We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming historic hostel”
Review of Hostal Lis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Lis
Ranked #163 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 25 October 2009

this is a restored 200 year old home. they have their own website just google it. lots of charm with tilework. all the rooms face the courtyard which can be quite noisy at night. there was a large group staying when i was there and they were very noise every night when they came back having a sing a long and banging doors. the rooms are very nice, no tv though but they have ceiling fans to keep the rooms cool. free internet in the reception area. walking distance to all the major sights and 15 min walk to the main train station. bit of a stench from the drains in the shower. also a rooftop patio

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Lis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2008

Our stay was soo bad that it was funny. Part of this was likely bad luck, but I wouldn't want to test this theory (we are never going back). We planned to stay a few nights, but moved out after only a few hours.

The Bad:
1. Entrance was inaccessible by cab (so we were dropped with luggage on a busy street and directed into a dark ally)
2. Once we found the entrance it was perfumed by day old urine (Hostal Pis?)
3. Our room was right next to the sweet smelling entrance, which was also right off the reception area (this added great sounds of people coming and going all night and the TV sounds from the reception to the experience)
4. There were smashed mosquitos on the walls with blood smears from their last meals
5. The Sheet check revealed hair in the first bed: there were three beds and the first one we checked was either slept in or their cleaning staff was having a bad hair day
6. Room smelled like an ashtray, when the bathroom door was closed
7. Room smelled like sewer, when the bathroom door was open
8. Floors were dirty (cirgarette but, wrapper, and lighter from previous tenants was on floor next to window).
9. Shower curtains were moldy
10. It was cold - window shutters had big gaps in them and there wasn't any glass
11. It felt like someone was trying to asphyxiate in the morning (at ~8AM the painters started outside our window and we woke up to paint thiner fumes and scrapping sounds)
12. We had itchy bites in strange places the day after (it was either psychosomatic or that place has bed bugs)
13. Aware of our discomfort they didn't offer a discount or a free stay (we didn't push it)

The good:
1. There was free wireless that made it easy to find another place to go: found a place on hotels.com for the same price a few blocks away -- b/c it was off season they gave us a the penthouse suite and let us check in before noon (Best Western Hotel Cervantes)
2. It was so bad that we had a really good laugh

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank crb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

We had a great time at Hostal Lis. An atmospheric place full of tiling and plants. The room was clean and the service pleasant. Hostal Lis is located on a quiet alley off the tree lined Plaza Cristo de Burgos, and close to the Plaza Alfalfa tapas and nightlife

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AdventureFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

Cheap..clean and very traditional..my girlfirend and me were in a room in march.. the people and services (wifi) were very useful..i like their "azulejos".. very interesting..this is and ancient house although have many modern services (wifi..vending machines air conditioning solarium) i like it.

We will return to seville and Hostal Lis in september.

Giorgio Consigliere

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank giangiorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Hostal Lis is a pathetic excuse for a hotel. It was filthy, with stains on the bedsheets, floors, ceilings and shower curtain. The room I was given had a room with rumpled sheets as though someone had just slept in it. The doors do not lock. The lighting is dim - something out of a horror film. There are no glass panes in the windows - just a hole in the wall - so that you hear everything from the street below and the cold night air can't be shut out. To add insult to injury, the staff was phenomenally surly, rude, gave their country a bad name. Do NOT stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank voyageuse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

Having read the positive reviews of this hostal, we booked two nights. What a mistake. Noisy location on a very busy street but good central location is probably the only positive thing I can say about this tourist trap. The staff were rude, not able to offer the slightest assistance, and made a snide remark when we complained that there was no hotwater in our room. Very expensive, considering the cramped and musty rooms, which need a very thorough clean and airing out. Would not reccomend to anyone, unless they halved their rates and then I would reccomend it too backpackers.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank marrenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
25
Reviewed 1 June 2006

Pored over the reviews here, but found many of my choices were fully booked 3 weeks in advance. Eventually emailed Hostal Lis, who emailed back confirmation next day.

THE HOSTAL
We stayed in Room F - which is on the top (2nd floor) up some steep stairs. It was a simple but attractive and very clean room, with a double bed, wardrobe, desk, 2 chairs, electric fan, 1 outside and one interior window and an ensuite shower/toilet/sink. Towels, soap and shampoo were provided. I thought this was great value for 48 Euros per night - simple but clean and attractive. They used local coloured tiles on the walls, which was nicer than plain. I preferred this over being downstairs as it was quieter and more private. The staff were friendly and helpful, and spoke a bit of English. They do not accept credit cards, so my card details were taken to reserve the booking, and then we paid cash on departure.


THE AREA
The surroundings were not especially nice, as you enter the hotel from a dingy alleyway that always smelt a bit... but that really didn't matter. The area felt residential and safe, there were other tourists and locals around. The square behind the hotel is a bus terminus, and taxi rank - and it was about a 30 minute walk into the centre of the city. There are local amenities such as cafes, bars, cashpoint, supermarket, pharmacy within a few minutes walk - although they are more 'local and servicable' than destinations. When we visited there were building works, they are constructing a metro in the city, so it was quite dusty and there seemed to be explosions going on at times...! But I live in inner London, so it was normal for me, and they were during the daytime anyway. Overall I thought this was a reasonable location, and it cost about 1 Euro on the bus or 5 Euros in a cab into the centre of the city.

THE CITY
My impressions were that the city is a mixture of the beautiful, historical centre and the rather ugly and run down suburbs. The Alcazar was great and we spent a good two hours there exploring the gardens. Would have stayed longer if it had been sunny. We went to the touristy but fun Flamenco show at the Andaluz Palace - I'd like to know where other people rate for Flamenco? I missed out on the Arab Baths - they looked fantastic, but we hadn't pre-booked. You go for one and a half hours in sessions that are at two hour intervals, and can have treatments like Choco-therapy! The food and bars were great, although I didn't manage to find any live music places - maybe they were hidden away in the side streets - then again I was there monday, tuesday, wednesday nights when the nightlife was quieter.

I really reccomend Seville as a place to visit, overall.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#125 of 177 in Seville
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Sierpes
Hostal Sierpes
#143 of 177 in Seville
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Santa Catalina
Hostal Santa Catalina
#130 of 177 in Seville
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro
Hotel Don Pedro
#94 of 177 in Seville
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abril
Hotel Abril
#74 of 177 in Seville
383 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel JM Jardin de la Reina
Hotel JM Jardin de la Reina
#155 of 177 in Seville
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lis

Address: Calle Escarpin No 10 | Plaza de la Encarnacion, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Price Range: £38 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Lis 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Lis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Lis Seville
Hostal Lis Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing