We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monte Carmelo Hotel
Ranked #11 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights whilst doing the tourist thing in Seville. The Hotel is not in the main tourist district and is on the opposite side of the river to the Cathedral and Alcazar. These venues are a Pleasant 10 minute walk away. Found the hotel staff to be most welcoming and pleasant. Spoke english well. Hotel is well appointed and all appointments work, which was just a well because after a day in the hot Spanish sun you need to have a cool room on your return. Hotel room was quiet, clean and large as was the bathroom. Would have no hesitation in re-booking this venue for an extended stay in Seville.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkyposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Sir:
Thank you for your comments and your stay at the hotel.
We are glad that was to his liking both the location, facilities and services, as well as the care provided.
Hope to see you again for Malaga or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is on the West Bank, just outside of the main tourist areas on the east side of the river about 15 mins walk away. We travelled from Cabanas in Portugal to stay a couple of nights and see Seville with friends.

We managed to get a parking space in the small and tight underground hotel car park ( we had a small Fiat Punto and wouldn't have waned to try and park anything bigger). Reception staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable and clean, although some may feel the decor is a little dated. Good wi-if reception.

If you like gin. A drink, there is a fantastic gin bar (London Gin club) just around the corner in Calle Juan Sebastian were to my mind you will get the best G & T ever from a choice of over a hundred different gins.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank glennjones14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Sir:
Thank you for your comments and your stay in our hotel.
Parking at the hotel, like most hotels in Seville is limited, but in the area there is also a public car park, so not a problem for our guests.
We hope your stay with us was to your liking.
Hope to see you again for Seville or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Malaga and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

3 great nights at the Monte Carmelo hotel: Room was unusually very large and confy. After long hours walking under the sun, we thoroughly enjoyed coming back at the hotel and having a long siesta in a quiet environment.
The staff was great... always a big smile and happy to assist. The location was ideal just a short stroll from the Giralda.
Breakfast was hearty and kept us goint the entire morning.
In a nutshell, this is a very nice play to stay when visiting Sevilla.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Sir / Madam:
Thanks for your stay in our hotel and the comments on it.
We appreciate knowing that your stay with us went to the satisfaction. Also thank you to recommend us in the travel community.
Hope to see you again for Seville or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Malaga and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We chose the hotel initially, as we needed to park the car and I had read other reviews that mentioned car parking - it cost 11 euros. We only stayed one night but left the car until late the following afternoon with no problem. Although it is on the other side of the river from most attractions, we found it was a short 5 - 10 min walk to the Cathedral, so the location was good. We also walked back at night after eating out and felt perfectly safe. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK rather than splendid but very plentiful. We felt it was value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Sir.:
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
If you found what you were looking for in our hotel and enjoyed the city is the best we can say. Thank you for staying with us.
Hope to see you again for Sevilla or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Malaga and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Alongside an exceptionally clean and comfortable room being prepared for us, the WiFi was similarly set up very quickly (the staff indeedbeing true to their word!). However, what struck us the most was the sympathetic and understanding nature of (in particular) the night staff, whereupon the woman at the front desk gave us a lot of helpful advice after we had returned to the hotel at 4am, after having our bags stolen on 'calle betis' (a street with many bars which looks out onto the river). We had later been told by the police that this street had been home to many thefts before us. In the morning after, the staff were again very friendly and more than willing to let us check out a little later than the norm. The Monte Carmelo Hotel is also in a prime location as it is at the doorstep of a street called 'calle asunción' which has numerous shops, bars etc. The hotel may be a little far from some of the monuments in Seville, but the route to these is quite picturesque! It is most likely that you will need to ask for the air con to be turned on in your room, but it is swiftly done! Overall I would say that this is an excellent hotel! I would definatly recomend a stay here if you want a cost effective comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug_Stephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Sir,
Thanks for your stay in our hotel and your comments.
We regret that during their stay they had that incident. We pay all the help we could, because we believe that is one of our obligations.
Hopefully come back for Sevilla and enjoy this city.
We thank also the recommendation in this community of travelers.
Hoping to see you soon, we greet you sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We traveled from Barcelona via Valencia and Granada to Seville. Driving through Spain can be challencing but especially parking. Jose Angel was kind enough to park our car when checking in and made sure that the car was retrieved when leaving. Esther is another great reason to come back and stay at the hotsl. Staff at breakfast was also very attentive and provided good service. Breakfast good selection

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Hoagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are glad that your stay was to your liking and they found little difficulty in your stay in Seville.
Transmit to Jose Angel and Esther your nice comments.
Hope to see you again for Seville or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Malaga and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Everything about our stay was okay except the Monte Carmelo plays games with the air conditioning. At about 6:00 am the staff shuts off the air conditioner to your room--no notice and no apologies when you have to call the desk and ask them to turn it on.

If you don't mind a ten-minute walk through a safe neighborhood to the center of town and you can live with them turning off the air conditioning system (which works great when they leave it on), you could end up with a bargain.

Me? I will stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LangleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Sir:
Thanks for your comments.
We regret that your stay was not as you wished. The air-conditioned hotel, except in times of summer, is off at a specific time. To date we have never received a complaint in this regard. We will study a solution to this problem.
Sincerely yours,

Miguel Andreu
Communication & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,577 reviews
Monte Triana Hotel
#14 of 177 in Seville
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Collection Sevilla
#20 of 177 in Seville
1,956 reviews
Melia Sevilla
#37 of 177 in Seville
3,237 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carmelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carmelo Hotel

Address: Calle Virgen de La Victoria 7, 41011 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#15 Business Hotel in Seville
#43 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £56 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carmelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the district of Los Remedios, this 4 star hotel is one of the hotels we have in Seville (Spain). It has a welcoming atmosphere, and is near the historic centre and Isle of la Cartuja, surrounded by the shopping district.The hotel has 65 rooms (rooms with twin beds, double beds, three beds and adjoining rooms) all with wooden floors. Free WiFi, parking facilities, pillows menu and rooms for women executives. Hotel Monte Carmelo is situated 10 minutes on foot from the historic quarter of Seville, in an area with a large concentration of shops, offices and public institutions such as the Regional Government of Andalusia.This location makes our hotel an ideal place to conduct business or visit the city for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Monte Carmelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Carmelo
Monte Carmelo Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing