We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostal Lis is the WORST in Seville”
Review of Hostal Lis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Lis
Ranked #166 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Hostal Lis is a pathetic excuse for a hotel. It was filthy, with stains on the bedsheets, floors, ceilings and shower curtain. The room I was given had a room with rumpled sheets as though someone had just slept in it. The doors do not lock. The lighting is dim - something out of a horror film. There are no glass panes in the windows - just a hole in the wall - so that you hear everything from the street below and the cold night air can't be shut out. To add insult to injury, the staff was phenomenally surly, rude, gave their country a bad name. Do NOT stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank voyageuse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2007

Having read the positive reviews of this hostal, we booked two nights. What a mistake. Noisy location on a very busy street but good central location is probably the only positive thing I can say about this tourist trap. The staff were rude, not able to offer the slightest assistance, and made a snide remark when we complained that there was no hotwater in our room. Very expensive, considering the cramped and musty rooms, which need a very thorough clean and airing out. Would not reccomend to anyone, unless they halved their rates and then I would reccomend it too backpackers.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank marrenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
25
Reviewed 1 June 2006

Pored over the reviews here, but found many of my choices were fully booked 3 weeks in advance. Eventually emailed Hostal Lis, who emailed back confirmation next day.

THE HOSTAL
We stayed in Room F - which is on the top (2nd floor) up some steep stairs. It was a simple but attractive and very clean room, with a double bed, wardrobe, desk, 2 chairs, electric fan, 1 outside and one interior window and an ensuite shower/toilet/sink. Towels, soap and shampoo were provided. I thought this was great value for 48 Euros per night - simple but clean and attractive. They used local coloured tiles on the walls, which was nicer than plain. I preferred this over being downstairs as it was quieter and more private. The staff were friendly and helpful, and spoke a bit of English. They do not accept credit cards, so my card details were taken to reserve the booking, and then we paid cash on departure.


THE AREA
The surroundings were not especially nice, as you enter the hotel from a dingy alleyway that always smelt a bit... but that really didn't matter. The area felt residential and safe, there were other tourists and locals around. The square behind the hotel is a bus terminus, and taxi rank - and it was about a 30 minute walk into the centre of the city. There are local amenities such as cafes, bars, cashpoint, supermarket, pharmacy within a few minutes walk - although they are more 'local and servicable' than destinations. When we visited there were building works, they are constructing a metro in the city, so it was quite dusty and there seemed to be explosions going on at times...! But I live in inner London, so it was normal for me, and they were during the daytime anyway. Overall I thought this was a reasonable location, and it cost about 1 Euro on the bus or 5 Euros in a cab into the centre of the city.

THE CITY
My impressions were that the city is a mixture of the beautiful, historical centre and the rather ugly and run down suburbs. The Alcazar was great and we spent a good two hours there exploring the gardens. Would have stayed longer if it had been sunny. We went to the touristy but fun Flamenco show at the Andaluz Palace - I'd like to know where other people rate for Flamenco? I missed out on the Arab Baths - they looked fantastic, but we hadn't pre-booked. You go for one and a half hours in sessions that are at two hour intervals, and can have treatments like Choco-therapy! The food and bars were great, although I didn't manage to find any live music places - maybe they were hidden away in the side streets - then again I was there monday, tuesday, wednesday nights when the nightlife was quieter.

I really reccomend Seville as a place to visit, overall.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2005

I stayed here for half a day last month in Seville since it was in Lonely Plant and their website looked decent and it was cheap. And it may be decent as well. The problem was the owners put me in a single room on the ground floor right next to the reception area. Due to the flimsy door you can hear the TV and conversations from the reception area as if they were right next to your bed. The room was also dank and smelled like urine. I tried to bear it, but I couldn't so I got the heck out and went back to Hostal Alameda, which is further but far better in my opinion.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fiveupstove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bilbao
13
Reviewed 18 May 2005

We have visited Seville in February 2005. We have reserved a room in the Hostal Lis recommended by some friends that were there the last summer. There is free internet access, there is small but useful solarium. Every day they fixed us the bed and they changed us the towels. All that with a cheap price. People of the reception are kind, responding with a lot of interest to our questions. We recommend this central hostal to all people searching a nice stay en Sevile.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
miami
12
Reviewed 8 May 2005

This it is an interesting hostel because this located very "centricamente" (in the center), counts on diverse services as access to Internet and solarium and in addition people is very warm and friendly. I was in Easter week in Seville and the personnel gave to information on Seville and sites me that to visit. Good place, good price and good services. I recommend it. I made my reservation in (---)

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leicester, UK
26
Reviewed 30 January 2005

After several wonderful trips to Spain this was our first online booking, after which we decided to never skimp on accom again. Hostal Lis is a traditional Andalucian tiled affair, it looked lovely at first glance, but...
Room was small, unheated (all our clothing was wet after a torrential downpore, it was never going to dry here), dust balls under bed and everything was crawling with ants. We fled to a nearby bar for a beer and a bit of a cry, decided to stick with it, but noise from building work from 8am onwards pushed us over the edge. Chap on reception was helpful enough but after booking out and moving to much better hostal near cathedral, promises of meeting with owner to discuss refund never materialised. At the end of the week after insisting on filling out complaints form we eventually were refunded cost minus one night, which to be fair we were reasonably happy with.

In conclusion: Do not make the same mistake we made and assume that this hostal is of a similar quality to the recommended Hostal Lis II.

  • Stayed: March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
4.6 mi away
Nuestra Senora de Valme
Nuestra Senora de Valme
#150 of 178 in Seville
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#134 of 178 in Seville
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le petit Paris
Le petit Paris
#105 of 178 in Seville
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casona de San Andres Hotel
Casona de San Andres Hotel
#123 of 178 in Seville
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Sevilla Aeropuerto
3.6 mi away
Hotel San Pablo Sevilla
Hotel San Pablo Sevilla
#69 of 178 in Seville
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lis

Address: Calle Escarpin No 10 | Plaza de la Encarnacion, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Price Range: £33 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Lis 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Lis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Lis Seville
Hostal Lis Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing