We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a 4star hotel, but good”
Review of Hotel Fernando III

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fernando III
Ranked #31 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Sevilla is an Amazing city. this hotel is situated in the heart of the old town and the position is Worth the Whole stay. The pool on the roof is another good reason for choosing this hotel.
The rooms are quite big, the bathrooms too. The sheets on the beds were a little ruined and the bathtub showed some rust... but we understood that we've been given the oldest rooms, while some floors had brand new rooms with modern and up to date furniture and bathrooms. An average hotel, maybe closer to a 3 stars rather than 4.

Room Tip: ask for the newly restored rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimoNippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a really good position to explore the city on foot. It is only 10 minutes walking from the closest bus stop to the airport (stop avenida Carlo V). It is 10/15 minutes walking from the other main sites. I suggest not having breakfast at the hotel as it is expensive (about 16 € per person) and there are many bars nearby where you can have it with much less. At the close Modesto bar, as example, you may have delicious churros (I upload a photo, it is a typical fried rounded shape), Jamon toasts, croissants for a few euros. The hotel room was good, nice furniture with very comfortable big beds with double pillows. Anyway, we were really close to other 3 rooms (our room was at the end of a
Corridor ) and we could ear every single movement they did and every door slam of other guests. There was a baby crying all the time and we were really annoyed. A big issue was that wifi did not work in our room so we couldn't find many information we needed for the next day. Toilet was ok, even if they provided hotel complimentary (such as soap, shower cap) only the first day. The shower was a bit tricky as it was impossible not to wet all the floor. One of the best thing of his hotel is the panoramic terrace with the swimming pool. It is really relaxing and nice. Another problem I had is that hotel staff has never replied to my emails. I asked several times help as my flight was cancelled and I wanted to advice that I would have arrived the next day (loosing one night). No answer to my email. I wrote also to ask information about arriving there. No answer again... I think these things can be improved for this hotel category.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DD164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon during Semana Santa. The hotel has the traditional Spanish furnishings, which look great & the place is really clean. They old bartender, Hermio, was so charming and sweet. The hotel is centrally located so we were able to walk everywhere. The front desk is also really helpful pointing out bus stops to take to get to other parts of town :)

Room Tip: Only problem we encountered is other guests coming in late from feria and could hear them from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Fernando iii is ideally situated in the heart of the Santa Cruz district in the historical core of Seville. The rooms are clean and the hotel has a roof area for sunbathing, views and even a swimming pool (although this is only open May to September).

The rooms are furnished in fairly traditional Spanish style with dark wood and well appointed. The fridge was curiously locked and although wifi was available in the room there was no information about either. Similarly we had reserved a double bed but got two singles - despite emailing in advance (and receiving no reply). An American in the lift reported the same problem regarding a child's bed which was not made available.

The gloomy but spacious interior is dark and staid. The staff were very helpful but had to be approached for information during the busy Santa Semana festival - it would be useful to have plentiful information available in the foyer.

The electrical items in the room were rather tired and aged, - the cream hairdryer on the bathroom wall was brown through the passage of time.

Having said that, breakfasts were only 4.35 Euros down the sreet at the wonderful Tapiteria and cafes, bars and restaurants abounded.

I recommend the hotel as a well located residence with a great location. To get there from the main bus stop, turn right along the main road alongside the park and take a left three hundred yards where the park ends and slip through the alley to the right - the Fernando is 100 yards on the right of the street after turning left down Santa Maria del Blanco.

So, far from trendy, but comfortable and clean with a roof area and pool - if you're not after a boutique feel, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are quieter but may not have a balcony. Please make sure the right kind of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alasn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for one night on a day trip. The uniformed staff were extremely helpful.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, almost to the point of clinically clean!
There are a lot of good street cafe / restaurants within 100 metres of the hotel. If you are on a budget, you will find loads of smaller cheaper hotels dotted around the immediate area.
The hotel offer a free guided city tour, which lasts for over two hours. The tour consists of a lot of walking to different locations and being told about the history of what you are seeing. If you want to enter any of the attractions, you should note where they are, then go back later on your own to see them. Ideal, if you have a few days, however, we were on a one day trip, so we wasted a lot of time walking in the group, which had to keep stopping so that we did not lose any of the older visitors.
My review score is only for the hotel and not for the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed three nights during Semana Santa. Nice room, rather pricy. Good location, close to cathedral. Don´t go for breakfast, lots of breakfast restaurants outside hotel. Quiet place to sleep, didn´t try the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is a basic comfortable business hotel, with nice good size rooms compared to what Europe offers with very comfy large bed( but you have to generally ask for it- or try and get upgraded to it). The food is rather average, but it is the location of the hotel- central to the city's most visited tourist destinations, the riverside, the shopping areas, the various bars and tapa restaurants that make this hotel always have a 90% capacity.
The reception people know English, but all the others don't know it. The breakfast is rather ok, so don't really take a deal with it, as you have loads just around the corner and sure a great treat too!
All in all value for money and comfortable!!

Room Tip: Try and take rooms on the top floors, and also insist to have an AC in the summer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KushalSanghvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Rey Alfonso X
#26 of 178 in Seville
1,004 reviews
Hotel Posada del Lucero
#24 of 178 in Seville
542 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#11 of 178 in Seville
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 178 in Seville
4,772 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#33 of 178 in Seville
2,902 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fernando III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fernando III

Address: Calle San Jose 21, 41004 Seville, Spain (Formerly Residencia y Restaurant Fernando III)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £68 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fernando III 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Seville, in the emblematic neighborhood of Santa Cruz, the privileged location of the Hotel Fernando III, next to La Catedral, La Giralda and the most famous monuments and leisure and shopping areas will make you enjoy the city as you never imagined. A classic and distinguished hotel with all the comforts of an establishment of today involved with the Excellence of all its services and in making the guest feel at home. The aim of all our human team is to serve the client with care and paying the utmost care for the details. Spaciousness, luminosity, design and comfort are the characteristics common to the hotel's 151 rooms, all featuring a careful combination of amenities and services in both bedrooms and bathrooms. Also, enjoy a spectacular swimming pool on our terrace and try our cuisine or have a drink watching the city with its views in 360º. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fernando III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia y Restaurant Fernando Iii Hotel Seville
Residencia y Hotel Fernando Iii
Residencia y Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing