaurants in the local area-highly recommend Rosita's. Opposite the Macarena church is a fantastic churros stand-a must for breakfast!
Ferra market is worth a visit and there are lots of good restaurants on Alameda de
Herculas - nikkei was particularly good.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Susy,

First of all thank you for choosing to stay with us at your visit at Seville.

I also want to thank your comments, we really apreciate them because they are really important for us to get in better

We hope seeing you very soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good value hotel that caters for the tourists needs. Premium room and breakfast were very adequate. Pool with views good although it can get crowded.
Forget about the 'a la carte' menu meal in the restaurant - the service was very poor as you mix in with the majority having buffets.
Beware that the baths are narrow with a curved base. My wife has balance problems and without grab rails found having a shower very precarious. Apparently there are few rooms with walk in showers/ disabled facilities.
Location is OK. Once you understand the bus routes most places are easily accessible. BUT there is precious little written information, especially in English to help you. The desk was generally helpful but in many cases their English not very good and this is a big hotel so they were pretty busy most times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank bryent2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Bryen,

First of all I want to thank you your comments and your time dedicated at writting them.

We are very sorry to hear that your experience wasn't succesfull, but we invited you to came again and check the quality of our service.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a lovely, clean hotel in a great location with pleasant staff. Our room was very nice and not as small as other reviews made out. Carpets on the floors perhaps need changing. We had a few ants in the room but it was extremely hot out. The bathroom was spacious and very clean (the shower screen needed fixing and the toilet bowl could do with some bleach but if you're not a perfectionist you wouldn't notice). Housekeeping staff were fabulous; they cleaned our room every day. We had booked this hotel specifically for the pool but we were very disappointed. The pool is nothing like the stunning photos. It is small and there aren't nearly enough sun loungers. There is space beside the pool bar for more sun loungers so I'm not sure why they don't have them. It could be stressful trying to find a sun lounger and the area was very claustrophobic. Such a pity. The pool bar sold small beers for about €2 (very small and they didn't do big ones). The hotel bar was nice and had a big TV screen. We would have liked somewhere in the hotel to sit out at night and have a drink but the bar is indoors. There are lots of tapas places to eat near the hotel and there is a supermarket on the opposite street. Lots of little shops nearby too and the city centre is about a 15 minute walk away. We did the hop on hop off bus tour which passes the hotel (€17 valid for 2 days). There are public bikes throughout Seville so this could be a good way to get around; we walked to most places. It cost us €28 in a taxi from the airport to the hotel and €25 going back. We ate twice in the hotel and it was nice enough. On the last night we had the worst snorer staying in the room beside us. We couldn't sleep so I had to bang on the wall to no avail. I rang reception but they said all they could do was change our room which wasn't convenient for us. Rooms seriously need soundproofing. The air conditioning is very ineffective. To sum up, this is a lovely hotel and you should have a nice stay along as nobody noisy stays beside you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdcbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,

Ante todo gracias por haber dedicado parte de su tiempo en valorar su estancia en el hotel TRYP Macarena.

Nos alegramos que su estancia haya sido satisfactoria y esperamos volver a recibirle por nuestro hotel próximamente.

Un cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here for 10 nights, 2nd June - 12th June, on a room only basis. 20 minutes walk from the railway station Santa Justa to hotel.
Location in Macarena area is excellent, with easy access to all the main sights, 20 -30 minute walk to the cathedral.
Excellent bus service stops outside the hotel and will take you around Seville.
My room was spacious, with a good sized bathroom and spotlessly clean.The air-conditioning was excellent,as was the HD TV.
The reception area was pleasant, with very friendly, helpful and professional staff. The bar was very good with everything reasonably priced, the lounge areas were also very good.
The rooftop pool is a good size and a great bonus on the hot days in Seville. However sun loungers are limited and the pool does get very busy, especially at weekends.No bar but vending machines provide the necessities.
Seville is a great city steeped in history, full of character and has great Tapas bars. It's a very friendly city and so easy to walk around at leisure.
I will definitely return to this hotel as my stay has been most enjoyable, made so by great people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank TrevorD60_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Trevor,

We really appreciate your comments about our services and your room. We are pleased you feel our hotel as a lovely place.

We hope you come back to our marvellous city very soon. Having you like a guest had been a pleasure.

Your sincerly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in Seville and this hotel is one to avoid if you can. The staff are not helpful or that friendly, I was told that not having my passport caused the receptionist 'a massive problem', he simply couldn't continue his duties without a passport and proceded to tell me that I was making his job very difficult. I am resident of Spain, thus do not carry my passport with me if I am travelling domestically. After he faffed around for ages with his computer he checked us in, but did he tell us where to go? When and where breakfast was served? Any other useful info? No - of course not. The room was average, two single beds was annoying when we were sold a double room (no statement of two single beds), the bathroom had hairs on the floors and the room had no information about breakfast, room service or hotel facilities. The hotel is a typical 'Spanish' 4 star...so really expect an average 3 star. The breakfast was not good, we arrived at 10am and had to deal with the soggy leftout food, the chef grunted something like 'no more food coming' so I felt a bit cheated with paying for breakfast. Do yourself a favour and don't bother with the hassle of staying here. Sevilla is a lovely place, but don't let this hotel ruin it for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Rossidge,

First of all, thank you for choosing us as your accommodation in Seville.

We also give thanks for your comments because they help us to improve.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, an impressive looking hotel, had a lovely room that looked over the old town wall, sadly this was above the main road and even with the windows closed traffic noise could be heard, as could all the goings on in the rooms next to, above and below! Room lovely and clean, big comfy bed, nice TV, although lack of English channels, luckily know how to change the language on a lot of channels so found a few extra shows to watch. However it was the little things, bulbs gone, AC only worked flat out, hair drier cracked and a few other things that just made it a little tired. However big positives, roof top pool excellent to cool down in after a days sight seeing, very helpful and polite staff and finally breakfast, fantastic!! An amazing selection, beautifully prepared and a great way to fuel up for a days sightseeing. For the breakfast would def stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jameslowe1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Sevilla Macarena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear James,

First of all thank you for choosing Hotel Tryp Macarena at your stay at he city of Seville.

We are very thankfull for your time dedicated at leaving us your feedback. The comments of our guest are very important for us because they help us to continually improve our service.

We hope seeing you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sevilla
1.2 mi away
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#38 of 177 in Seville
1,660 reviews
3.4 mi away
Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Sevilla
Ibis Sevilla
#55 of 177 in Seville
831 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Sevilla
Melia Sevilla
#37 of 177 in Seville
3,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Sevilla Renacimiento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sevilla Macarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sevilla Macarena

Address: Calle San Juan de Ribera 2, 41009 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £32 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sevilla Macarena 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sevilla Macarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Macarena Hotel Seville
Tryp Hotel Seville
Tryp Hotel Macarena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing