We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Hotel Maestranza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Maestranza
Ranked #110 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Southern Californai, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Seville is a wonderful city & we were lucky to have stayed at the Maestranza hotel (at Rick Steves' recommendation). The hotel is in a great neighborhood, close to the Main Cathedral & Plaza Nueva. We felt safer in Seville than any other cities we visited in Spain - we didn't see any beggars & were not constantly watching for pick-pockets...
The front desk was well represented by Antonio, who was not only extremely kind & courteous, but very helpful in giving us tips about the city.
If we ever come back to Seville, we'll definitely stay here! Thanks again Antonio!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Californian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    82
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
34
91
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is located about three blocks away from the Seville Cathedral, City Hall and other major attractions. There are several restaurants around the hotel, many of them really good. The neighborhood and streets around the hotel feel very safe. In fact, the whole city feels really safe. We were able to walk around the city, through all the winding streets and allies without a problem. Thus, this hotel has a privilege location, particularly if considering the value, very moderate for the city.

The staff was very helpful. They provided nice restaurant suggestions, although we found that not all of them were to our taste. The hotel seems modern from the outside and the lobby area is really nice. The rooms were of decent size, although the decor was somewhat dated. The bathroom was of decent size as well. However, it is because of the bathroom that I am giving this place a 4 star rating. This room was not as clean as the rest of the hotel. The bathtub was dirty, to the point of almost being disgusting, and the liner was ready for a change, five visits before we arrived. We didn't complain on time, perhaps because we were in the room only for a couple of hours only. Regardless of this, I would stay hear again, but raise the issue of cleanliness if it happens again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javea, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is a 1* grade but the cleanliness outstripped a 4* hotel we stayed at in London recently. It was spotless and the interior was just beautiful, however, for a hotel of this age, white plastic replacement windows would never be allowed in the UK.......just a personal dislike of mine. We stayed two nights and it is extremely noisy late evening and into the early hours and the windows did nothing to dull that noise coupled of course with the peal of the bells so earplugs are a necessity if you are a light sleeper. Personally I found the bed comfortable although small, the double bed rooms are on the ground floor which would have been noisier I think. The staff were charming and polite. There's a soft drinks machine in the foyer which is essential as there are no other facilities in the room. If you need a hairdryer, take one, they are available but need to be requested. The hotel is walking distance from everything and I would say don't let the 1* put you off if you are used to more, it is a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Ensure an internal room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have to agree with the other reviews: the location of this hotel was great, right around the corner from Plaza Nueva, several bars and eateries nearby, yet away from the heavier traffic areas. The staff were extremely helpful, not to mention patient with our Spanish as well! Our room was smallish by American standards, but had everything we needed and was spotless every day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. I thought it's interior was gorgeous, as well as the updated bathroom in my unit.

I must have lucked out because I was able to get wifi in my room throughout my stay. the front desk staff was friendly any time I engaged with them.

a tip for light sleepers- there are bars directly beneath the hotel. luckily i am used to sleeping with earplugs and brought some with me, otherwise it wouldve been 3 sleepless nights as it sounded like the bar was in my room.

as another reviewer mentioned- the beds themselves are awful. I'm not very picky when it comes to sleeping accommodations but this bed may as well have been a marble slab. I woke up sore each morning. and found it bizarre that the bed cover used was made from the same fabric as the drapes, clearly not bedding.

overall very happy besides a few minor quirks. would certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights. It's in a fun neighborhood full of small restaurants and tapas bars. Walking distance to the Cathedral, Alcazar, Barrio, and Bullring. Ask for an inner room if you prefer quiet. Our room was on a quiet courtyard. Room was comfortable, had modern bathroom, comfortable bed, and in-room safe. Hotel has nice small lobby, helpful staff, elevator, and wi-fi in lobby area. Overall a nice place in a nice location and a good value!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonita_Bch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Booked due to good reviews on here and reasonable price for family accommodation.
No wifi in rooms only lobby much to my teenagers disgust!
Dormitory style rooms-hard single beds.Aircon worked very well thankfully as very very hot!
Bathroom looks better than room but shower not good-too close to wall.
Unlike other reviewers we had a frosty welcome from a woman who was quite unhelpful re car parking etc and who also turned our electricity off when we left room.
Good for one night if you are used to budget accommodation.
Driving a nightmare in one way system.
If you can splash out on a room somwhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Europa
#101 of 175 in Seville
276 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Simon Hotel
Simon Hotel
#49 of 175 in Seville
681 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 175 in Seville
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#36 of 175 in Seville
723 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
#102 of 175 in Seville
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maestranza

Property: Hotel Maestranza
Address: Calle Gamazo 12, 41001 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#33 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maestranza 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maestranza is housed in a Sevillian style mansion from the nineteenth century. Completely renewed, including elevator, the hotel provides all of the modern conveniences in a beautifully designed, classical setting to satisfy the most demanding tastes. No smoking allowed within the hotel building. No pets are allowed. The seventeen clean and comfortably spacious guest rooms are well appointed, featuring: full and private ensuite bathroom, telephone, free in-room safe, air conditioning, heating, individual climate remote control, remote control satellite flat screen TV (with English and French channels), professional hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing