We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“idyllic hotel in every respect except the internal noise at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla
Ranked #14 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2010

This hotel was well situated for the major sites of Seville and very attractive. The staff were very attentive, particularly during breakfast, but then at Euros18 per person I should hope they would be! Our room (number 7) was on the ground floor, and like all the rooms looked into a courtyard. It was very comfortable and in theory should have been very quiet at night BUT WAS NOT. The floors were tiled and there was very little soundproofing, so every noise reverberated throughout the hotel. We seemed to be particularly unlucky in that we were next to some sort of store room which seemed to be used frequently during the night in a very noisy way.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catriona08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
There are newer reviews for Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

Very nice place. We had a lovely room on the second floor and I think all of the rooms overlook the patio. The hotel has a small pool on the top floor which helps during the summer as the weather is quite hot. Staff was very helpful and corteous. Food at the restaurant fantastic. They have a little spa area and the therapist there is really nice. The place is walking distance to all attarctions and lots of restaurants and cafè are available 5 to 10 minutes walking. I will definetly reccomend this place for the good quality at a very reaosnable price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

As many others have pointed out the hotel is set in a lovely older style building and has been fitted out impeccably in keeping with the setting. The roof terrace is a nice touch and has a small plunge pool and chairs for lying out which is perfect after a hard day sight seeing round this fabulous city. The location was ideal for us. The hotel is not right in the city centre so you feel you are away from the real hustle and bustle – but it is an easy and interesting 15 to 20 minute walk to all the tourist attractions through some lovely residential and shopping streets.

The breakfast was great – if a little on the expensive side at 16 Euro per person. We did have room service one night (New Year’s Day as all the restaurants in the city were closed it seemed) and they were happy to serve it to us in the candle lit courtyard. The food was ok although the pizza was swimming in olive oil which made it heavy going.

However, for all its good points we came away feeling disappointed with our stay. It wasn't anything major and we are fairly easy and relaxed travellers but little things added up that when you consider the price you are paying made us feel a little hard done by. For example both mornings the waiter got the cooked breakfast order wrong – no disaster but annoying. The noise is also an issue. Because of the layout of the hotel and the stone floors and buildings all the sound does echo around – that is well documented in other reviews and we were prepared for that. What we weren’t prepared for is the very thin walls that means you can hear adjoining rooms as if you were in there with them – not ideal at 3am when the couple next door….…..well you can fill in the gaps on that one.

There is no doubt this is a lovely looking hotel but for the money I would look elsewhere next time and would probably recommend friends and family to do the same.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveUK1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

pro :
- superb old building
- large, very tastefully decorated room, attention to details (dvd player, I pod docking, Korres bath products etc...)
- great rooftop terrace with small pool
- expensive but nice restaurant
- nicely situated

cons:
- the price. Look for the more reasonable prices in the low season. We payed 106 euros and it was definitively value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elodieguillaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

From the moment you walk through the reception doors, you arrive in a cool and relaxing patio with lush green plants and beautiful blue painted wood detail, atmospherically candle lit at night. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, offering a lovely chilled drink on arrival, information about the city, a map, a list of tapas bars…nothing was too much for them.
Although not in the centre of town, it is situated in the quieter historical quarter of the city which is only 10-15mins away from the beautiful cathedral and alcazar.
It seems from other reviews that quite a few people seem to have missed the point of this hotel. It is classically Andalussian and one of a kind. Like all traditional Sevillian buildings, they are designed to stay cool hence the small windows. Personally I found the room a retreat from the brilliant sunlight and the pool on the roof was the icing on the cake. Excellent restaurant, a wonderful list of massages and beauty treatments and lovely staff. And with discounts and upgrades for re-booking with Hospes I will be returning very soon!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank Ejb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Superb hotel in a traditional Andalucian house. Great service, beautiful patios, nice sunroof with small pool made for a great stay. The only thing letting it down is the expensive restaurant, charging over 20 euros for breakfast for example.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smelly_backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This is sadly another failure created for the Hospes group of hotels. Having stayed at three of the several in Spain I am convinced that I was dooped (except for the Bailios in Cordobes). After this, if you should be so brave to reserve a room anyway, make sure it´s a Dreamer or a regular room since what they consider deluxe or a suite merely includes a preposterous round tub where a person neither old nor young ,as I am, can comfortably maneuver getting in or out without having to pray their soujourn does not end with an attempt to not smell like the urine laden streets of that city... and showering is another story. The service is mediocre at best and the location is a bit out of the way. All in all thumbs down all the way. Save yourself the money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinadol96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,372 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Corral del Rey
#3 of 177 in Seville
639 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#35 of 177 in Seville
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla

Address: Plaza Jesus de La Redencion 2, 41003 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seville
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#20 Family Hotel in Seville
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £126 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Las Casas Del Rey De Baeza Sevilla Hotel Seville
Las Casas Del Rey De Baeza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing