We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not There By Choice”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #42 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not There By Choice”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was in Seville for business reasons, and I really didn't have a choice of hotel; the reservation was made for me. I can see why they picked this hotel because it's in the middle of everything. It's basically a 10 minute walk to every major tourist attraction, and it was a 10 minute walk from where I had to be. So if you want convenience, this is the place to stay. I was in Seville at a weird time because preparations for Semana Santa were happening the entire time I was there, and the noise was enormous, way into the wee hours of the morning. Now, Spain is a noisy country, but this was kind of over the top. Also, the week was a hot one, but the hotel doesn't turn on the air conditioning until June! June!!! In incredibly hot Seville!! So, the only way to not boil was to open the window, but it was incredibly noisy, so you can see the dilemma. I didn't have a single good night's sleep there for 5 nights.

They had a buffet breakfast that was included in my reservation, and it was kind of sad. I didn't expect an American style buffet, but this one was meager: some ham (of course), some cheese, and then a bunch of store-bought stuff. If your reservation doesn't include this, don't get it. It's also really expensive, like 14 euros per day, and you can eat for a third of that at any cafe in Seville, and there are a ton of them. Then when I checked out, reception told me that breakfast was not included, so they made me pay. Luckily, I'll be reimbursed, but it was really annoying.

Reception itself was nothing to speak about. Typically Spanish, they looked completely put out when I asked them anything, but anything they told me was completely correct.

So I wouldn't stay here again unless I had to. There are a number of really nice hotels in Seville. I've been there before, and I've stayed at great places. This was not one of them.

Room Tip: If you can, try to stay away from the plaza side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloTraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gema O, Community Manager en Hotel Inglaterra Sevilla at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations/ complaints/ suggestions/comments always with the aim of improving.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations and feel concerned about the issues you experienced during your stay

If you would like to discuss your experience with me personally please send an email to gotero@hotelinglaterra.es so I may address it with you directly.

We hope to see you son

Sincerely, Gema Otero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    361
    132
    55
    30
See reviews for
181
392
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The location is definitely the best aspect of this hotel as you're walking distance to the shops and pedestrianised areas (the hotel can still be accessed with your car). On the downside, the hotel is not really a 4*, the bathrooms need refurbishing and the beds and pillows are very uncomfortable. However I would still recommend this hotel just because of the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cerianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gema O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Cerianne H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. At Hotel Inglaterra we care about our guests experience and therefore I would like to know more in detail about the issues you experienced during your stay.
Please kindly send me an email to: gotero@hotelinglaterra.es and I´ll be delighted to discuss the points you mentioned in your review.

Looking forward to hear from you soon.
Sincerely yours, Gema Otero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just arrived back after a 4 day stay at Hotel Inglaterra I would thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel. Our room was at the back of the hotel we were upgraded on arrival and had a lovely room with a sofa and armchair also a writing bureau and a lovely big bathroom. All the staff were very helpful. We needed directions one evening and reception were very helpful giving us a better map than we had. Breakfast was good and took place in the lovely dining room overlooking the plaza. All the public areas are kept spotless as was the cleaning of our room every day. This hotel is very central for all shopping and sightseeing. With Taxi's just outside to take you back to the airport all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie1949_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gema O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Rosie,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones.

We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

We hope to see you soon at the Hotel Inglaterra
Kindest regards, Gema Otero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel with another couple for a week in March .One of the main reasons we booked this hotel was that he had a roof top terrace.You can imagine our disappoint when on arrival, we found that the terrace did not open until April !!!!. This was never mentioned at all when we booked earlier this year.
After raising the issue with the management, we were offered another room which had a balcony on the fifth floor. Beautiful views of this lovely city !!
Rooms comfortable & to a good standard. Whilst we did not eat at the hotel, there is a lovely coffee shop next door which sells excellent pastries

Room Tip: Book a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gema O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments in tripadvisor.com.

The Terrace was closed because we are currently upgrading our facilities. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and feel concerned about the issues you experienced during your stay

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Iinglaterra and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Seville.

Sincerely, Gema Otero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Central comfortable room on a scenic plaza. Only twin beds were available if you requested the plaza view. Plaza is picturesque but is noisy at night. I used ear plugs. Poorly designed bathroom with toilet and bidet facing each other with little space between. Awkward entrance to shower with position of sink. Expensive valet parking available- 16 euros daily. More like 20 euros when you add tips for valet service.
Free Wifi available in public areas; however the "fony123" password ironically didn't work. Maybe if you paid for wifi it would work but with so many local cafes offering the service for free why bother. This lack of service was annoying for a hotel of this caliber.
Unless you need parking I would recommend choosing another hotel as there are so many charming ones in Seville.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torontolady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gema O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you to let Tripadvisor users and us know about your experience in Hotel Inglaterra

We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations/ complaints/ suggestions/comments always with the aim of improving.

If you would like to discuss your experience with me personally please send an email to gotero@hotelinglaterra.es so I may address it with you directly.

We hope to see you son

Sincerely, Gema Otero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maastricht
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

No doubts - just reserve a room in this outstanding Hotel Inglaterra, which has more than 155 years of history!The hotel is situated on Plaza Neuva, the beating heart of Sevilla. The staff is well trained and will give you excellent hospitality. In the morning you can enjoy the gracious Spanish breakfast, during the day you shop around and meanwhile you can explore the tapas bars in the city center. The Andalusian tradition is to have a break, called 'siesta' around 17.00 hours. After this short cat nap in your hotelroom, you go down to the Trinity Hotel bar, to enjoy your first aperitif before you go back into town for your diner (take notice that dinertime starts after 21.00 hours). In summer time the hotel opens their amazing ' Terrazza' on the topfloor of the hotel. The view is indescribable. It overlooks the entire city!

Slogan of Sevilla is: Sevilla - We love people! check www. visitsevilla.es

Check as well the youtube film of Hotel Inglaterra!

Martita

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the square Plaza Nuova have a great terras
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gema O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Martha

Muchísimas gracias por su opinión tan completa acerca de nuestro Hotel, su servicio e instalaciones. En el Hotel Inglaterra trabajamos cada día para mejorar y asegurarnos de que nuestros clientes disfruten de su experiencia.

Ante todo darle las gracias por tomar parte de su tiempo en compartir sus experiencias con otros viajeros y porque dichos comentarios nos ayudan a mejorar constantemente para poder mantener y elevar el nivel de servicios ofrecidos a nuestros clientes.

Realmente tomamos todos los comentarios muy en serio y confiamos en verle de nuevo en nuestro establecimiento, nuestro equipo estará más que encantado de poder volver a recibirle en el Hotel Inglaterra, en caso de que decidiera volver a visitar Sevilla y hospedarse con nosotros.

Un saludo, Gema Otero, Directora de Comunicación
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location, close to all the nice areas in Seville.
Great room, and a great view of Seville. Unlike what has been mentioned in other reviews, the staff was very friendly, and the free WiFi was working perfectly well on all my devices.
I will definitely come back when I will stay in Seville again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gema O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Inglaterra, and hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Gema Otero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,181 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Vincci La Rabida Hotel
Vincci La Rabida Hotel
#39 of 175 in Seville
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#5 of 175 in Seville
2,308 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 175 in Seville
2,050 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 175 in Seville
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Property: Hotel Inglaterra
Address: Plaza Nueva 7, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#38 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Four Star Hotel in Central Seville Hotel Inglaterra is a premier hotel with an unbeatable Seville location. Right in the heart of Plaza Nueva, guests are granted access to local monuments, famous attractions, holiday celebrations and events, and luxury shopping. Hotel Inglaterra welcomes guests to enjoy one-of-a-kind dining experiences such as award-winning cocktails at Trinity Pub or a light dinner overlooking Seville on the hotel terrace. The hotel provides spacious accommodations that are classically decorated with wooden floors, precious antiques, and some offer whirlpool baths, private terraces, and marble fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing