We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location & friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #35 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect location & friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Brilliant value for money - 3 nights B&B for under £200 to include brilliant selection of breakfast items in an interestingly decorated, ornate & well managed basement restaurant. Difficult to find so make sure you detail your route before arrival - we arrived by train and struggled to get our bearings - best to aim for Jardines de Murillo and access the gate from there into side streets. It is in a very quiet location and we had Room 502 on the top floor with fire door exit to the roof terrace & bar with views of the Cathedral. We actually found ourselves rushing back after a day of sightseeing and saw this as part of our daily routine to go up there with our books to partake of a beer, sangria or mojito with complimentary crisps - friendly waitress Ana - tries very hard to engage with people and we had great fun speaking in Spanlish to explain our day. Our room did what it said on the tin - comfortable bed, bedside tables, table, chair, en suite facilities - separate lift at far end of ground floor took us to I think second floor and we had a small flight of stairs to our room. I would definitely return here again as perfect location for all the attractions.

Room Tip: Avoid any room near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    935
    261
    74
    31
See reviews for
281
985
80
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great hotel in a central location. We paid a basic rate but were still given a double room on the 3rd floor which allowed us to have our own balcony. The room was clean, had a good air conditioner, minibar/fridge and TV. The real feature of the hotel was the rooftop bar where we were given a free drink on our first night - we ended up there for both of our evenings in this amazing city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel met our needs perfectly. Clean, tidy, and rooms air conditioned. Great selection for buffet breakfast, staff very friendly and helpful and all speak good English. Lovely rooftop terrace bar where we were able to enjoy a complimentary welcome drink.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place had great customer service. It is really in a cute location, close in to everything, on a fantastic little alley with a wonderful cafe just right outside. There are plugs to charge things, the room #502 on the top floor was very big, with walk in closet and good sized bathroom. The room and bath were stocked and clean, and you could ask for additional supplies as needed. The lobby was a unique area with old decor. In March I had requested a first floor (the lobby is floor zero) room with balcony over the street, but they gave those rooms away, so they upgraded us to the top floor room which had a nice view of the cathedral, and a little walkway (not patio) outside of the "emergency" door. The room was quiet, and it had A/C which we never used. We just threw the window and door open at night. Plus one point for that upgrade. They give you a coupon for a free drink the first night you are there, at their terrace bar.
But...
The breakfast, in my opinion, is a total rip-off for €9 per person, when you can go to any little cafe, say the one right outside the door, and have a couple real coffees, hot croissant with ham and cheese, orange juice, toast and walk away for €7 or so for two people.
The WiFi was the absolute worst of our (almost) six weeks so far. Sure it connected, but it took a minute to open up Google, for crap's sake. I could not do a thing in the room or lobby, so we ended up at a great little cafe over near Plaza San Salvadore that had a fast WiFi connection, good food and wine. This WiFi thing is a big hassle, in my opinion.
While the room was clean and large, it was kind of "bare bones" if you know what I mean. Like, there was no distinguishing, cute feature to it, nothing to make it memorable. This is a personal thing I guess.
So, for these three reasons I cannot give them a five of five.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had booked a nearby hotel but as they had to close for renovations they booked me into the nearby Murillo Hotel. It is very difficult to find and although I had booked a double room I arrived alone. Checked in and found that as I was alone I had been put into a single room. I queried at reception and was told that if I really wanted I could be moved to a double room or she would talk to manager about a discount next day. I checked again next day and receptionist said she knew nothing about it but would talk to colleague (and I pointed out that online single rooms were being advertised for 11 euro less). She then advised me that I had been told I could move to a double room and manager not inclined to discount but said that breakfast that day need not be paid for. Not the money so much as principle. As it was on first night airconditioning did not work and I had to change rooms anyway - to another single room. Wish I had held my ground first night. Rooms small and no bar fridge. Best thing about hotel was the little bar/restaurant opposite hotel. Would not stay there again when many other hotels nearby. First impressions do count.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We went here for 3days and were welcomed by a Friendly lady. The rooms were nice, perfect for a short stay. We had a small balcony. When we arrived we got a card for a welcome drink. The wifi didnt work during one day due to some problems but the staff helped me and printed documents for me that i needed for the flight back. Its in the center of sevilla close to everything. I would definately come back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank id1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We have chosen this hotel because of its central location very close to The Cathedral. We came by bus from Ronda, we took the tram till the Cathedral and started to look for the hotel. It is not very easy to find ir, as Barrio Santa Cruz are small streets, but with some question "?Donde esta el Hotel?" we finally found it. The hotel is really only 5 min walk from The Cathedral if you know which street to take :-) The hotel is very nice, very clean and really looks much higher quality than only 2** rated. At the reception we got a voucher for wellcone drink at the terrace viewing on the beautiful view on the Cathedral. This was a nice gift from the hotel. The room was nice, clean and quiet, the breakfast perfect. There is a good restaurant just in front of the entrance door to the hotel. I recommend this hotel for a city stay in Sevilla.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndySo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,181 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#36 of 175 in Seville
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Monte Triana Hotel
#15 of 175 in Seville
1,444 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 175 in Seville
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Property: Hotel Murillo
Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Murillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing