We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Becquer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Becquer
Ranked #10 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel Becquer was easy to find, close to all the main attractions in Seville and a genuinely good hotel. We had one of their newer rooms, 524, which was a really good size and very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Service was excellent from check in to check out. Breakfast was great and the background bird noises had a calming effect to an otherwise busy area.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBecquer, Director Comercial at Hotel Becquer, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
"Dear Guest, We thank you for your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you at Hotel Becquer in the near future. From the heart of Seville and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards. We remind you that, you will find our best prices on our webpage."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,094
    1,668
    260
    53
    21
See reviews for
859
2,217
137
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My partner and I spent 4 days in Seville last week, and stayed in the Hotel Becquer. It was our second time staying in the hotel - the first time was when we came to Seville 2 years previous. The fact we returned says a lot about how pleased we are with the hotel!

Overall, we found the hotel clean, central, great service, and good value for money in a relatively expensive city.

Location is central - easy walking distance to the Cathedral and other attractions, shopping area, good restaurants. Easy access to buses, and there's a taxi rank directly across the street if you need to go further (note - we had 2 experiences with taxi drivers who overcharged us in Seville, so be aware). Next door to the hotel is a lovely little cafe, handy for a quick coffee/drink and bite to eat, and there's a small gift shop beside the hotel as well. There is a "Spar" convenience store about 5 minutes walk away, if you want to get some water/snacks for the room.

The front reception area is clean and classy. The hotel staff are very professional and helpful. As our flight arrived early in the morning, we were at the hotel before normal check-in. The gentleman at reception had us leave our bags and go for a coffee; when we came back, our rooms was ready and our bags were already put up there for us! And when we were leaving, we had an evening flight and we were facilitated with a late check out, which was very handy.

The room was clean, and was serviced every day. It was small but not cramped, and well presented with nice decor and furnishings. The bed was 2 single beds pushed together, VERY comfortable and I slept well. Although the room overlooked the street, there was excellent soundproofing and we never heard anything from outside to disturb us. The wardrobe was roomy, and it was a nice touch that it had a light inside that went on when you opened the doors. It was quite hot when we were there, but the air conditioning in the room was excellent, and kept the room at a comfortable temperature - and it was quiet, which is especially important when you're trying to sleep at night! There is a small fridge in the room as well, which was handy, and a trouser press, safe, and flat-screen TV with plenty of channels. The bathroom had a bathtub/shower, toilet, sink and bidet. The only small problem was the water temperature - it would be fine and then go a bit cold, then a bit too hot, and then back to normal again - this happened a few times during our stay. FYI they provide a fixed shower/body wash in the shower, and there is a small bar of soap for the sink, so be sure to bring other toiletries if you need them i.e. hair conditioner, mouthwash etc.

The breakfast was standard fare - hot food was nice (really like the spanish sausages) and there was also the usual selection of cereals, breads, pastries, fruit, yoghurts, cheese, and condiments. Juices seemed to be the usual "from concentrate and add water" type, but that didn't bother me. Up above the tables was an "installation" of mobile birds hainging from the ceiling and the sound of birdcalls - it was quirky, I liked it.

On the rooftop was a lovely terrace with sun loungers, and awnings for shade if you wish to get out of the sun. There were 2 drinks machines, one with water and one for soda, but one for water did not work, and the other was all out of soda except for one type (Aquamarin). The pool was small (you wouldn't do laps in it) but very clean and refreshing - it's 1.25m deep at one end, and 1.35m deep at the other - the 3 fountain-heads at one end were a nice touch. The view from the rooftop was great, you could see over the rooftops and orange trees to the cathedral, and birds swooping high up overhead. It was very quiet in the morning and mid-day, and got busier as the afternoon progressed - by evening it was packed with people. I spent 2 hours every day out on the rooftop, and found it so relaxing.

The one amenity I missed was a fitness centre, as it was almost 37 degrees during the day so too hot for me to jog outside. But Seville is a great city for walking around, so the lack of a fitness centre is only a minor caveat for me.

There is wi-fi available throughout the hotel - in the reception area, and on floors 2, 4, and 6. Our room was on the 3rd floor, so in-between wi-fi routers, and the wifi coverage was weaker but still worked fine, though I'd imagine it works better on floors 2 4 or 6.

There is a spa in the hotel, but I did not avail of it so cannot comment.

Looking forward to our next visit to the Becquer!

Room Tip: Floors 2, 4 and 6 have wi-fi routers, so signal is a bit stronger than on odd-numbered floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wosheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBecquer, Director Comercial at Hotel Becquer, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
"Dear Guest, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and hope to see you in the near future. From the heart of Seville and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards. We remind you that, you will find our best prices on our webpage."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel is smack in the middle of Seville and therefore a really good location to quite easily walk to most attractions. The room was very clean and a maid came in every day. There was a decent sized bathroom and lots of very hot and very instant water. the breakfast selection was good and you had a choice of meats and chesses, cereals, cakes and pastries and 'cooked breakfast' stuff - though this once again emphasised that the Spanish have got some quaint ideas about what constitutes a 'Full English' breakfast, which was actually fine because it is not in UK. The staff were very helpful, especially having the patience to explain and give useful information about their city. Oh, and FREE unlimited internet access in a little cupboard type room off the foyer.
Seville - is a lovely city, very historic but at the same time quite cosmopolitan and modern in feel. We did some unusually 'touristy' type things such as a horse drawn carriage ride and an open topped bus. Both of which were well worth while....Horsey....50 euros for four people and was a good three quarters of an hour, Bus was 17 euros each (for two days if you wished)
Food - overall was quite disappointing (pretty bland, but I like punchy Italian type stuff) and in some cases eye-wateringly expensive. Just beware of them pushing drinks on you which certainly never come cheap.
If you get a chance to go into some of the historic buildings them do so, because they are very very impressive indeed, if you have an eye for architecture and history...particularly the Cathedral and the magnificent Alcazar Palace and gardens.
Overall - The Becquer was very good (despite the darkly decorated rooms) and Seville was a bit of a revelation. A very friendly city with easy going people. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank streets585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBecquer, Director Comercial at Hotel Becquer, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
"Dear Guest, we thank you for your words. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon. From the heart of Seville and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards. We remind you that, you will find our best prices on our webpage."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel during a 2 day trip to Seville. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms spacious for European standards. We really enjoyed the rooftop patio/pool and the view it offered of the city. We found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful, offering great suggestions for restaurants nearby. There is a small coffee bar next door which serves coffee and traditional spanish breakfast items, which is convenient. As for location, the hotel is within a short walk to all of the great attractions in Seville. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBecquer, Director Comercial at Hotel Becquer, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
"Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Becquer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again in the future. From the heart of Seville and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards. We remind you that, you will find our best prices on our webpage."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We spent the last week of March 2012 in Seville. The hotel is in great location, a short walk to all major attractions and restaurants. Being so close to the river was also a treat. The people through out the city were very friendly and helpful. The restaurants were terrific.

The hotel was just what we expected. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. The wifi worked very well. Breakfast was very good and having the Tapas bar downstairs was great. The pool on the roof of the hotel was a great place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. The only thing missing was any kind of fitness facility. We would certainly return to this hotel when we return to Seville.

Room Tip: upgraded to the junior suite, great to have the separate sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arubarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBecquer, Director Comercial at Hotel Becquer, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
"Dear Guest, we thank you for your words. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon. From the heart of Seville and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards. We remind you that, you will find our best prices on our webpage."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel last week. It was, as described elsewhere, a good reliable standard European hotel. Nothing exciting. The rooms are standard, the breakfast was OK. The staff were helpful when you asked something although not necessarily interested otherwise.
Location is good. A little removed from the main city area but still only about 5 - 10 minutes walk to the Cathedral and Barrio area.

Room Tip: We stayed with a room with an internal courtyard. It was quiet (no street noise) although we could h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lc_eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBecquer, Director Comercial at Hotel Becquer, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
"Dear Guest, we thank you for your words. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon. From the heart of Seville and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards. We remind you that, you will find our best prices on our webpage."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

If you have been Europe and stayed in a good hotel, not a great hotel, you will recognize the Hotel Becquer. I don't mean it as necessarily a bad thing, it is a good solid hotel that reminds me of some places I have stayed in Europe.

The front desk crew was very helpful and the room was a good size. No problems with the bathroom and the location of the hotel was great.

The bedding, towels and linen could have been better quality, but that is not too much of a knock.

We stayed during Semana Santa and the rates were pretty good, and we got value for our money.

I would recommend Hotel Becquer, but I'm not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
2,275 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#36 of 176 in Seville
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
2,022 reviews
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#11 of 176 in Seville
710 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becquer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becquer

Property: Hotel Becquer
Address: Calle Reyes Catolicos 4, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seville
#7 Business Hotel in Seville
#7 Family Hotel in Seville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Becquer 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Becquer Hotel, is located in the historical and commercial centre of the city, next to the Guadalquivir River, just 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral, Giralda, Barrio de Santa Cruz and a step away form the area of Tapas (Triana). With very easy access to buses and a private garage for hotel guests.There are 134 rooms fully equipped with private bathroom, plasma TV, WIFI, minibar, safe, air conditioning or heating (depend on season), trouser press, laundry service, free coffee/tea maker in the room, room service until 24:00, etc ...The hotel also has meeting rooms, fully equipped with free WIFI, loudspeakers and audiovisuals. Outdoor swimming pool, Terrace and Solarium with wonderful views of the Cathedral and the Giralda are open from 1st of June till 31st of October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Becquer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becquer Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing