We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with private parking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Lar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Hotel Lar
Ranked #163 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Tres Cantos, Spain
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location with private parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is not a luxury hotel, but is convinient if you are visiting Seville, due to its great location very close to the typical sighseeings. Has private parking, not very large but with wide spaces in case you bring a car there.
The staff was very kind to me. I stayed for business on the week of April Fair in Seville and the hotel was very crowded, but could sleep well and without too much noise.
It is true that the hotel seems to hasn't been remodelled in many years, but also seems well mantained.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martensita1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    111
    179
    87
    64
See reviews for
74
180
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel has obviously not been upgraded or remodelled in decades. The decor and furnishings are old, tired and garish. Don't get me wrong: this is not dated Havana or Palm Springs groovy. This is just old and tarnished and creepy.
The bed is hard as a rock, the sheets stiff and scratchy. The pillow is one long narrow uncomfortable tube. The TV is tiny, smaller than my 13" laptop, and not flatscreen. The air conditioning is loud but weak. The walls are so thin that my next door neighbour's shower sounds like water running directly onto my bathroom floor. No exaggeration.
The breakfast is edible but absolutely no attention is given to the quality or variety of what is on offer. Cheap sausages swimming in oil, stale pastey bread, flavourless fruit. Internet service is poor and unreliable. The hotel charges 1.90 euro per day + a 10 euro deposit to use the room safe! There is really nothing to recommend this hotel as a 4 star property. As a 2 star, however, it's a solid hotel. And while not in the heart of the city, it's a 15 minute walk to the action.

Room Tip: Tip: Try to get a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seville hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here as a stop on our guided tour. It's a fabulous location, right on the ring road of Seville and only a 15 minute walk to the Metrosol Parasol.

The hotel is quite small, tucked into a small alley beside a private school, so at times, it's impossible to pass along the street with all the cars and parents. Inside, the lobby is small, but functional.

Pros: Definitely location. Nearby is a main street with plenty of shops and banks. The room was tidy and spacious and the wifi worked sufficiently. Breakfast was satisfying, and dinner was nice, although the room lacked decor.

Cons: It's a pretty cramped place and I have no idea where you would park, if you were driving. It's a fairly dated hotel, but there was nothing it really lacked.

Overall, I think this is a great hotel if location is your main focus.

Room Tip: The walls are rather thin here, so if you want some peace and quiet, it's best to be as far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckshutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel was a fine home base for our visit to Seville, but it is a strange hotel. The women at the front desk were generally friendly, but the man at the desk was gruff and not terribly helpful. This place wasn't terrible, but we definitely overpaid.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I'm sorry that we took this hotel, it is not 4, my be 2 stars.
Old fashion - the problem is not that it seems 80's, the problem is that all th quipment is from 80's: the best example in our room is bede ...without... stream water, only buth construction, against all we know now about right wash conditions!
The buth is 120-140 sm long. Shower head is fixed to wall and send the water all around...
Conditioner... centrally, means you can not do nothing if you want conditioning. It was very cold to sleep in the room, but we could only have ON or OFF. As we had the low floor, we could not open the window!
We did not take breakfast after stadying site revews, thank you.
The historical centre is 30 minutes far to walk.
Room cleaning servise was not so good than we had in another hotels as usial
Wi-Fi slowly,poor quality.

Room Tip: Try higher floor, my be there they have better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reranel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I was really surprised with this hotel as I had read the reviews prior to departure. Yes, it is an old hotel but with lots of charm. This hotel was also apart of a 10 day tour of Spain with Trafalgar. The rooms were clean yes small but clean. I got more enjoyment of the tiles in the bathroom than anything, beautiful work. The lobby is old and shabby but served the purpose. The location was in a courtyard with a school and little shops all around. In spite of a school being right out front I was not bothered by it, after all your not on vacation to stay in the hotel. When the group returned from one of our outings, myself and another traveler strolled the streets to see what there was to offer. There was a lot to offer. Lots of little eateries and little boutiques. The little market across the street had a lot of things to offer, food, spirits, clothing, and souvenirs. It felt like going back in time. I really enjoyed this little place :) If your looking for luxury, this is not the place for you, but it is clean and in a great location for local amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This should not be a four star hotel. If this was a three star hotel then it would be on the upper scale.

The location of this hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the Main Street with all the restaurants and about 15-20 minute walk to the shopping area.
Overall this hotel has potential it just did not get there. The rooms are very spacious and large. But as a couple we asked for a double bed and they gave us two single beds pushed together and called that a double. If this was a three star hotel I would understand but I have stayed in four star hotels and they have all given us a double bed.

In the room the is aircon, fridge and television. All worked great. We got a room on street level and it was extremely noisy. If you have booked ask for room not on street side.
The bathroom was large however there was a bath in the shower which looked great however you could not stand properly in the shower, so you had to either choose to take forever to get wet or pretty much stand on your toes.

The wifi was a huge problem in this hotel it didn't work really. You also had t get a new code every 24hours and for each device. The staff knew that wifi was a major issue and many had complained before us and they just told us "they knew it was slow".
The staff were okay, they were helpful and answered any problems we had.

We didn't have breakfast included with our deal so we can not comment on it. However there are many restaurants which do a cheaper breakfast. They offer for €10, but you can go get coffee juice and pastry for €2.50 down the road.

Overall it was an alright stay. Not a four star hotel though. I would stay there again for the cheap rate I got but not if it was full price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Giralda Hotel
Catalonia Giralda Hotel
#100 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pasarela Hotel
Pasarela Hotel
#128 of 179 in Seville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Virgen de los Reyes
Hotel Virgen de los Reyes
#124 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Santa Justa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hesperia Sevilla
Hesperia Sevilla
#65 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel San Pablo Sevilla
Hotel San Pablo Sevilla
#85 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Lar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Lar

Property: Gran Hotel Lar
Address: Plaza Carmen Benitez 3, 41003 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Lar 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gran Hotel Lar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing