We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maestranza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Maestranza
Ranked #111 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great location, beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. I thought it's interior was gorgeous, as well as the updated bathroom in my unit.

I must have lucked out because I was able to get wifi in my room throughout my stay. the front desk staff was friendly any time I engaged with them.

a tip for light sleepers- there are bars directly beneath the hotel. luckily i am used to sleeping with earplugs and brought some with me, otherwise it wouldve been 3 sleepless nights as it sounded like the bar was in my room.

as another reviewer mentioned- the beds themselves are awful. I'm not very picky when it comes to sleeping accommodations but this bed may as well have been a marble slab. I woke up sore each morning. and found it bizarre that the bed cover used was made from the same fabric as the drapes, clearly not bedding.

overall very happy besides a few minor quirks. would certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    81
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
34
86
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights. It's in a fun neighborhood full of small restaurants and tapas bars. Walking distance to the Cathedral, Alcazar, Barrio, and Bullring. Ask for an inner room if you prefer quiet. Our room was on a quiet courtyard. Room was comfortable, had modern bathroom, comfortable bed, and in-room safe. Hotel has nice small lobby, helpful staff, elevator, and wi-fi in lobby area. Overall a nice place in a nice location and a good value!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonita_Bch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Booked due to good reviews on here and reasonable price for family accommodation.
No wifi in rooms only lobby much to my teenagers disgust!
Dormitory style rooms-hard single beds.Aircon worked very well thankfully as very very hot!
Bathroom looks better than room but shower not good-too close to wall.
Unlike other reviewers we had a frosty welcome from a woman who was quite unhelpful re car parking etc and who also turned our electricity off when we left room.
Good for one night if you are used to budget accommodation.
Driving a nightmare in one way system.
If you can splash out on a room somwhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed by myself for one night in a single room in this hotel. The room was small, but had everything I needed, including built-in safe. I travel a lot to many countries and I seriously believe this to probably be the cleanest room I have ever stayed in. It always makes me feel more at ease to be in a spotless environment. The hotel is basic, but the location is excellent in the midst of the old town. There are many sites nearby and it is surrounded by restaurants. Other reviewers complained about the noise, but I was here in June and I did not find it too disturbing. The wi-fi is only available in the lobby. The receptionist was exceptionally helpful in giving me directions and pointing me to restaurants for breakfast and dinner. Seville is a truly picturesque city, especially in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed for three nights here, thoroughly enjoying this boutique hotel. My single room was clean, and comfortable. The hotel staff were helpful, and efficient. I found that the hotel was close to the centre of the city, but out of the rush elsewhere. There were a multitude of bars and restaurants nearby, and I even found a laundry just up the street.
Located in an older part of town, in a maze of crooked streets, I was fortunate to have a taxi take me to the door. The use of mirrors and mosaics of tiles brightens up the foyer and stairs. The wifi is good in the foyer, but unreliable in the room.
The shower was excellent. The aircon was quiet and cool, great in the heat there. I can recommend the Maestranza- few hotels treat the single traveller with such respect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN RAMON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, close to everything. It was nice to go back for a siesta and not waste time getting to and from the hotel. For a single room, I didn't feel too cramped. The air conditioning worked beautifully. Two small things (nitpicking): I assume that when you say free wifi these days it is in your room or it would state in lobby or common areas. The shower curtain rod was installed 2-3 inches inside the shower, meaning that you were essentially moving the shower curtain out of the way to do anything. Despite these two small things, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank sandpiper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel, in a superb location. Beautifully finished throughout and supported by extremely helpful staff, this stay was certainly one of our best in Spain. The room was street facing which made views and sights interesting, and was well sound-proofed. In addition, the price made it really good value for money. We would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Europa
#102 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Simon Hotel
Simon Hotel
#46 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#39 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Puerta de Sevilla
#77 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#37 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Casco Antiguo
YH Giralda Hotel
YH Giralda Hotel
#115 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maestranza

Property: Hotel Maestranza
Address: Calle Gamazo 12, 41001 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#33 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maestranza 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maestranza is housed in a Sevillian style mansion from the nineteenth century. Completely renewed, including elevator, the hotel provides all of the modern conveniences in a beautifully designed, classical setting to satisfy the most demanding tastes. No smoking allowed within the hotel building. No pets are allowed. The seventeen clean and comfortably spacious guest rooms are well appointed, featuring: full and private ensuite bathroom, telephone, free in-room safe, air conditioning, heating, individual climate remote control, remote control satellite flat screen TV (with English and French channels), professional hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing