We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a little far” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patio de la Cartuja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Patio de la Cartuja
Ranked #105 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice but a little far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

Nice hotel with a big bed room and living room, nice sized kitchen. Supplied us with a play pen for my daughter which was nice. Across from a plaza but not a lot of nice restaurants near by. You have to take a cab or bus to go to the historic district since it is far to walk (for us it was). Staff was very nice. There is no place to park outside of the hotel, not even to unload your baggage so my husband had to drive around and around while i checked in. Parking was in basement and 13 euros which is not bad but it was very hard to get in the little garage door and it is very dark down there. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennir70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    89
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
58
74
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

Stayed at Patio de la Cartuja in early November, and was pleasantly surprised by the size. It is basically a one bedroom apartment with a comfy living room, kitchenette and good sized bathroom, overlooking a pretty courtyard in the middle. (it looks exactly like the pictures!) Situated in a peaceful and quiet location, there are various local eateries offering good food at very reasonable prices. We paid about 50 Eur/nite and consider it great value.

One thing to note though is that the hotel (it's a 2 min walk from Alameda De Hercules) is located in a residential area and further away from the major sights. (Abt 15 mins walk to El Centro, 20 mins to the Cathedral). But as taxis were pretty cheap, we took it quite abit to get around. (e.g. it costs ard 4Eur to get to Avenida de La Constitucion).

  • Liked — Size, peaceful location
  • Disliked — distance from main area
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

This is a great apart hotel, the rooms all overlook a courtyard which is really beautiful and covered in flowering geraniums, it is also well shaded so it is comfortable in the summer heat. There is also a roof terrace for sunbathing.

The rooms all have their own little kitchenettes with fridge and stove so you can bring your own tea etc.

We didn't bother with the hotel breakfast since there is a lovely cafe just across the 'square' called 'Badulaque' which did great breakfasts at a fraction of the hotel price.

On the square/park area at the end of the hotel road there are several cafes and tapas bars, we'd especially recommed Casa Paco- their tapas were wonderful, you need to get their early though (early by spanish standards is anything before 9pm!)otherwise there are queues for the tables. Sign of how good the tapas are.

It is a bit of a stroll into the centre (15 minutes maybe) but the bonus is that where the hotel is it is nice and quiet, and the surrounding bars are quite 'local' and so cheaper.

  • Liked — Courtyard with the flowers and terrace is beautiful
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2007

Stayed for four nights in early Feb. , 2007. Had originally booked an apartment further down Gran Poder, but it turned out to be too claustrofobic for us. Found Patio by accident and it was terrific. Had corner room on 2nd floor ( #111 ), lots of balconettes, windows and light . Don''t let the noise comments bother you. All of Seville is under construction, and the Alameda de Hercules is no exception, so traffic is routed past the hotel temporarily . Even so, had no problems getting into the basement car park. Bar acrosss the street is noisy, but entertaining, and area is very safe, since Police station is 20 metre's away.Kitchen's need more equiptment for meal prep , and an outside fan vent would be nice, but a good choice for wine and snacks. Couldn't find an internet cafe anywhere nearby, strange since a University is close by , so WiFi would be a nice addition. Definitely worth considering for a return visit.

  • Liked — location, cost and helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — difficult to get to with a car due to local construction
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duke858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2006

Stayed for four nights in this 2 star aparthotel. About 15 minutes from City centre and many intersting sights.Really good value for an airconditioned apartment with very large living area, seperate kitchen (not great equipment, bring a large mug if you do not drink only expresso sized cups of coffe / tea!), bedroom and well equiped bathroom. Cleaned daily, not luxury furniture, but very comfortable bed, helpful staff. Nice patio courtyard in centre of building. We had 111 which was on the corner of the building ( FIVE balconettes with patio doors, three in lounge!) room 114 would be on the quieter corner of the building but I think the traffic noise was unusual and due to the only problem encountered..... the square is being completely revamped, so traffic was diverted past the hotel instead of going about 100yds away. Still not too noisy and will be great when finished. Recommend the bar at the opposite side of the square for breakfasts (about 3 euros inc coffee), menu de dai (8.5euros) and for outside sitting and good service. The hotel did serve breakfast but there was no procelist or menu so we never got round to trying it.. look for the terrace on the second floor if you want to sit outside...we found it the last day! The bus tour was a bit of a disappointment, dont bother with getting out at the Isle Magica if in September... all looked closed for the duration. However, the Plaza Espania is a must especially at night. The bus tour did include an excellent walking tour, but ask the driver as they did not promote it. We got good value as we did the tour on the bus, visited Plaza espania, then took the bus back to the stop nearest hotel. The next day we did the walking tours at 1.30 and 7pm. One tip... if staying at this hotel and planning to catch the Red tour bus, cross the river and the bus stop is on the left on the square immediately off the bridge. It is not marked...just a concrete block! the buses seem to come every 30 minutes, 11.45 was the one we caught.
A good break and very reasonable, £132 for hotel, 22 euros taxi from airport, cheap flights...total cost less than our last visit to london!

  • Liked — Space and position
  • Disliked — kitchen crockery! lack of
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank R.cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2005

It is with great interest that I have read the previous reviews extolling the quiet rooms in this establishment.

Unfortunately during our stay we experienced the opposite effect of “quiet” and in our first night received about 2 hours sleep. We were given what was possibly the worst apartment in the place – it was on the main street, which although very quiet in the day time was transformed into a bustling and very noisy main road in the evening. The café across the road became a lively meeting place for all the neighbourhood and roar of motorbikes, barking dogs and cars interrupted what became a very long sleepless night. The noise continued to around 3am in the morning if not longer – I lost track of time as I was sitting in a comatose zombie position – in fact the noise was so bad that I resolved to change hotels first thing in the morning and began calling alternate hotels at 11pm. The following morning I went down to reception and was given another apartment which was newer and in the quiet part of the establishment. I am not sure why we where not given this to begin with!

I had also requested a room that slept 2 people, with 2 single beds. The bedroom in our apartment had 2 single beds pushed together with no room to separate. I was counting on the fold out sofa – however, I was informed that this was broken (!). My friend and I were forced to drag of the mattresses into the living room to create another “bedroom”. But it was of no avail in the end due to lack of sleep.

Other negatives: we were given keys that did not open the room doors, noisy apartment number 1 had dangerous looking wires hanging out of electrical sockets, we had booked a tour through the hotel to sightsee in Seville but the tour operator did not have our names on his list, the area the hotel is in is not that central to the rest of Seville and slightly dodgy, we saw a very large cockroach in the breakfast room and we were never offered a refund for the first sleepless night.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2005

We have stayed here twice now and highly recommend it. It is in a quiet part of town, although since our first visit the area has been cleaned up and is becoming more lively. The rooms are very quiet as they all face the interior patio, which is lovely to sit in. Good value for a mini apartment too.

Only about a 10-15 minute walk from the centre, but there are enough bars and restaurants to eat in nearby that you do not have to go too far at night.

Reasonably easy to find if you approach from the main road running along the river (otherwise I can imagine it's a nightmare!).

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kwaker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Sacristia de Santa Ana
Sacristia de Santa Ana
#72 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Romana Hotel Boutique
#94 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Hotel Eurostars Regina
#93 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Exe Isla Cartuja
#135 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patio de la Cartuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patio de la Cartuja

Property: Patio de la Cartuja
Address: Calle Lumbreras 8-10, 41002 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Patio de la Cartuja 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patio de la Cartuja residence is located at the very heart of Seville, where the popular, lively Macarena and San Vicente areas meet. The comfortable, roomy apartments are set around an interior patio with ochre-coloured walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Patio de la Cartuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Patio De La Cartuja Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing