We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Carmelo Hotel
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I was studying abroad in Sevilla and my parents came to visit. We stayed in this hotel which is in Los Remedios (part of Seville). This hotel is a good location. It is across the river from the center, a quick 10 minute walk, a pleasant walk too. The price was perfect for what we received. There was internet in the lobby and I heard that the breakfast was delicious and not too expensive. We ate in cafeterias along the way. The hotel is close to where the Feria de Abril is located each year, (the spring fair) and close to a park. I walked home by myself after going out at night and never felt unsafe. The staff will wait up for you and open the doors, they were very nice.

Rooms were clean and big enough for 3 people.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevillana18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    261
    44
    6
    7
See reviews for
106
403
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2009

I stayed at this hotel with a friend in January 2009 and the experience was extremely positive.
The only small disadvantage was that you do have to walk for about 7 minutes or so to get over the bridge but really, that is an advantage too...
The other side of the river can be extremely loud, particularly on weekends. This hotel is one the Remedios part of town (Triana is off to the right as you come across the bridge). It is more of a neighborhood with lots of local businesses, some interesting restaurants and nightlife along the water.
The staff was amazing and friendly. I speak Spanish, my friend does not. But they treated us extremely well, gave us tips on where to go, told us some great places to go to eat (Go to Torre de la Plata, calle Santander), were extremely responsive on any tips etc.
The hotel was extremely clean, the room clean was excellent, the have in room WIFI (although the iPhone would not work for some reason). We found the bed extremely comfortable.
We got the room at a fabulous price too, something like 50 euros a day. Well worth the 50 euro price. Not a fancy hotel but clean, wonderful staff. Well worth the 7 minute walk over the bridge.
Only small negative: like ALL of Seville, it can get loud at night. We immediately had our room switched to a room in the bad with ZERO view, but facing a wall and absolutely quiet. If you are sensitive to street noise, ask for a room in the back away from the heavy traffic.

  • Liked — Amazing staff, great price, clean room, free WIFI
  • Disliked — 7 minute walk across bridge, noise from street can be loud (but ok with room in back)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GJR1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Convenient location, across the river and 10 mins walk from where the attractions are. The area around the hotel comes alive after 5pm, and one can get decent restaurants, supermarts and shops around.

The hotel staff has a basic command of english which is sufficient to get you by, but for more complex enquires or requests, I had found it difficult for them to understand my request.

The service and friendliness varies. Managed to get a rental car booking via the front desk. Not the best rate but efficient and professional. The hotel garage is tight with many pillars with a very steep ramp down...so take care when parking (cost 12 euros to park overnight).

Breakfast in hotel is buffet and pretty good for the price. If you are thinking of eating outside the hotel for breakfast, there are small cafes around the hotel which offer basic coffee and pastries.

The rate is good for the location of the hotel. Do not come with too high expectations and you will enjoy the hotel.

  • Liked — the bar and breakfast
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirjola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We stayed at the Monte Carmelo for 5 nights with our 2 children (aged 5 and 7) in 2 rooms (a double and a twin). We had requested adjoining rooms but unfortunately this could not be accomodated but they were next door to each other.
The hotel was in a good location an easy walk across to old Madrid and Santa Cruz and there was an excellent chocolateria about 7 minutes walk from the hotel that was recommended by reception staff (brilliant Churros, with large serves!).
All their staff provided exceptional service.
Emilio their on-line reservation person was brilliant and he patiently and speedily responded to all my itinerary and booking questions and changes (I was a bit difficult!).
Their concierge was a total gentleman and very helful with door opening, assistance with our bags etc and he turned the TV on in the reception area for our kids when needed.
Their restaurant staff were also excellent and spoke good English and the buffet breakfast was extensive (eggs cooked to order). Breakfast was 10 Euros and 5 Euros for the kids.
The kids loved the daily visits from the cleaner as he/she left lovely little lollies on the bed whilst we were out.
The service from the reception staff was also outstanding they were extremely friendly and spoke good English. They arranged (at very late notice) a hire car for us that was delivered to us at the hotel so we could make a day trip to Granada to see the Alhambra. The concierge even parked/moved it for us when we returned to the hotel and couldn't find a close park in the street and we parked it illegally.
The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms were also clean with great water pressure and they provided great little sponges with the shower gel (it is after all the little things we like).
There was free internet access and a computer in the hotel lobby (this was unusual in Spain)
We caught a taxi from the Airport and it cost 30 Euros which was more than we expected.
It wasn't difficult to navigate our way from the hotel onto the highway to get to Granada (without GPS). It seemed harder to navigate out of Seville from the Train Station when we picked up a Europecar from there for our drive to Algeciras we also had the cost of a taxi from the hotel to the train station (approximately 12 Euros). The only other way to get to the train station is by bus which apparently takes about 30 minutes and doesn't leave close to the hotel.
I would therefore recommend getting the hotel to organise a hire care to be delivered

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pigandtoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Asturias
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Good hotel, modern, super clean (room smelled fresh and clean and the supersize bathroom almost sparkled). 60 euros for double room peak season. Ideal choice for short stay with or without car. Take a chance with free parking outside - told parking free after 2pm on sections with blue line - check, might apply only at weekends - or park in the underground car park - 10 euros. Internet available in hotel lobby.

Opted for breakfast outside - not a great deal of choice nearby - avoid cafe (calle asuncion?) with grumpy al pacino style owner - atmosphere similar to anticipation felt watching episode of sopranos.

Hotel near Triana, former gitano district. Grab a beer and stroll down Calle Betis, an atmospheric area with bars, restaurants and chiringitos overlooking the river. Flamenco shows.

Enjoyed some great pinchos/tapas at Jose Luis restaurant, Plaza de Cuba, no 3. Not far from hotel near Calle Betis. Good, friendly service and filled with locals/spanish tourists.

  • Liked — clean, spacious rooms, parking, proximity to centre, internet, helpful man on reception!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank allthingsspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

the hotel turned out to be much better than expected. very good location especially for those traveling by car and do not want the complication of driving within the tourist district. on the other side of the river, it's just a 10-15 minute walk to the main tourist attractions, quiet, semi-residential area, traffic-free, with plenty of parking space outside although the hotel also has underground parking if preferred. clean, big rooms and bathroom, big and thick towels, choice of pillows (a requisite for those with back problems like me), wi-fi, free computer use, and very good buffet breakfast. all these for a very reasonable price. this hotel goes into my recommended list.

  • Liked — location and breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CygniCygni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2008

This hotel was in a great location (near the Triana district, across the river from the main tourist attractions in Sevilla). It was a quick walk to those attractions (10-15 minutes). The hotel was clean and the staff helpful and spoke good English. Our main complaint was the level of noise in the rooms - the walls seemed to be paper thin (worse than most hotels) and it was quite disturbing. Bring earplugs! The breakfast they had for purchase (about 5 euros) was not very good - you could get something better at a cafe.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Monte Triana Hotel
#14 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Sevilla
#27 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
NH Collection Sevilla
#17 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carmelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carmelo Hotel

Property: Monte Carmelo Hotel
Address: Calle Virgen de La Victoria 7, 41011 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#15 Business Hotel in Seville
#43 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carmelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the district of Los Remedios, this 4 star hotel is one of the hotels we have in Seville (Spain). It has a welcoming atmosphere, and is near the historic centre and Isle of la Cartuja, surrounded by the shopping district.The hotel has 65 rooms (rooms with twin beds, double beds, three beds and adjoining rooms) all with wooden floors. Free WiFi, parking facilities, pillows menu and rooms for women executives. Hotel Monte Carmelo is situated 10 minutes on foot from the historic quarter of Seville, in an area with a large concentration of shops, offices and public institutions such as the Regional Government of Andalusia.This location makes our hotel an ideal place to conduct business or visit the city for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monte Carmelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Carmelo
Monte Carmelo Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing