We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal hotel in seville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Carmelo Hotel
Ranked #12 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Spent 4 nights in this hotel. Lovely spacious room, beautiful large bathroom and very clean hotel. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Hotel is excellent located a short stroll accross the river to centre. Have no complaints at all and would certainly return or recommend this to anyone wanting to visit this lovely place. Weather was beautiful too.

Room Tip: we were in room 418 which was very spacious and lovely bathroom.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Sir:
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
Thanks also to our hotel for rating of excellent and commend you for your interest in this portal travelers.
We hope to see you again in Seville or any of our hotels in Malaga, Cadiz and Huelva. Until then, best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Monte Carmelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

What endeared this hotel to our group could be a turn off to others. Bottom line, it is a very nice property but even better, it is not in the tourist section of Seville. We would stay here again. Hotel Monte Carmelo is in a very lively residential district with lots of local bars, restaurants, laundries, shoe stores etc. There are no turnstiles to go through nearby, no lines to wait in,no floodlit monuments, no over priced eateries. In short you get to interact with real Spaniards where they live, shop and promenade each evening..

The hotel is located on a very quiet side street, a few blocks south of the river. It is @ a 15 minute walk to the cathedral, Alcazar or Plaza de Espana. The neighborhood is safe. Every cab driver knew where the hotel was located and a cab fare from in back of the cathedral to the hotel is about 6EUR.

The rooms are larger than average and everything was clean up to date. The wifi worked very well in our room. We were on the street side but the street in front of the hotel is very quiet with practically no traffic. Noise was never a problem. In fact, vehicle traffic anywhere in the area was never a problem until you crossed the bridge and got in to Seville proper.

One of the reasons we selected this hotel was their garage parking. It is reasonably priced and very secure.under the hotel. However, the lay out of the garage and the steep exit may require some professional help. The bellman is that pro and while you can drive in and park OK, I would ask him get you out.

The real fun in staying here is heading a few short blocks away each evening to a 1/2 mile long pedestrian only street where the whole neighborhood gathers from about 6pm to 10pm to walk, talk with their neighbors, entertain their children, eat ice cream, let those who are handicapped get some fresh air and to eat and drink. It was really fun and we spent most evenings there just being part of the local scene. Thanks Hotel Carmelo and Seville. It was a real experience. The Spanish were very courteous and everyone made us feel welcome..

Room Tip: Our rooms were first (second floor) right on the street, and very quiet. If you have laundry, a lau...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maranasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Dear Sir:
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We can only be grateful for everything he has said. We nostro which we thank them for choosing us again. And above all we are happy that your stay with us an experience to remember.
Hope to see your group again in Seville or any other of our properties in Cadiz, Malaga and Huelva.
Sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We chose the hotel Monte Carmelo because we needed a hotel with a car park and a reasonable price. we ended up paying 224 Euro for a double room for 2 nights including the parking and the buffet breakfast. Everything was to out satisfaction: it took us 7 min to get to the Cathedral and the Giralda and the hotel is on the corner of a pedestrian street with lots of shops and restaurants. A 3 minute walk gets you to the Plaza Cuba and from there you just cross the bridge and you are in the old town. The rooms are large and although dated they are nicely kept and everything is very clean. The same can be said about the bathroom. We had two balconies, several places to hang the clothes a writing table with chair and an additional little corner with two armchairs and a table.
The breakfast buffet had most things a tourist would want although I would have liked more vegetables but that is really minor. There was a big choice of cakes, biscuits, fruit cheeses and ham as well as honey, jam and other things. There was also a choice of bread including whole what which was a nice surprise. There was also a toaster of the kind that does not circle the bread and lets it fall down. I used it for making my newly learned spanish tostadas: toasted bread with cheese. There was also a choice of warm food and several drinks.
The staff was extremy nice and helpful : when we left we found a note saying that they had cleaned the window of the car. In short: I would highly recommend this hotel for any travelled on a budget

Room Tip: we had a corner room on the 4th floor and it was both big and quiet although it looked out over the...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Dear Madam:
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are glad that your stay was pleasant with us and he liked the location of our hotel and our breakfast buffet with fresh and natural products every day.
His words reward our work. Thank you again.
Hope to see your group again in Seville or any other of our properties in Cadiz, Malaga and Huelva.
Sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

First of all, I can't complain. We got a fantastic deal on the hotel at €80 per night including breakfast so for 2 of us for 2 nights it wasn't badly priced.
On arrival at the hotel, check in was fantastically quick, we got upstairs to our room and we weren't impressed with our view which was facing a wall - and although we weren't going to spend much time in the room we were hoping to have a view that over-looked Seville while we were in the room.
The room was very basic - it wasn't pretty, but everything was perfectly fine. I was surprised at the large flat screen telly in the room. The bed was really comfortable and although me and boyfriend would have liked an extra pillow each, the room only came with 1. I'm sure if we'd asked reception could have provided us with another though. The bathroom was small but perfectly functioning and the shower was lovely - water pressure, temp all fine and easy to use.
I wasn't too impressed with breakfast - mainly because I've been to other places that have a wider choice - for hot food I could only have a hot-dog sausage, scrambled eggs and bacon. They also had fruit, cereals and a wide pastry choice, ham and cheese selection. Coffee and Hot chocolate was lovely and we received prompt and friendly service by the waitresses. There aren't many tables to sit at so if your in a big group its worth avoiding peak times! The waitresses cleared tables in record time though!
The location wasn't too great in my opinion - we were surrounded by shops, parks but on the Friday night when we arrived there were loads of teenagers roaming around and so my first impressions were a little tainted - though it may have been a one-off. I would recommend looking at hotels around the
The hotel is walk able to the main sights, the bullring, the cathedral and we managed to pick up a horse and carriage ride on the roads. These are generally around $50 (some haggling involved) but you end up having a 45 minute ride with a miniature tour.
We went to a lovely hotel/restaurant/bar called: EME Catedral hotel. Its new so I'm not sure it on trip advisor but it was very trendy and in a great part of town - and opposite the Cathedral. It has loads of really nice restaurants. We also went to a football game at Seville Stadium and there were plenty of shops around there and this seemed to be a nice area too.
Sorry I can't be of more help with the locations!
Seville Tips: I didn't realise that all shops close from 1.30pm - 5.30pm for Siesta if, like me you were caught out with this its best to plan to get up early for shopping and come back for cat naps later on. Most shops, restaurants etc close and if you have a short time in Seville its best to plan around this. Alot of shops are closed on Sunday aswell.
Overall a great stay and if on a budget I would definitely recommend, but I probably wouldn't stay again!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear Sir:
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
Thank you for your comprehensive description of our hotel, the location area and other attractions of the city.
We hope that your holiday with us always remember having been to his liking
Hope to see you again in Sevilla or any of our hotels in Cadiz, Huelva and Malaga. Until then, Yours sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were very pleased with our 3-day stay at this hotel. The walk into city center was easy and enjoyable. We would have missed a lot if we had stayed in city center. The staff was pleasant and helpful and they went out of their way to help us. When we arrived tired and irritable from driving in unknown territories--only to find that the hotel parking we had requested was not available--they allowed us to park out front overnight and made sure we had a space the next day. We were given excellent recommendations for tapas and tickets to great seats at the bullfight were arranged. We did not experience any noise issues. Our room was immaculate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear Sir:
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
Knowing that they were happy with their stay in our hotel is something that rewards our effort and our daily work.
Hope to see you again in Sevilla or any of our hotels in Cadiz, Huelva and Malaga. Until then, Yours sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Hotel lived up to previous reviews - friendly staff, good service, excellent breakfast choice - which went on till 11a.m. Very well located for visiting main attractions with the added advantage of being in a very Spanish area. Watch the Spanish out with their families on Calle Asuncion.
The only major drawback is the paper thin walls so the quality of your stay will entirely depend on who is in neighbouring rooms. Spanish meal times etc mean people come in quite late and loud voices travel! We asked the manager to put up signs to ask people to respect other guests after 11p.m. Had to phone reception at 1.30 one night to ask them to request neighbours to keep the noise down. We were there for a week so managed to catch up on sleep with siestas, but please be aware that if you are a light sleeper this might not be the hotel for you.
Recommend a good tapas bar - La Macena - turn left out of hotel door, left onto Calle Asuncion and then first right. Second bar on the left serves good portions of tapas but take a dictionary to work your way round the menu.
Overall, a good hotel if you sleep well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumminsDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear Sir:
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We regret that the noise of the rooms were a nuisance to you. We take into account their comments to find a proper solution to this issue.
Hope to see you again in Sevilla or any of our hotels in Cadiz, Huelva and Malaga. Until then, Yours sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Hotel had a big telly with lots of channels and very comfy bed. Extra blankets and pillows provided. Our safe was broken and the suggestion was the we move to another room which we refused as we had allready unpacked, anyway the fixed it after 3 days. Bathroom had a very strange feel to it, some air was blowing when I was taking a shower and my partner told me it was from the shower. It felt strange like there was a ghost in this bathroom. Lots of toiletries were supplied and replaced on a daily basis. On my second night I made a mark on the sheet while takingmy sandals off, that mark stayed there for the next 3 nignts, which indicates that the sheets were not changed daily as they should. The hotel was 10 minutes walk to the nerest bus stop. Lady in the reception with short hair was very polite and helpful to us telling us about places we should visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dessislava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Dear Madam,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
Have their views into account in case you need to make any changes in the methods of our hotel Thank you appreciate the situation and other aspects of the hotel.
We hope to see you again in Seville or any of our hotels in Malaga, Cadiz and Huelva.
Sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,373 reviews
Monte Triana Hotel
#15 of 177 in Seville
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Collection Sevilla
#18 of 177 in Seville
1,854 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carmelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carmelo Hotel

Address: Calle Virgen de La Victoria 7, 41011 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#15 Business Hotel in Seville
#43 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £68 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carmelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the district of Los Remedios, this 4 star hotel is one of the hotels we have in Seville (Spain). It has a welcoming atmosphere, and is near the historic centre and Isle of la Cartuja, surrounded by the shopping district.The hotel has 65 rooms (rooms with twin beds, double beds, three beds and adjoining rooms) all with wooden floors. Free WiFi, parking facilities, pillows menu and rooms for women executives. Hotel Monte Carmelo is situated 10 minutes on foot from the historic quarter of Seville, in an area with a large concentration of shops, offices and public institutions such as the Regional Government of Andalusia.This location makes our hotel an ideal place to conduct business or visit the city for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Monte Carmelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Carmelo
Monte Carmelo Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing