We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Carmelo Hotel
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Como
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Can be a good choice”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

As already written, this hotel is just 15 min walk from the cathedral and is located in a quiet area. No noise from the streets. Just around the corner, there's a pedestrian avenue full of shops, cafes, etc I guess that anything you could need can be found here.
Our room was quite spacious, very clean, with a very comfortable bed & pillows; spotless and neat sheets. There's also a large lcd and a minifridge with water, juices, beer etc Bathroom was ok, towels were clean and new! Air-con and wifi were perfectly working.
Buffet breakfast was really complete, I loved their bread and pastries! Then you have eggs, ham, cheese, cereals, yogurt, juices... anything you want.
Just one notice: rooms can lack privacy, we could hear our neighbors each time and in each situation and this was really boring...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Sir:

Thanks for the review of our hotel.

We are glad you liked so much of our establishment during their stay and take into account their assessment of the soundproofing of the room as possible to solve this problem.

Hope to see you again for any of our locations in Seville, Cadiz, Malaga and Huelva.

Yours sincerely

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    266
    44
    6
    7
See reviews for
110
409
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We often like to stay a few steps (15 minutes walk in this case) from the main tourist destinations. Not only do you save some money, but you also have the chance to experience the local culture. This is definitely the case with the Monte Carmelo hotel; around the corner is the busy Calle Asuncion pedestrian shopping street. The street is refreshingly devoid of tourists and there are some great little cafes where you can sit and enjoy the local street life. The hotel itself is very clean; our room was spacious and included a bath tub. There's also a safe for valuables and free WIFI internet. As the room faced a small courtyard, it was also very quiet at night. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and more than willing to converse with us in English. Breakfast was 10 Euros a person per day, but we found well worth it. The food is fresh and there is a large variety of choices. These include fresh orange juice, a selection of (I think baked on the premises) pastries, Spanish cut meats, cheeses, breads and rolls, fresh fruits and the list goes on. A nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank viztyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Sir:

Thank you very much for the opinion that leaves about our hotel.

The situation of our hotel is very convenient for people like you who come to sightsee the city.

Thank you for also highlighting many aspects of our hotel, including buffet breakfast, which we strive to give our customers a good way to start the day, as you asked us.

We hope to see again in Seville or by any of our facilities in Malaga, Cadiz and Huelva.

Yours sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Hotel is great value for money

Rooms are clean, spacious, well equipped and the staff are helpful. Free WiFi access

The Hotel is situated south the the river away from the city centre tourist attractions but is only about a 10 minute walk over the river to get there if you need. The location is just of a nice high street which provides for all your needs, food + drink, clothes.

I would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J_B_Manchester80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Dear Sir,

Thanks for the view that makes our hotel.

We are glad that your stay meet your expectations, and we thank you most sincerely recommend this hotel to our travel portal.

A look forward to seeing him again in Seville or any of our establishments in Malaga, Cadiz and Huelva, Yours faithfully.

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The hotel is located on the southern bank of the river in residential area. It was about 15 min walk to the Cathedral. We parked our car in the hotel's garage for 10 euro per night.
The hotel seems to be recently renovated. There are computers in the lobby and WiFi in the rooms. People at the reception desk speak very good English; they are professional and helpful.
The room was small but very clean and tastefully decorated for a budget hotel. Windows are soundproof; and with the windows closed and temperature control in the room, it was comfortable night sleep.
GPS did not recognize the street name "Virgen de la Victoria". Either old street name "Turia" or coordinates are to be used.
The hotel is a good value for staying in magnificent Seville.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lugo_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear Sir.

Thank you very much for your opinion.

We are glad that your break was comfortable, and to highlight the professionalism of our staff.

With regard to the location via GPS, is something we can not solve, because the street in which we renamed recently. We regret that this may cause you some discomfort.

Hope to see you again for any of our establishments in Malaga, Cadiz, Huelva and Seville.

Yours sincerely.

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Modern hotel on Triana side of river only 15 minutes walk from major sites with many shops, cafes and restaurants much closer. Spotless room, no view, but so what when it's all on your doorstep?

extremely helpful and friendly staff, guided us to our first Semana Santa procession, esaily found others once we'd got the hang of it. Staff noted check out day was my birthday and presented me with a small gift, nice touch!

Yes, there was some noise from other rooms, particularly during and immediately after the Barca/Real Madrid game, but overall excellent value and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Eat & drink on Genova, not Betis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosemary9378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear Sir.

Thank you very much for your opinion.

Thanks also for so positively assess the location of our hotel and the treatment received by our staff. We like our customers to feel comfortable among us.

And we are happy that the day of his birthday what happened between us. Hopefully not forget this.

Hope to see you again for any of our establishments in Malaga, Cadiz, Huelva and Seville.

Yours sincerely.

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilrea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This hotel is located in the Triana area of Seville and thus is across the river from the main tourist areas. However probably because of this I found the hotel to be very good value compared to hotels located in the main tourist areas. In addition it is only a 15 minute walk or so to the Cathedral, the Alcazar and other main sights. There is a bus stop about a 5 minute walk away where buses C1 and C2 stop. Both these buses go to the main train station (Santa Justa) via Plaza de Espana.

We could hear some street noise at night in our room but this was fairly limited. Indeed I would imagine, due to it's location, this hotel suffers less street noise compared to many other hotels located in busier areas.

Our room was spacious and very clean. It also had shutters on the windows which kept out light very well. The room had a mini bar which was fairly reasonably priced. The bathroom was also clean and a good size.

The breakfast was very good with a large selection of food.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall a very good hotel in the great city of Seville.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your opinion about our hotel.

We really appreciate our hotel that qualifies as very good. Indeed, the distance to the center of the town is small and there is also public transportation near the hotel. We interpret his words that his break was good.

We hope to have you with us again, or in another of our hotels in Malaga, Cadiz and Huelva. Until then, accept my best regards.

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This is a good hotel, with exceptionally friendly staff for a Spanish hotel. The location is away from the action, but close enough to walk to it. Clean, recently refurbished bathrooms, comfortable beds (albeit the two-section type common in Spain for Queen beds), good service and breakfast and parking (I think) options, which we did not use. However, we unfortunately had some unsupervised children next door, who shouted and screamed until the early hours when their mother got back, and so ear plugs were needed. To be fair, most hotels would have had problems with this, but the walls do seem to be very thin, because you can hear them going to the toilet as if they are in the same room. I want to emphasize that this was the only negative experience we had, and it wasn't bad enough for me not to recommend this place with ear-plugs. Perhaps they should offer a pair to customers, as well as the pillow options?

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for your review of our Hotel.

We are pleased that our location, facilities and customer care were in line with what you expected. That is the philosophy of our hotel chain.

With regards to the inconvenience encountered over the noise, we regret that this might have taken place and apologize for the inconvenience; Although it is something that the hotel is not to be held liable for, we assure you that we will do our very best on your next stay to prevent it from happening.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in any of our hotels in Cádiz, Huelva, Málaga or Sevilla,

With best regards,

Miguel Andréu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4,093 reviews
Monte Triana Hotel
#14 of 176 in Seville
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
2,274 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 176 in Seville
703 reviews
Melia Sevilla
#27 of 176 in Seville
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carmelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carmelo Hotel

Property: Monte Carmelo Hotel
Address: Calle Virgen de La Victoria 7, 41011 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#15 Business Hotel in Seville
#43 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carmelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the district of Los Remedios, this 4 star hotel is one of the hotels we have in Seville (Spain). It has a welcoming atmosphere, and is near the historic centre and Isle of la Cartuja, surrounded by the shopping district.The hotel has 65 rooms (rooms with twin beds, double beds, three beds and adjoining rooms) all with wooden floors. Free WiFi, parking facilities, pillows menu and rooms for women executives. Hotel Monte Carmelo is situated 10 minutes on foot from the historic quarter of Seville, in an area with a large concentration of shops, offices and public institutions such as the Regional Government of Andalusia.This location makes our hotel an ideal place to conduct business or visit the city for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monte Carmelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Carmelo
Monte Carmelo Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing