We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon stay.”
Review of Hotel San Gil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Gil
Ranked #68 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed in Seville for 3 nights at the San Gil whilst running the marathon, found it to be perfectly placed for start and finish of race. Rooms were very clean, staff polite and helpful and prices were very good for the quality you received

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sibbo0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Gil
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

The San Gil Hotel is in the Macarena district of Seville, which is a fascinating area to explore, with the old city walls close by with the old city entrance, as well as an amazing local church worth a look in, and a tapas bar opposite ('Bar Plata') which is 100 years old with an amazing tiled fresco wall inside showing how this part of the city looked in the past.(see photos) We loved being in this area and it was easy to get a bus into the city from the main road just by where the old city entrance is - bus no. 30.
The hotel was fine; we were in a room facing the courtyard with a long glass window so it felt almost as if we were in a garden room when we pulled open the long curtain. lovely if you like to see trees outside the window. The birds are a bit noisy and leave a lot of mess on the middle courtyard which we noticed was washed down daily because of this and therefore could be slippery underfoot - there had been rubber grip- strips at one time on the sloping steps but had been worn down and needed replacing. Not great if you are elderly I should think. We enjoyed our stay however and it was excellent value for money and size of room for what we paid. If you like a hotel which feels authentic ( beautiful tiling in reception) and not too big then this is a good choice. The breakfast was ok though the cooked scrambled eggs were 'topped up' every hour or so and the cold left underneath instead of emptied which meant the newly cooked batch didn't stay hot for long. However there was a good range of things to eat for breakfast and fresh orange juice. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. If you stay here do check out that tapas bar and if hot drinks are more your thing there is a hot chocolate stand near it for the traditional local drink with Spanish style donuts to dip in.

Room Tip: Those facing the courtyard were more traditional in style and a good size.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Right in the old part of the city, you reach it through a mass of small streets which twist and turn ....we arrived by taxi and I am more than happy that we did not hire a car to get there.

We were allocated a room in the new part of the hotel which was clean but had no view to the outside world ...the room was also quite hard to find and we had to get the receptionist to help us find it. The bathroom although quite new was already showing signs of wear and tear due to the poor finish around the washbasin.
Staff were friendly enough, we were greeted with a welcome glass of cava ...our deal included breakfast which was just OK ...one morning the flames had gone out under the eggs and bacon and we found a fly in the orange juice.

Unusually they charged Euro 2 per day for the safe in the room which was annoying.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a tunnel between the buildings ..maybe you should have a look at the rooms in th...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcallistern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Situated in what felt like a really authentic part of Seville with narrow winding streets and with plenty of locals about. We found the 20 minute stroll into central Seville through a myriad of streets and plazas each day one of the most enjoyable parts of the holiday. There seemed to be regular bus services as well if walking is not your thing.
The reception staff were very friendly and always helpful 9even arranging an 6.30AM takeaway breakfast for us on our departure. The rooms and courtyard area clean and of a good size. The dawn chorus of birds and ringing church bells might not be everyones cup of tea but for us it really added to the whole Andalusian experience. Great deal from price point of view and would definetely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureend92014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here for a few days this week with a couple of our friends and thoroughly enjoyed it, A very clean and pleasant place to stay and we could not have chosen a better base for our visit to Seville, especially at the price we paid . A 20 minute stroll into the centre, with plenty of tapas bars and cafes on the way to enjoy. The wifi situation is not a problem to us, we are of the old school, we go away to enjoy ourselves and each others company, so the laptop and mobiles are left at home. Seville is a lovely place to visit and is famous for its culture,architecture and varied night life and the wonderful hospitality of the Andelucian people. Visit some of the tapas bars and ask the waiter to bring you a selection of his choice for you to enjoy, and you will not be dissapointed or ripped off, indeed the opposite, you might get the impression for what you had to eat and drink that they had not charged you enough. One great tapas bar was the Luso Tapas Bar, you will pass it on your way into the City centre. excellent food, drink, service and good manners.
Enjoy your visit to Seville and don't be afraid to go into the Bars of an evening, you will be made most welcome by the locals and you will not feel intimidated in any way. Good Luck and enjoy your stay

Jean and Alan
Harrogate

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here for six nights in December in a junior suite. The hotel was clean, and the staff for the little interaction we had with them seemed nice. As it was over the Christmas break the hotel was fairly quiet so cannot comment about the various music/show that often seem to be advertised in it. The room was spotlessly clean. Couple of issues - firstly, the lack of wifi in the rooms is unacceptable in this day and age in a four star hotel, indeed the wifi in the hotel seemed limited to the space directly in front of receiption. Although the marble floors in the summer I am sure help keep the place cool, when it rains, or have been washed they are leathal, now this is not the hotels fault, however they could put up signs to state that the surface is slippy (I saw only one such sign over my stay by the fountain in the center). The room we had was a Junior suite, however the television was located in the bedroom, which in my option really missed the point of having a seating area. All that said however, this is a lovely location with lots of local interest and nightlife on your doorstep. I would recommend this hotel to people who like to get away from the tourists without being away from a lively entertainment scene. It is a good 20 minute walk to the centre and indeed I found Seville, with its jumple of streets quite hard to nagivate so this 20 minute walk might be a 40 minute walk on the way back.....but then that was part of the Charm! I have rated this a 3 star, because of the negatives pointed out, however a 3.5 star would probably be fairer if I could.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyDublin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

My money was stolen in the hotel room, no camera in the corridor,and the manager said there is no law said that we have to have camera in the corridor! Come on! Corridor is a public place.There is no internet connection in the room,can't believe it's a four-star hotel, no slippers, no water-boiling pot.the manner of the manager is extremely bad! Rude and impolite! The cleaning staff open the door when we were sleeping! Won't come here for sure

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Zhe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
#89 of 177 in Seville
2,235 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#31 of 177 in Seville
1,601 reviews
Hotel Novotel Sevilla
#67 of 177 in Seville
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gil

Address: Calle Parras 28, 41002 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £52 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gil 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Gil hotel welcomes our costumers with an exquisite treatment in an environment that combines history, modernity and elegance. Set in central Seville, this Andalusian-style hotel offers a seasonal rooftop pool and a restaurant. All our rooms have air conditioner, minibar, satellite TV and fully equipped bathrooms. The hotel preserve many colorful tile mosaics throughout the building as well as original balconies and windows. San Gil is just 5 min away from the "Basilica de la Macarena" and 15 min from "Isla Magica" thematic park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Gil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gil Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing