We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills accommodation close to the heart of Seville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Goya
Ranked #38 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Solo Aussie in Europe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No frills accommodation close to the heart of Seville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Hotel Goya is a fairly standard budget hotel in the middle of Seville. Its location - just around the corner from the Cathedral in central Seville is excellent. The hotel doesn't pretend to be a fancy establshment, with lots of bells and whistles. It provides exactly what it promises, and clean, quiet room in a basic hotel. There is no breakfast or other meals provided, but the staff are friendly and informative.

Like most budget hotels in Spain - beware if you are over six feet in height, because the beds have not been designed with you in mind.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 199322392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    199
    67
    9
    11
See reviews for
76
148
75
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

We chose this place after reading the Frommer's review and for its location a few blocks from the Cathedral and Alcazar as we had very limited time in Seville at the end of a two week trip to Andalucia. The location is excellent with many etaing places around and to walk to most attractions.

However, even by European/Spanish B&B/hostal standards, the double room we had was very small with the bed pushed against one wall and five to six feet on the other side between the bed and the bathroom wall with a bedside table there and 3 feet in front of the bed with a low hanging TV in one corner and a small table in this 3 feet. No other furniture in the room. Only one person can stand in the room at a time and the other person has to be on the bed.

If you need a budget place for a quick visit to Seville, this is an excellent hostal--we do not look for luxury or comfort in our accommodation when travelling but even by our accommodating standards, this room was small.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsaldanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

This was a VERY clean hotel. It is a budget hotel so do not expect amenities such as coffee in your room or even in the hotel. However, the price was great. I booked on line asking for a "quad" room and and a "triple" room. Our group had 3 adults and 4 children under the age of 5. We did note we thought we would arrive around noon. However, we were late because we could not find the hotel. We finally asked a taxi driver to take us there and we followed in our car. Once we arrived they acted surprised we needed a quad room. I showed him my confirmation. Then he stated well you were not here at noon. So I am not sure of their check in policies in regards to time.

It is family owned and they were very accommodating in trying to ensure we had enough beds. The location was perfect with many tapas bars and souvenir shops right outside the door. It looked newly renovated, not sure. The beds are twins and pushed together to make a full bed. The mattresses are like a rock. But exceptionally clean, very very nice people, and right in the center of Seville near the cathedral. I would recommend if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

Just a stone's throw from the Cathedral, right in the heart of the Old town, this hotel was a good place to stay. With a room at the back of the hotel, it was quiet and comfortable and decent value for money.

My only negative experience was with the night porter, who was extremely rude to me one night. He didn't realise I was a guest at the hotel and was pretty rude when he thought I'd just walked in off the street. Even after identifying myself, he didn't apologise for the rudeness. I alerted the manager the next morning. Instead of receiving an apology for being shouted at by staff, the next time I met the night porter he made a big show of explaining why he felt he had to shout and be rude. Unnecessary and marred what would otherwise have been a good experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seagreen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

This hotel is close to all the main sights and great restaurants. The rooms are light and airy and clean if not particularly spacious. The staff are courteous but no more which is par for the Spanish people. The common areas are beautifally maintained. Great value for money!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mama004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midpines, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

Near the cathedral, in a nice part of town. Nothing fancy, but clean and accommodating. Would return.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LEELEE114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

Surprised to read some bad reviews but our experience during a recent weekend in Seville was good. Apart from the emailed rate being quoted as 65euro for a double, the web page subsequently stating 55euro (the hotel honoured the web rate) everything else was fine and certainly good value for money.The location is great, right near the Catedral and within a short walk of plenty of restaurants and bars. The room was modern and clean albeit a touch small. Bathroom was clean with a good powerful shower. Overall very good value if you want a no frills, clean room right in the centre of this lovely city

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markysharky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#44 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
#23 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Zaida
Hotel Zaida
#20 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Simon Hotel
Simon Hotel
#46 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#32 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goya

Property: Hotel Goya
Address: Calle Mateos Gago 31, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Seville
#23 Family Hotel in Seville
#31 Business Hotel in Seville
#50 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Goya 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Santa Cruz, the hotel is located only a few meters from the Cathedral and the beautiful gardens of the Real Alcazar.The Hotel Goya is a family-run establishment located in a typical Andalusian architecture building. It has a stylish interior and features a traditional tiled floor. The modern rooms all have free Wi-Fi.The hotel's location is perfect for exploring the historic center of the Andalusian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Goya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Goya Seville
Hostal Goya Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing