We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at home with nobility”
Review of Hotel Dona Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dona Maria
Ranked #62 of 175 Hotels in Seville
netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“at home with nobility”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want to put up your headquarters for a week in noble settings this former mansion of a marquis family is the best choice. When you enter you wonder whether you are in a museum or in a hotel. The stylish lounge is full of antiques, and also later, in all corridors onall floors, the museum continues.
The rooms are comfortable and spacy but the matrimonial bed could be a bit softer. And don't expect to sleep noise free even if you ask for it and get a room 'al patio'. It is either the singer in the bar, the neighbors of your room, the churchbells or just the town: you are in Spain - they don't call it noice but life.
The rooftop swimming pool is small but a beauty with its fountains and fresh flowing water. A must to take a dip and collect some skin colour - after your siesta (in the afternoon the hotel is less noisy).
The location is ideal, the hotel is literally the centre of the centre, and from there everything is in easy (walking) distance. The only (little) problem is that not all staff are very friendly. A cool professionalism seems to be the chosen style - I do not know if that is common in noble houses, perhaps it is.

Room Tip: take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetherlandsBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    472
    183
    73
    67
See reviews for
229
520
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have just spent 3 nights in beautiful Seville. Being our first visit to the city we were a little unsure as what to expect but wow! what a gem of place it is.
We booked to stay at the Dona Maria. We travelled by bus from the Airport and walked the 10 minutes from Torre del Oro. It was fairly easy to find with the google map walking instructions we had printed off before we left home.
As we arrived very early, we knew we wouldn't be able to check in but wanted to leave our cases at the hotel. Although this wasn't a problem, we were made to feel more of a nuisance to the hotel rather than guests. They told us to come back in 2 - 3 hours time. No smiles, just long faces from.
Having walked around and enjoying a lovely lunch and being taken in by the delights of Seville we returned to the hotel and checked in. Again, no smiles, just a formality.
On booking, we requested a nice room as we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and were really looking forward to a well earned break away. Having read some reviews we were aware that some rooms are better than others.
We were given a room on the 1st floor above the bar. It was spacious. The bed was a double and a single joined, so lots of space. The bathroom was well lit and modern. Although the room itself was quite dark, it was nice and cool. We had a window looking directly onto the building opposite, so it was almost impossible to see the sky which in turn didn't allow much natural light in.
Now for the noisy bit. Oh dear. We expected street noise. We expected to hear the cathedral bells, both of which added to the ambience of being in such a vibrant city. What we didn't expect was the all night noise from the hotel. We must have been by the utility room or something. All night long we experienced a dragging of furniture noise, running water, banging and clanging, thudding of footsteps and so it went on. So bad, we didn't really hear anything coming from the streets. After eventually mentally blocking it out, and finally falling asleep, we were then woken by music at 7am. On first waking, I thought it was being piped into the room. Then thought, it must be the alarm clock. It was however coming from the room next door. We then had the pleasure of listening to them in their early morning sing along. So, if you want a peaceful nights sleep, beware. The walls must be paper thin!
As said, the bathroom was spacious and modern. However, the shower, which was lovely and powerful, kept going hot then cold. When it went cold it made you jump then when it went hot you felt like you'd just been scolded. There was no extractor either, so in very little time the whole bathroom was full of steam.
Taking into account the steamed up bathroom, we then found out that the only mirror in the room was the one in the bathroom, covered in condensation. So, to dry your hair in a soggy, steamy room, and to apply makeup (for me not my husband!) was almost impossible. No sooner was my hair dry, it then flopped with the steam! Plus it took twice as long to get ready as my husband had to wait until I was completely finished before he could have his shower.
Not wanting to make a fuss, on passing, we mentioned it to the "happy" reception staff. The lady was quite understanding as told us to come and see her in them morning and she would find us another room.
We really wasn't that bothered about it, but on returning back to the hotel late afternoon, we mentioned it to a different receptionist. Immediately, her whole demeanour became defensive. She said the only room they had was a single, and in her own words wasn't very nice. Her colleague, overheard her and tried to help, but the she wasn't having none of it. This whole thing then became an issue, only caused by her attitude. We asked to speak to the manager, who wasn't available. She then made a phone call, and spoke in a whisper, making out we were being totally stupid. She put the phone down and told us her manager would bring us a mirror from her house the next day or we could check out and find another hotel! We didn't check out and we didn't get a mirror.
The roof top terrace is lovely. You can almost touch the cathedral. Drinks are rather pricy, but it's a great venue for pre-dinner and after dinner cocktails. Good atmosphere.
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, and preferred doing brunch in one of the many eateries.
The location is fantastic. Everywhere is within easy walking distance.
We absolutely loved Seville and are planning to return with friends at the end of the year.
Whatever is going on in the lives of the reception staff, they need to remember there may also be things going on in the lives of their guests. Park it when you're at work and try to make your guests feel special, even it's it just for a moment.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridget d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel definitely has the wow factor! Situated right in the middle of everything you could ever need in Seville. Beautiful views both from the roof top terrace and swimming pool areas and from my room which had a little balcony which I loved sitting next to. The hotel is a traditional old building with lots of character. My room was nicely decorated and had some very pretty furniture in it. I enjoyed some great cocktails on the roof top terrace and the staff were very friendly and spoke good English in the hotel. There was a mini bar in my room and great wifi access. There was so many bars, restaurants and cafés near the hotel I was spoilt with choice. There is a taxi stand next to the hotel which was handy for an early morning airport run, there was also horse drawn carriages within view who would take you to see all the main tourist spots. Buses and tram only a few minutes away. There is only a couple of things that could be improved, one was a hand held shower which was not very good and the water temperature kept going warm then cool every time I used it. The second was the room was rather hot at night but the temperature was 39c outside.
Seville is an amazing place and I can not wait to come back again and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect, just behind the cathedral and adjacent to the alcazar having such a perfect location really made our trip to seville the perfect stay. Lots of great tapas places in the area as well as shopping and great breakfast spots. The terrace is perfect on a hot day with the pool and beautiful views of the cathedral at night, the drinks are overpriced however. The room was comfortable with a little balcony poking out onto the street which was lovely. The temperature control in the shower was poor going from too hot to too cold without altering the tap....the only negative though

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlipeJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughty Ferry
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel is decorated in authentic Spanish style and in a great location next to the cathedral. Stunning views of Seville and the cathedral from the rooftop terrace. This is our second visit to this hotel and this time we stayed in a superior room at the front of the hotel which had views of the cathedral. Plenty of restaurants and tapas bars in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston,SC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We took the high speed AVE train from Madrid and arrived in Seville the Monday before Easter. We really had no idea what to expect for their high holy week Semana Santa processions. We were definitely right in the middle of it all. This hotel is so close to the Cathedral and all Seville has to offer. Our room was nice and very clean. We had a basic room, so there was no view. We were in a room right by the stairs and since it is an old hotel, the sound really carried. Other than that it was great. The staff was very helpful,and the breakfast was fantastic. This hotel has a rooftop lounge area that it is breathtakingly beautiful at night. It looks directly at the Cathedral and is truly a spectacular view. I would recommend staying here. I would not recommend having a car here though.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the stairs and the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlestongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We flew to Seville with Easyjet and then got a cab into the city. Stayed in the Dona Maria for three nights before driving down to the Malaga coast. Staff were courteous. The rooms vary in size and style. We would opt for a superior room if we stayed there again, to get an outside facing window as we were by an interior shaft with light at the top (room 316). But it was a nice room and spacious bathroom. Breakfasts were good with a selection of hot and cold food and good coffee. The great advantage of the hotel is the proximity to the Giralda which is literally outside the entrance, left turn and across the plaza - fantastic! I've read other reviews about noise - we also experienced noise from the roof terrace and other guests but I guess that is all part of staying in a hotel, in a city... The roof bar and pool terrace are very enjoyable areas to sit and have a drink or coffee - for me that was the major selling point of the hotel. Unfortunately a couple of things happened which were rather negative. Another guest who asked for a towel to swim was told the pool was closed as it was Spring and therefore not yet the season for swimming. My husband had already used the pool by then so he was happy! And the temperatures were around 30 degrees. I was reminded of the David Walliams character "computer says no" - why market a hotel with a rooftop pool which can only be used at certain times during the year? ... Also, one morning we sat up on the terrace to read and we were asked to move while copious cleaning of the bar floor tiles took place with a noisy Karcher. This went on for at least an hour. I love the fact that the hotel is looked after so well but I sometimes think that guests are made to feel that they are in the way! But to sum up - I've stayed in Seville before at the Murillo and Casa 1800 (both enjoyable in their own ways) but this would be my favourite experience based on having the roof terrace and pool. Seville is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: rooms vary a lot - we looked in some that were being cleaned. Try to ask for an outside facing wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furrybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,177 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#48 of 175 in Seville
843 reviews
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#45 of 175 in Seville
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 175 in Seville
2,049 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#33 of 175 in Seville
2,669 reviews
Hotel Fernando III
#50 of 175 in Seville
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Maria

Property: Hotel Dona Maria
Address: Calle Don Remondo 19 | +34954224990, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seville
#37 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dona Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Maria Seville
Dona Maria Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing