We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel Alcazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alcazar
Ranked #64 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night when in Seville; we chose it for its location and still reasonable price.
The hotel itself is a little dated, though the rooms are fine and clean and so are the bathrooms. Front desk service very nice and helpful. There is a garage available though it's tight and difficult to get in or out.
All in all a nice place to stay when visiting the city - can be reccommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PiotrM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alcazar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Alcazar for one night. The weather was very hot while we were there (42 deg C) but the hotel A/C worked like a charm. We had double rooms with view of the Seville Cathedral, which is across a 6-lane avenue. Despite the proximity to the street, the room was quite with the windows closed. I read about the unfriendly staff, but the people we dealt with were very friendly, polite and professional. We were leaving early so we didn't order the breakfast (it was extra), so can't comment on that. But otherwise a very good experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the cathedral are on the side of the main street, so you have to close yo...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I rate the hotel and the staff well apart from the day of our arrival on Sunday. That day we had travelled from Barcelona by bus - my sister and I were hot and tired - we had never visited Seville before
the attendant on the front desk was condecending and sarcastic when we asked for where we might eat and how to get there - he gave us no direction to our room or information relevant to the hotel eg: breakfast time and location - thankfully we did not have to deal with him again and all the other staff were most helpful

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank 19young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was an interesting stop with a cool reception on our initial enquiry. The reception staff were not particularly friendly, not forthcoming with assistance and somewhat up themselves. The rooms however were spotless and tidy. Breakfast buffet was not particularly gluten free friendly, however the coffee was tasty. Theres a laundry just down the road, across the intersection and over the road. Parking is secure but off site and a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toscanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was our last 2 days of a fantastic trip to Spain, and we stayed in Hotel Alcazar.

The check -in was seamless, and we experienced no problems with the attitude of the front desk staff. They spoke English fairly well. The room itself was decent, with a view over the Jardines de Catalina de Ribera. The bathroom was small but functional. We were in room 301 which was right next to the lift. This proved not to be problematic as we did not hear the lift at all.

During the first night, the aircon shut down, and we were told that it was due to maintenance. Not sure who does maintenance at 4 am in the morning. It was back on the second night. NOTE: this is an essential comfort, as Sevilla gets VERY hot (we had a high of 42 degrees, with it cooling down to a mild 31 degrees at midnight).

The lifts itself was also very small and barely fits 2 people with luggage. Which brings me to one of the negatives. The way to the rooms is via the lifts, and the way to the lifts is via a few stairs. So, if you have very heavy bags, be aware that there is no ramp up the stairs, and the staff do not offer to help with baggage.

The breakfast was standard fare, nothing special, but in keeping with a 3 star establishment.

Our overall experience was tempered by the proximity to some of the great sights - the hotel is really very close to the Seville Cathedral and Giraldo, and the Plaza de Espana is 10 mins walk. A really excellent situated hotel.

Room Tip: Forget about bringing a car. Hotel is close to public transport, and 5 minutes taxi ride from the tr...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in late April, during the April Fair. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast adequate. The good news really ends there. The staff at the front desk weren't very pleasant. Come on, guys, can you smile and greet us? Can you put down your paper roll and acknowledge us? Our room was dark with a tiny window with a wall next to it. The worse part was there was a sewer gas odor, which did dissipate after the toilet was flushed a few times. The location was reasonably good as we could walk 30 minutes to the Fair grounds; however, with limited time in such a beautiful, historic city of light, my question is: Why stay here?

Room Tip: Request a room with view....other than a brick wall.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturelover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

pro - close to the casco historico
-close to the bus terminal(train station,airport)
con - no fridge in the room
rather poor breakfast.
last but not least:avoid easytobbok - tripadvisor feedback
a complete waste of time

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Claudio Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#34 of 177 in Seville
736 reviews
Hotel Dona Manuela
#70 of 177 in Seville
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Puerta de Sevilla
#81 of 177 in Seville
772 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#42 of 177 in Seville
1,946 reviews
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#12 of 177 in Seville
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcazar

Address: Avenida Menendez y Pelayo 10, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Price Range: £48 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcazar 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Seville
Alcazar Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing