We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Goya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Goya
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is a short walk from the Cathedral and the Alcazar, and in the heart of the eating area with dozens of tapas bars and restaurants at its doorstep. The room was a good size and the bathroom adequate. Our downstairs room was next to the laundry and the public sitting area and it was noisy. We could also hear noise from the room directly upstairs, so it wold be a good idea to request a room upstairs. If you need easy Internet access you should note it was patchy but the staff were very concerned to fix this where they could. Since then I have discovered Internet access seems to be intermittent pretty much everywhere.

It's also worth noting there is no safe but the rooms appear to be secure with external bars on the windows. We didn't ask whether the hotel office had a safe to store valuables and that may be an option.

It is worth checking the room rate. It varies by up to 20 euro for Saturdays and Sundays. We didn't appreciate his when we decided to stay an extra night, a Sunday, and it wasn't brought to our attention. However when we queried the bill, we were given a 10 euro discount so have no complaint about the staff.

Room Tip: Downstairs room is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Beautifully located and well appointed, our room had a cute little balcony looking on to the street that was quiet during the day and came alive every evening with bars and cafes. It seemed the favourite part of town for locals to hang after a work day and just down the street was Giralda tower. Orange trees line the web of tiny lanes and streets in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: get one with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sideyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Goya S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you very much for giving your opinion.
We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and its service.
We hope that some other time we revisit to enjoy Seville.

Regards

Fernando Soriano
fernando@hotelgoyasevilla.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in May 2013, and were very impressed by the décor and room were in was beautifully modernised and everything very tasteful done.

There is no restaurant or eating or drinking facilities at all, and that was something of a drawback, but we did know this in advance that there was no restaurant. We had hoped that there might be a bar or coffee lounge, or at least somewhere to make a coffee.

There are a few places to go and eat breakfast, and the one we selected was very good, and only a five minutes walk away. Great on a fine day, but no so good if it rains.

It is situated on the edge of the old City and in easy walking distance of all the sites. But you have to battle your way past all the pavement café tables that really get in the way sometimes. Hopeless if you have a pram or pushchair, and a disabled chap in a wheelchair had awful problems. But that applies wherever you go in this part of the Old City.

The hotel was quiet and even though we had a great room on the front, the noise from the road was cut out completely when the windows and shutters were closed.

A great place to stay as long as you are prepared to go out for everything you want. And I only marked the star rating down because there was nowhere to get a drink.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerM9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Goya S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear customer:

We thank you for giving your opinion of the Hotel. Your feedback is valuable and helps us a lot.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit in the city and the hotel.
we always have open doors for you.
We hope you visit us again.
Regards

Fernando Soriano
Dpto. Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The location couldn't really get much better for a tourist in Sevilla. It is right next to la Catedral as well as Barrio Santa Cruz. Right down the street are countless tapas places. This is really the place you want to be as a tourist here as it is within walking distance of just about everything in the city.

As far as the hotel goes, the staff was very friendly. The room was very simple and plain. Granted, I purchased the cheapest room, but as such I can't really give this more than a 3/5 as this hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel.

Overall, Hotel Goya certainly provides the ideal location for tourists, but don't get your expectations up for anything more than a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldThrashburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Goya S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear customer:

We thank you for giving your opinion of the Hotel. Your feedback is valuable and helps us a lot.
We hope you visit us again.
Regards

Fernando Soriano
Dpto. Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Goya is well located in the old city and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. It seemed relatively expensive for what was provided relative to similar hotels elsewhere in Spain. They don't offer breakfast or meals.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Goya S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Appreciate you taking your time to share your comments with us. We're glad you enjoyed our hotel for its cleanliness and location. In May, in Sevilla, is high season and why we have high prices. But usually we have very competitive prices.
We continue to visit us.
I remind you that we are at your disposal.

I send kind regards

Fernando Soriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We showed up and Goya apparently did not read our online reservation correctly and reserved only one room. We needed two. No problem! Within minutes, the manager offered to give us two double rooms for a discount. Our rooms were clean, bright, and comfortable. Best yet, they were super reasonably priced. 95 euros for two double rooms in the heart of the city. A block from the hotel is the Jewish quarter with its fantastic maze like streets. Apparently, Bizet had Carmen runs through one of these paths trying to escape the pursuing soldiers! Flamenco at Gallo was remarkable. Unbeknownst to me, Goya makes reservations for guests. I went down to Gallo instead.

Stay here. Save your cash and go for some great tapas at Dos de Mayo.

Room Tip: Make sure you request rooms other than the one on the ground floor. Their windows face the lobby whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldRunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Goya S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thanks for visiting. I'm glad you have been comfortable in the Hotel Goya.
Thank you for your opinion. And we want you to come back another day.
Warm regards.

Fernando Soriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Hotel Goya was a perfect base for our Sevilla trip and I only have positive things to say about our experience there.

The location is ideal, just down the street from the cathedral, palace and many other sites. We loved the lively neighborhood and that we were able to walk straight out of the hotel onto a street filled with bars and restaurants. Very easy to go out and sample endless places, then be able to return within 5 minutes!

Fernando and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful in our planning, giving advice also for locations in Spain other than Sevilla.

The room was spotless and very spacious, with a large bathroom and great shower. You can control your own heat, which was great as we were there at the beginning of February and it was chilly outside at night. We were in a room which faced the street, but was one floor off the ground, and had no problems with noise.

Overall, excellent value and a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. We only wish we could have stayed for longer! Highly recommended and we will certainly stay there again when we return to Sevilla.

Room Tip: We asked for a room off the ground floor based on others' recommendations, and were glad we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccaa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Goya S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Customer,

I appreciate the time you have dedicated to voice your opinion, which to me is invaluable and allows us to improve, to give you the best service.
I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to you come back again for more fun.
I remind you that we are at your disposal.

I send you a Best regards

Fernando Soriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#38 of 177 in Seville
743 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Simon Hotel
Simon Hotel
#47 of 177 in Seville
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#43 of 177 in Seville
1,961 reviews
Hotel Puerta de Sevilla
#79 of 177 in Seville
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goya

Address: Calle Mateos Gago 31, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Seville
#23 Family Hotel in Seville
#31 Business Hotel in Seville
#50 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £43 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Goya 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Santa Cruz, the hotel is located only a few meters from the Cathedral and the beautiful gardens of the Real Alcazar.The Hotel Goya is a family-run establishment located in a typical Andalusian architecture building. It has a stylish interior and features a traditional tiled floor. The modern rooms all have free Wi-Fi.The hotel's location is perfect for exploring the historic center of the Andalusian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Goya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Goya Seville
Hostal Goya Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing