We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Location not so much”
Review of Melia Sevilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Sevilla
Ranked #30 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel was a good hotel with clean rooms, comfortable beds, the breakfast was fantastic, there was a bar and swimming pool. It was very generous with hand and body lotion, shampoo, and our stay (4 people in two rooms) was very satisfying. Not much street noise as we were on the pool side of the hotel. The front desk provided adequate help. It is almost impossible to get directions to the hotel off their web-site. The hotel is only about a 5 minute walk from the San Bernardo train stop.
The location issue is really based upon expectations so these comments are really about our feelings on what we like in a location. The action in terms of neighborhood restaurants, cafe's and shopping was a 20 to 30 minute walk based upon your speed. The Cathedral and Alcazar are also a 30 minute walk. The hop on hop off bus works ok to get a feel for the city and what you want to see with the main office for the city sightseeing bus on the Avenue de Constitution.
Overall it was a very satisfying hotel but if I was to go to Seville again I would want to stay closer to the Cathedral area. It said there was a spa and fitness room but a third party company had backed out of the contract and there was none available.
Finally the good news of the location is that we took a day trip to Cadiz from the San Bernado Train stop which was five minutes away from the hotel. Seville does not have a highly developed Metro.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,082)
There are newer reviews for Melia Sevilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 3,082 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very modern with excellent amenities. Great location near the center of town and easy walking distance to most everything. The staff was very helpful and most spoke very good english. The hotel restaurant has great food and service. Nice hotel bar. The pool area was below par for this hotel but was being renovated so it should be very nice soon. They have a parking garage around the corner at an extra charge. The morning buffet is definitely worth the 14 euros.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I often stay in this hotel for my bisiness visits in Seville, last time I came with the family and booked again Melia Seville because of quad rooms availabiloty, I went with my wife and our two children, location is not bad as the hotel stands opposite Plaza de Espana and a 10 minutes walk to Royal Alcazar and Seville Cathedral, rooms are of modern looking and mostly new ones, our suite room was featuring both a bathtub and as I like most a shower, breakfast is huge nit could be better in quality, anyway a well located quality hotel in Seville at affordable rates.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We chose the hotel because it had a pool only to discover that the pool was closed.
The lobby smelt of sewage pipes.
The reception staff were not helpful at all: when we asked them to recommend a paella restaurant they sent us to one which does not serve paella!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chirine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Room on the surface looked spacious and quite modern but had been quite shabbily done, huge cracks in plaster, and holes around switches etc, outside of hotel is not attractive and location was a bit further away from the center than we would have liked. Nice bar area. Had a dinner in restaurant one night, very expensive for a very average meal. Terribly slow check in with only 2 staff on. Probably waited half an hour with at least 5 couples behind us .Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naki-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you want a modern, clean, relatively inexpensive hotel, the Melia Sevilla would be an excellent choice. We stayed in a Level room which was slightly more expensive, but definitely worth the additional money. With the Level room, we had access to the Level lounge which had snacks and drinks throughout the day and a comfortable space for discussing the day's plans.

We were in Seville to visiting family and stayed at this hotel since it was near their location. That was the only downside of this hotel. It is not in the main downtown area. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Alcazar and Cathedral. It is very near the Plaza de Espana though.

The room was good size and modern. The bathroom had a stall shower and a separate tub along with two sinks. The bed & pillows were awesome. There was water noise when some other room used their bathrooms. Breakfast (included with our room) was an excellent buffet with lots of hot and cold choices.

We were there on Sunday & Monday night which is when many of the restaurants are closed. We wanted to find a tapas place (since we didn't want to eat very late) and the hotel was not really able to help us. They did try, but I would have thought that our request was not that unusual and that they would have an available list of places for us to go.

In summary: Positives - modern hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff; Negatives - location a little far away from the city center, the staff could have been a little more informed on local restaurants.

Overall, very good stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sillycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Drove to the hotel, which can be easy to miss despite being on a corner. Building exterior looks extremely basic, but the interior is fresh and modern. Rooms are a good size and quite well-maintained. Bed is comfortable, and bathrooms are clean and modern. Breakfast is quite decent with a lot of variety. Location is good, virtually opposite Plaza de Espana and walking distance to most of the other main attractions. Hotel probably offers parking, but street parking is easy to find nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LowboNBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
NH Collection Sevilla
#18 of 177 in Seville
1,856 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#6 of 177 in Seville
2,385 reviews
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#12 of 177 in Seville
739 reviews
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#32 of 177 in Seville
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sevilla

Address: Dr Pedro de Castro 1, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seville
#18 Business Hotel in Seville
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £79 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sevilla Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Sevilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing