We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Melia Sevilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Sevilla
Ranked #37 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We chose the hotel because it had a pool only to discover that the pool was closed.
The lobby smelt of sewage pipes.
The reception staff were not helpful at all: when we asked them to recommend a paella restaurant they sent us to one which does not serve paella!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chirine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 3,242 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Room on the surface looked spacious and quite modern but had been quite shabbily done, huge cracks in plaster, and holes around switches etc, outside of hotel is not attractive and location was a bit further away from the center than we would have liked. Nice bar area. Had a dinner in restaurant one night, very expensive for a very average meal. Terribly slow check in with only 2 staff on. Probably waited half an hour with at least 5 couples behind us .Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naki-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you want a modern, clean, relatively inexpensive hotel, the Melia Sevilla would be an excellent choice. We stayed in a Level room which was slightly more expensive, but definitely worth the additional money. With the Level room, we had access to the Level lounge which had snacks and drinks throughout the day and a comfortable space for discussing the day's plans.

We were in Seville to visiting family and stayed at this hotel since it was near their location. That was the only downside of this hotel. It is not in the main downtown area. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Alcazar and Cathedral. It is very near the Plaza de Espana though.

The room was good size and modern. The bathroom had a stall shower and a separate tub along with two sinks. The bed & pillows were awesome. There was water noise when some other room used their bathrooms. Breakfast (included with our room) was an excellent buffet with lots of hot and cold choices.

We were there on Sunday & Monday night which is when many of the restaurants are closed. We wanted to find a tapas place (since we didn't want to eat very late) and the hotel was not really able to help us. They did try, but I would have thought that our request was not that unusual and that they would have an available list of places for us to go.

In summary: Positives - modern hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff; Negatives - location a little far away from the city center, the staff could have been a little more informed on local restaurants.

Overall, very good stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sillycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Drove to the hotel, which can be easy to miss despite being on a corner. Building exterior looks extremely basic, but the interior is fresh and modern. Rooms are a good size and quite well-maintained. Bed is comfortable, and bathrooms are clean and modern. Breakfast is quite decent with a lot of variety. Location is good, virtually opposite Plaza de Espana and walking distance to most of the other main attractions. Hotel probably offers parking, but street parking is easy to find nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LowboNBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Beautiful Hotel very well situated at only 5 min from Plaza de Espana, very friendly staff, great modern room, beautiful bathroom, a real pleasure to stay there. The hotel has everything you need...I'll come back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights last week. Perfect location for easy walk into Seville centre. Staff were very helpful and spoke English, large choice of food for breakfast, all fresh and plentiful. Rooms clean and of a good size. You need to specify in advance if you would prefer a double bed instead of a twin bedded room. Swimming pool currently not available so if this important, and you're visiting in the next two months, then I would enquire as to the status of the building works.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a great room.. Big and well maintained. Staff all very friendly. Breakfast ok. Pool area needs some attention.. A bit of tlc.. But we still managed to sunbathe. Good base and we felt good value for money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank NickyPHughenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
NH Collection Sevilla
#20 of 177 in Seville
1,957 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#7 of 177 in Seville
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#11 of 177 in Seville
799 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,578 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#35 of 177 in Seville
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sevilla

Address: Dr Pedro de Castro 1, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seville
#18 Business Hotel in Seville
#18 Family Hotel in Seville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#26 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £71 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sevilla Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Sevilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing