We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but quirky, hotel”
Review of Hotel San Gil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Gil
Ranked #68 of 175 Hotels in Seville
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great, but quirky, hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on the outskirts of Seville's old town; it's a rather unique combination of old and modern. The lobby and breakfast areas are in the older part of the building (likely turn of the 19th century) but the rooms and the swimming pool and the inner courtyard are completely modern (nicely done).

Our room was a nicely furnished and well sized suite with a nice modern bathroom. Water pressure in the shower was downright torrential. In all, we were pleasantly surprised by our room and the amenities and quality of the hotel.

The hotel suffers a bit from being located at the wrong end of the old town - you'd need to traverse the entire town to get to the big tourist sites. Instead, we discovered quite a few wonderful, more locally oriented plazas in the vicinity.

A specific faults to mention: The hotel charges extra for the safe key (this seems a relic of the 20th century), we needed to go to the lobby to get a towel for the pool (which is on the roof), and on our day of departure they were 20 minutes late in setting up breakfast (which meant we really had barely any time to enjoy or assess their breakfast buffet).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    485
    217
    105
    50
See reviews for
240
533
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is surprising. On the street it looks like an old hotel, but once past the facade, it opens into a modern hotel. The rooms were excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and did not hesitate to assist. It has an open central courtyard where, of an evening, we were entertained by a flamenco troupe, at no cost. It is close to public transport and easy walking distance to a large number of Tapas Bars and restaurants. Our stay there was excellent and I have told all my friends and family that when travelling to Seville, this is the place to stay for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw appeared to be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was a beautiful hotel with a lot of old charm and newly built amenities.
Great court yard. roof top pool and sunbathing area was greatly welcomed during those hot Seville days.
Loved the neighbourhood. Great local feel and wonderful bakeries, shops and restaurants.
Transit close by that easily bring you to all the sites.
A little hard to find at first.
Due to its design, can be echoic and noisy.
Excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byt0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOmndon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a junior suite in the older section of the hotel. It was very tired. To get the FREE wifi you had to go down to reception. TV did not work for English channels and the room phone did not work.fir a 4 star hotel there were no bath robes. The best part was the courtyard for breakfast.
Staff were very helpful. The hotel hosted a wedding on the Saturday from 1pm to 1am. Very noisy.
Frequent parties so advise avoid weekends. Position was very good, a 15 minute walk to lovely cafés and restaurants. City hop on/off bus tour was very good. Hotel very clean.

Room Tip: Choose a room not overlooking the courtyard in cast of party noise and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have just come back from visiting Seville, where we stayed at the Hotel San Gil for 3 nights. The room we had was lovely, we had one of the rooms at the back of the hotel, overlooking the back alleyway, so it was nice and quiet, very comfortable, we both slept really well, as the bed was very comfortable, and also kept spotless, the hotel was very attractive too, in nice surroundings, lovely courtyard with orange trees. However there were 2 parties booked on Thursday night, which was ok , and the guests from the party were moved inside when they had their dinner. However when we came to order our dinner on that evening, we were told by the waiter that all the meat dishes were not available, or "finished", as our waiter kept saying. In the end My husband had the sea bass and I had the tuna which was enjoyable. However when we came to get the bill, we waited over half an hour, and then they charged us for the food, when we should only of been charged just for the drinks, as were on the half board option, so then our waiter had to go back and re-do our bill, which took a further 20 minutes. Breakfast each morning was ok, but the cooked food wasn't that hot, and the staff didn't replenish food very much when they ran out of things. On Friday when we came back in the afternoon about 6 there was another party going on , with very loud disco music, the whole of the courtyard was taken over with people, who appeared very drunk. We went upstairs on the sundeck to sunbathe, and have a swim, but the noise from this party , could be heard from there. We couldn't eat dinner, in the hotel that night, even though we had paid for half board, because the people from the party had taken over the courtyard area where dinner was usually served, so we went out for dinner. We were glad we did this as there so many beautiful restaurants to eat in, and we had a really lovely meal. I would definitely not book half board again because of that reason.I was so glad we had the room, that we had we were really lucky, felt sorry for those people who had rooms over the courtyard as they would of been disturbed by then noise from the 2 parties that were going on. The hotel obviously has a lot of private parties going on as we saw this from people's previous reports. However we did enjoy our stay in Seville it's such a fantastic city, so much to see and do, and the people are friendly, but we would not stay at San Gil again.

Room Tip: request a room away from patio area, at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

First impressions last - lovely location on traditional lane +
Beautiful entrance.
With luck we had a great room in the old building overlooking the lane.
I can understand the negative reviews as on our last night we were kept up until 03:00 with a party - the hotel does not lend itself to parties with tiled floors and courtyard..
Breakfast ok - just - eating out May be best- evening meals good,
Without our room it would have been a 3 star experience.
That said I walked past many hotels over 4 days and none were as well presented as San Gill
The hotel just needs to focus on being a hotel for not a function room
I am surprised the hotel does not respond to these trip advisor comments

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of a 'road trip' through Andalucia and to visit the Sevillanas Dance Festival - the Feria.We travelled with two German friends and we all agreed the hotel was a real gem.Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, it was at the front of the hotel overlooking the street and had a small balcony; although we were told wi-fi was available only in the communal parts of the building, the location of our room meant we had unlimited reception.Breakfast is served until 11am so a lie in is possible and the food is substantial enough to last one until supper time.The restaurant is open in the evening and we ate there 3 times - the food and wine enjoyable.The pool and sun terrace were very relaxing (no parties during our stay!) and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Just a couple of negative comments:
The hotel is situated in the Macarena district of Seville a very old yet at the same time, quite run down part of the city. It is also quite far from the centre and most of the interesting sites (the Alcazar, Gardens D'Espania etc) so be prepared to travel.
There is no room service in the afternoons.
The bar closes at 11pm so if you want a nightcap in the lovely courtyard be sure to have supplies in your room.
We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front in the 'old' part of the hotel- you get a balcony and we found t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoucaultFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
#88 of 175 in Seville
2,146 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#32 of 175 in Seville
1,530 reviews
Sevilla Center Hotel
#41 of 175 in Seville
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gil

Property: Hotel San Gil
Address: Calle Parras 28, 41002 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gil 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Gil hotel welcomes our costumers with an exquisite treatment in an environment that combines history, modernity and elegance. Set in central Seville, this Andalusian-style hotel offers a seasonal rooftop pool and a restaurant. All our rooms have air conditioner, minibar, satellite TV and fully equipped bathrooms. The hotel preserve many colorful tile mosaics throughout the building as well as original balconies and windows. San Gil is just 5 min away from the "Basilica de la Macarena" and 15 min from "Isla Magica" thematic park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Gil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gil Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing