We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The AC”
Review of Hotel Baco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baco
Ranked #117 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Baco has a very good location. First impression was great, but then (unfortunately) I looked up and saw dirty AC-vent with visible wiring etc. and moths flying around. Despite the heat I didn't want to turn AC on. Well, I did eventually and nothing bad happened, of course. There were three bothersome factors: bad smell coming from restaurant next door, noise coming from other rooms and no fresh air for interior rooms. However, I'd most likely choose Baco again because it's a good value for money you pay, but would ask for a room on the street-side.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Read BobSmith4188 review, he was a little mean with his rating in my opinion, but his review is accurate and honest.
1. Staff are excellent
2. Location is great
3. Cleanliness is Excellent
4. Beds are comfortable
5. Free WIFI
6. Free local call
IN MY OPINION NOT SUITABLE FOR FAMILY'S WITH YOUNG CHILDREN.

Room Tip: The front rooms can be a little noisy from the hustle and bustle from the street ( i quiet liked th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

On a short break meeting up with old friends my colleague and i booked here after reading the reviews (good and bad) and thought we'd take a chance on this seemingly quaint 2 star hotel not only because it was the cheapest mid-may but also situated in the area of Seville we needed to be in.
we arrived around 7.30pm under the impression the hotel had 24hr reception (according to booking.com! this has since been rectified) but the receptionist was at another hotel around the corner and down a little side street (Hotel La Casa del Maestro) its not far but did have us panicking a little.
After sorting the reservation we went back to the Baco where the receptionist battled for some time with the front door key to open the door and then went on to explain the way to open it was to wiggle it a bit whilst you turn (guess he wasn't wiggling or turning in the right direction). there is only the entrance hall ground floor which has a strong smell of drains at certain times of the day but we didn't notice this anywhere else in the building so it's not a deal breaker

after we eventually got in we were shown a room at the front of the building with only one double bed after i had specifically requested a twin with separate beds and stipulated the booking was for 2 male guests. fortunately and better luck than management i think, there were other rooms available. we took a room at the rear of the first floor to avoid any hustle and bustle from the very busy road at the front. We thought this also had a view as it had a window but it was just a light shaft similarly serving the other rooms.

the room was very clean and a credit to the cleaning staff but everything in it was old and dated (not antique just old and dated) it had an old tv a mini fridge with the freezer compartment buried in ice and the bed bases were battered and thread bear although they were very comfortable and as we only used the fridge to keep our bottled water cold that wasn't a problem either.
The toilet broke after the first flush and as there was no one on hand to call for a repair my colleague rolled his sleeves up and sorted it (he's a plumber by trade) but the noisy air conditioning unit however was beyond his abilities and even though it worked only manged to drop the temperature to just bearable and with no air flow from the outside we had to leave it on all night, not advisable if your a light sleeper (neither of us were so again we put up with it). The door entry key cards also operate the power so although this is good for the environment it did mean we couldn't leave the air conditioner on at all and as bad as it was it was better than nothing at all
The location is 2 minutes away from the mushroom which has a fantastic viewing platform and 10-20 minutes away (walking) from everything else with San jorge market by the river probably being the furthest but worth a visit for the fresh produce. its also very advisable to get a street map from the tourist information if your on foot as the narrow meandering streets can easily have you walking in circles. that said this did prove useful to us after we discovered some fantastic tapas bars populated by locals and a free flamenco show simply by getting lost :-)
we both agreed we'd stay there again as the advantages out weighed the negatives and at the end of the day it was just somewhere to sleep and keep things safe.
The room and facilities although not fantastic were spotlessly clean but if your the slightest bit fussy this really wouldn't suit you. it could easily go up a star or 2 if they just updated it and put a little more TLC into it, as a result we couldn't honestly give it a higher rating than the stars it already has (it is what it is).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobSmith4188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My room was always kept clean. It has a window facing an little indoor patio. I stayed for two weeks. People at front desk are polite. It's within walking distance of shopping area, cathedral, bus station. Very good value. I sure recommend it. Ah, the free wifi was excellent. I was able to FaceTime with my beloved ones.
ps Soap bars are smallish, that is my only complaint.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are better from I heard.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PueblaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I was a solo traveler staying here for three nights and just needed a clean an inexpensive room. The staff was very helpful and friendly, as they helped me book my bus to Granada the next day. The location was alright. I spent most of my time in the Santa Cruz area, which is a 15 min. walk from the hotel. The nice thing about that is it allows you to have one last beer and tapa before turing in as there are many bars on the way back to the hotel. If you stay here, ask for a room with a window. Many of the single rooms don't have a window which makes the room rather bleak. Next visit I might try for a hotel in the Santa Cruz, but for the price, you really can't beat this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photojohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hotel is situated in front of the Ponce de León bus interchange where you can take a 32 to Santa Justa station. There are other buses in this area as well (see www.tussam.es) so quite useful for travelling. Also it is an easy walk down to the Mushrooms or Metropol Parasol which is now a 'must see' in Seville. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metropol_Parasol
The hotel is quite basic and very clean with comfortable beds and more than adequate bathrooms. I think all rooms are a little different so it would be impossible to rate the hotel on the choice of one bedroom type. We were directed towards a nice local bar serving churros and good coffee called Bar El Pilar - an excellent choice. The area is good for seeing more local sights and not bumping into tourists all the time although the nearby El Rinconcillo old bar & restaurant is within a very short walk across the street. http://www.elrinconcillo.es/en/home.html
The convenience of taking a bus to the rail station plus the very competitive room rate makes this hotel a good choice for myself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

stayed for one night with my girlfriend. Room was beautiful, hotel was nice, and the staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. The only negative is that it was about a 10-15 minute walk to the center of town, which can be tough to navigate with small meandering streets, but it was a fun adventure and in nice weather wasn't too bad at all. Overall a great stay and well worth the location sacrifice to pay that price for that nice of a room.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Don Pedro
#96 of 177 in Seville
294 reviews
Hotel Abril
#73 of 177 in Seville
383 reviews
Le petit Paris
#105 of 177 in Seville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dona Blanca
#126 of 177 in Seville
118 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#39 of 177 in Seville
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baco

Address: Plaza Ponce de Leon, 15, 41003 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Price Range: £48 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baco 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Baco Suites is located in a building which is artistically recognized, in the historic and commercial center of seville. Designed by and for real travellers, our hotel is placed in the centre of Seville , in the heart of the city, exactly in Santa Catalina district, a few steps from the main tourist attractions of the city, taking the Giralda and the Santa Cruz district unless than 10 minute walking. The nightlife lovers are also in luck, as Hotel Baco is located within walking distance of the most "cool" areas of the nightlife areas. On the other hand, the main shopping areas are surrounding this wonderful hostel, so fans of the new fashion trends have in this hostel the perfect vantage point for the coming and going of their purchases. The best bars and restaurants of the city are near the hostel, from the little bars with a big variety of our rich and famous tapas dishes to the most exclusive restaurants. In Hotel Baco you'll enjoy a really relaxed atmosphere, and our friendly staff will be happy to help you with any needs you may have, in all matters relating to our facilities and services and in any additional information you can need about our city. Our main goal is to make your stay in Seville a really unforgettable experience, and we will give our best advice about what to do each day, about free events and places to go ...Just have to ask us! Our services and facilities are another of our strengths: the 25 rooms have a private bathroom with bath and/or shower, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, cable TV .. Leaves berths for your friends and come to Hotel Baco to rest on a heavenly bed ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Baco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baco Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing