We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I give it 6 stars? Or even 7?! (Perfect for kids, too!)”
Review of Hotel Goya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Goya
Ranked #58 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. It was one of the best experiences we have ever had.

I emailed the hotel for directions a few days before our stay, and they emailed me back promptly with various suggestions. They also confirmed they would have a crib or bed available for our (almost) 3-year-old daughter.

We arrived around 11 pm and were greeted warmly. We were in Room 130--on the third floor, with lots privacy. The room opens out to a busy street with a busy bar below, but when we closed the windows it was pretty quiet. If you are sensitive to noise and need the windows open then Room 130 is not for you. It was fine for us. And it was especially good one evening during Holy Week when we could watch the procession down the street from our balcony.

The next morning, the staff asked if the bed for our daughter was ok and expressed genuine concern for our happiness. I said that a crib/pack-and-play might be better. They promptly gave us one. The next day they even removed the extra bed in the room so we would have more space.

I then asked about options for going to Tarifa, as we wanted to visit Tangier for the day. (As a side note, it's possible to do so, but you need to rent a car the night before, wake up around 5:30 to make the 2 hour 15 minute drive, and then take the 9 am boat.) The manager offered to call a rental car company for us to find out the details. As we did not return to the hotel until later that evening, the staff on duty called him at his home so that he could relay the information to us. How's that for amazing service!

They were great for us, and for our daughter, even giving her a little present when we left.

The location is also perfect--about 2 blocks from the Cathedral, walking distance to everything. Again, if noise is an issue, that's a slight problem in Room 130, but I'm sure there are rooms that are not right on the street.

This was one of the best experiences I have had a hotel. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay in Sevilla!

Room Tip: Room 130 is great as it is the only room up the staircase, but it can be noisy at night as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

friendly and helpful staff, nice quiet room, central location very useful. Great, basic hotel and good value for money. Thick window glazing and shutters were a welcome facility. - - - - **************

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Yvette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Goya for 5 nights. I previously lived in Sevilla years ago and knew it would be worthwhile to stay in the Barrio Santa Cruz. The accommodations were quite comfortable (even by American standards).

The front desk staff was always helpful and polite when whenever we had a request. You will be 3 minutes walk from the Cathedral of Seville, 10 minutes walk from Plaza Nueva, 20 minutes walk from Triana. The tapas bar next door has outstanding tortilla espanola. Avoid the tapas bars closer to the Cathedral, except for Bodega Santa Cruz. It's the real deal.

There is no better base for exploring the city than from this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and though we are light sleepers we experienced no problems in being awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CercaSevillano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel, really clean. The room was large and serviced daily and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Location wise you can't get much better - 2 mins walk to the Cathedral and central to everything, yet very quiet. In general the hotel is excellent value for money and I would stay here again anytime and recommend it to the cushiest of traveller!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank marvymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Goya S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Customer

First, we thank you for giving us your opinion.
For us has been nice to have you in our Hotel. And we thank you have a very good opinion.

And we wish we back to visit again.

Regards

Fernando Soriano
Dpto. Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great value! This hotel is at the top location, just a couple minutes walk from the cathedral. The room was much larger and nicer than we could expect for the price. Rooms are very clean. The only negative is that bathroom is a bit cold during the winter season.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Goya S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Customer

First, we thank you for giving us your opinion.
For us has been nice to have you in our Hotel. And we thank you have a very good opinion.

Indeed, we are very central and the tapas bars we are very good with good prices.

In Winter in Sevilla is very humid. Although the bathroom was a bit cold, the rooms are hot because they have heating


And we wish we back to visit again.

Regards

Fernando Soriano
Dpto. Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just behind the lively squares that surround the cathedral and right on the entry of the lively santa cruz neighbourhood . A great location for a stay in Sevilla. Do not expect great luxury or things like a sauna or gym. Only a basic room with a good bed, a bath and in some cases a balcony.
The room is very clean and the staff friendly. You don't have to search for a place to drink and eat because popular and good tapas-bar is right next to the Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sejoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel in the spring of 2013 and were very happy with our choice. The location is really excellent , the rooms are fine, very good value for money and the staff very helpful.

We would certainly stay there again if and when we go back to Seville.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esentziak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#43 of 178 in Seville
765 reviews
Hotel un Patio en Santa Cruz
#112 of 178 in Seville
325 reviews
Hotel Puerta de Sevilla
#83 of 178 in Seville
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#44 of 178 in Seville
2,060 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goya

Address: Calle Mateos Gago 31, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Seville
#50 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £38 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Goya 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Santa Cruz, the hotel is located only a few meters from the Cathedral and the beautiful gardens of the Real Alcazar.The Hotel Goya is a family-run establishment located in a typical Andalusian architecture building. It has a stylish interior and features a traditional tiled floor. The modern rooms all have free Wi-Fi.The hotel's location is perfect for exploring the historic center of the Andalusian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Goya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Goya Seville
Hostal Goya Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing