We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dona Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dona Maria
Ranked #62 of 180 Hotels in Seville
Broughty Ferry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel is decorated in authentic Spanish style and in a great location next to the cathedral. Stunning views of Seville and the cathedral from the rooftop terrace. This is our second visit to this hotel and this time we stayed in a superior room at the front of the hotel which had views of the cathedral. Plenty of restaurants and tapas bars in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    455
    176
    71
    61
See reviews for
221
496
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston,SC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We took the high speed AVE train from Madrid and arrived in Seville the Monday before Easter. We really had no idea what to expect for their high holy week Semana Santa processions. We were definitely right in the middle of it all. This hotel is so close to the Cathedral and all Seville has to offer. Our room was nice and very clean. We had a basic room, so there was no view. We were in a room right by the stairs and since it is an old hotel, the sound really carried. Other than that it was great. The staff was very helpful,and the breakfast was fantastic. This hotel has a rooftop lounge area that it is breathtakingly beautiful at night. It looks directly at the Cathedral and is truly a spectacular view. I would recommend staying here. I would not recommend having a car here though.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the stairs and the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlestongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We flew to Seville with Easyjet and then got a cab into the city. Stayed in the Dona Maria for three nights before driving down to the Malaga coast. Staff were courteous. The rooms vary in size and style. We would opt for a superior room if we stayed there again, to get an outside facing window as we were by an interior shaft with light at the top (room 316). But it was a nice room and spacious bathroom. Breakfasts were good with a selection of hot and cold food and good coffee. The great advantage of the hotel is the proximity to the Giralda which is literally outside the entrance, left turn and across the plaza - fantastic! I've read other reviews about noise - we also experienced noise from the roof terrace and other guests but I guess that is all part of staying in a hotel, in a city... The roof bar and pool terrace are very enjoyable areas to sit and have a drink or coffee - for me that was the major selling point of the hotel. Unfortunately a couple of things happened which were rather negative. Another guest who asked for a towel to swim was told the pool was closed as it was Spring and therefore not yet the season for swimming. My husband had already used the pool by then so he was happy! And the temperatures were around 30 degrees. I was reminded of the David Walliams character "computer says no" - why market a hotel with a rooftop pool which can only be used at certain times during the year? ... Also, one morning we sat up on the terrace to read and we were asked to move while copious cleaning of the bar floor tiles took place with a noisy Karcher. This went on for at least an hour. I love the fact that the hotel is looked after so well but I sometimes think that guests are made to feel that they are in the way! But to sum up - I've stayed in Seville before at the Murillo and Casa 1800 (both enjoyable in their own ways) but this would be my favourite experience based on having the roof terrace and pool. Seville is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: rooms vary a lot - we looked in some that were being cleaned. Try to ask for an outside facing wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furrybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Really authentic Spanish decor and surroundings - very traditional. Superb location for Central Seville: Cathedral, Giralda and tapas bars all within a stone's throw. Classy, rooftop bar looking out towards the Giralda. We had a superb evening's entertainment there from a flamenco guitarist and singer. Good breakfast, but the tapas bars were too inviting to eat in in the evening. One downside: if you are travelling by car the hotel only has a small, underground car park. We had to park in a municipal car park a good 5 minute walk away - quite costly too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

As others have said, the location is one of the real selling points of this hotel - it really couldn't be more convenient for the sites, transport around the city, shops etc.

We had a room on 4th floor facing out onto the street. It was bright and airy but you have to be prepared for a degree of noise. Being woken up in the morning by church bells is actually quite pleasant and added to the holiday experience. Being woken at 4 every day by the noisy street cleaning truck whose driver seemed to think nothing of bellowing at the top of his voice at all and sundry wasn't quite so nice!

The room was, however, kept very clean and the mini bar restocked every day. The staff were very helpful and the girl working in the bar was delightful - despite the bar being pretty much empty any time we went in.

Seville is a great city with loads to see and do, fabulous cheap food and drink and very friendly people - and hotel Dona Maria is a great place to explore it from.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Pros:
First of all, you can't beat the location. It is steps away from the Cathedral and La Giralda, Real Alcazar, and Barrio Santa Cruz. There are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby, and basically everything you'll want to see is in walking distance from Hotel Dona Maria. The staff seemed nice and upon my early arrival, I was told that my room was ready.

Now for the Cons:
1. The 'free wifi' didn't actually work in my room.
2. They put me on the 3rd floor, making it sound like that was a good thing. Unfortunately, the 4th floor is the terrace bar and for some reason, they must have felt like moving the furniture around whenever I was in my room...including all hours of the night. There was also loud music, loud voices, and I think there was an impromptu Flamenco dance at about 2:30 AM on Saturday.
3. The bed wasn't exactly what you might call comfortable.

Basically, if you value sleep after a long day of sightseeing, make sure you're not put on the 3rd floor. That's probably good advice, too, if you anticipate actually using the wifi.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cls112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon District, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week during the march. Had no air conditioner on in the room. They said on the reception that the season of the air conditioning didn't start yet. Had to sleep in a closed room (noisy outside, could not open the window), no ventilation of the room.
The room is medium, the breakfast is normal. People are kind on the reception. Also has internet included, but I would not stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#52 of 180 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#32 of 180 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 180 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#46 of 180 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 180 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Maria

Property: Hotel Dona Maria
Address: Calle Don Remondo 19 | +34954224990, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#36 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dona Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Maria Seville
Dona Maria Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing