We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not a 4 stars”
Review of Hotel Dona Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dona Maria
Ranked #62 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just not a 4 stars”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The experience starts with the check-in : the minumum is done, no apologize because they can not reach your request about reservation, no smile at all, no explanation about the city...
Very nosy room
Bad quality of body lotion : all made in China, low cost
Hopefully I spent only one night at this hotel.
I was surprised Michelin recommands this hotel !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HERVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    472
    181
    73
    67
See reviews for
228
516
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

it is in a great location, but that can mean a few drawbacks esp. if you are a light sleeper. Numerous cafes in the area and it can be loud at night, but that's the tradeoff for such a nice location. Typical European room - no complaints there. One of the reviews said it was minutes from the cathedral. It's closer than that - you can almost throw a rock and hit it. The rooftop bar has an unbelievable view at night. Breakfast buffet is varied and very good. All of the staff is helpful with logistics, dinner recommendations (these were a little unusual though).... The only thing that keeps this from a 5 is the noise at night, but it wouldn't stop me from highly recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

best hotel i have seen in years and the staff knows that, they stopped giving service!! so great location dissapointing staff!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevilla La Nueva, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Por favor evitar este hotel a toda costa!

This dump is a place to avoid. The location is great, right behind a really fantastic scenic cathedral and near the old towne - yes, location is really fantastic times ten! So, proximity to 'good stuff' is nice, but do you want to stay in a dump and pay exorbitant fees, too? And, oops, I forgot to mention the exceedingly surly staff. Have you ever had bed bugs and even if you cancel a day ahead, the bed bugs will find you. Avoid this crap house at all costs.

A decent dame, but 3rd in languages

Room Tip: Try to find another hotel (sorry if you have already booked, they will charge you regardless). Did I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Hotel Dona Maria is located just minutes from the massive gothic cathedral in the centre of the old town in Seville. A traditional rather than modern hotel the rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Free wifi is available to guests and the staff are very helpful indeed. An added bonus is the rooftop pool and terrace. When we were there in October this was still a lovely feature as it was still pretty warm, even in the evenings.

We did not eat in the hotel but there are plenty of tapas bars and restaurants in the area and I loved the horse drawn carriage tour of the old town - much more worth while than the river cruise which I did not enjoy at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donegal-Noeleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gt. Barrington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We recently stayed two nghts at the Dona Maria hotel in Seville. It was in a great location, right across the plaza from the cathedral. Our room was comfortable and quiet and they have a lovely rooftop bar. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

After reading other reviews I was worried I was walking into a old gross hotel. Boy was I surprised. The hotel is covered in art and artifacts. It was wonderful. Yes, the pool is on the smaller size if you need to swim laps but every day I went to the pool I only saw one person in there anyway. Never crowded. Rooftop bar was great. The best drink in Seville is there. It's called the Caprinina. I ordered it else where and it wasn't as good. The staff was great. I can't say a bad thing about the hotel. It was in the square of the Cathedral. Beautiful views day and night. I will be going back to Seville and this hotel helped seal the deal!

Room Tip: I liked the 4th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 176 in Seville
4,112 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#52 of 176 in Seville
837 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#35 of 176 in Seville
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#45 of 176 in Seville
1,361 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
2,024 reviews
Hotel Fernando III
#53 of 176 in Seville
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Maria

Property: Hotel Dona Maria
Address: Calle Don Remondo 19 | +34954224990, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seville
#37 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dona Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Maria Seville
Dona Maria Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing