We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location. Great little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
Ranked #22 of 180 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location. Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed for 5 nights end Oct 2013. Took a taxi from the airport which took about 25 mins and to be recommended as the hotel is down a small lane and tricky with buses. Cost was about €28 each way and seems standard cost.
The hotel is cute! As mentioned, traditional open area now covered to make an entrance vestibule with rooms off. It was pretty full when we stayed but still very quiet at night. We were on 2nd floor and the stairs are steep but there is a lift available. The room was very comfortable and spacious very clean bathroom...all great and private. The location is excellent..off a small street with 3 great local bars all serving tapas, coffees etc and also a supermarket 3 mins away for water etc. the hotel also has a free coffee bar all day until 10pm with biscuits, teas, coffee etc available constantly which was very useful. Then there's a short walk in to the centre, to the Cathedral etc. the hotel staff were very helpful and polite...really lovely staff. Breakfast was only €6 if booked in advance and very good continental wih cakes, pastries, ham, eggs etc as well as melon, toast etc. good value at that price.
We booked the red tour bus which gave 48 hrs not 24 as advertised and also gave 4 free tours. These are at set times and were mixed. We did 2 with Alex who was great but one with another guide which was not good as we could not understand his English so a bit disappointing. There are other guides with locals who translate into English and we would definitely do these next time. These tours show you areas you would not find alone and they are a real must in my opinion.
Would strongly recommend the bull ring museum at the Bull ring. Not being into bull fighting, I wasn't keen to go but I was persuaded to and it was one of the highlights for me. It was fascinating and gave me an appreciation of this tradition which I had been dismissive of before.
The small streets behind the Cathedral are lovely and we found some excellent bars! If you are there on a Saturday night there's a bar that has great flamenco which unfortunately we missed but others were raving about. We did go to la Casa del Flamenco which was an hour show in. A small venue and to be recommended. The hotel reception gave us directions to this.
All in all a really great trip and we were really chuffed we had chosen this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: We had asked for a quieter room and were put on a corridor on the 2nd floor which was great,. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    334
    74
    12
    3
See reviews for
144
315
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Abanico is on a perfect position within easy walking distance to the main sights of the city. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. The central courtyard is a nice place to sit and browse the net or read if you want a break from walking and don't want to sit in your room. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. The only down side were the thin doors and of course those inconsiderate and ignorant guest who see no problems in talking loudly and making noise early in the morning. In a perfect world......

Room Tip: When stepping out the front door, look left as you are right on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank richmondfontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here in September 2013. The exterior of the hotel doesn't indicate what's inside. There is a large interior courtyard of 3 levels painted sunshine gold with lots of wrought iron and tiled frescos. Beautiful. The rooms are located on short corridors that run from the courtyard. The staff at reception are friendly and helpful and speak good English. Our room was a good size with a walk-through robe and good sized bathroom. The bed was comfy and we slept well. A good breakfast is included in the very reasonable price, the omelette is delicious. The free vino naranja is delicious. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Giralda and Seville Cathedral and about 20 minutes from the Real Alcazar. The main shopping precinct is about 15 minutes away. There are plenty of bodegas and cafes nearby and also a small supermarket. The area feels safe and friendly. We'd easily stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrThrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I recently had 4 nights at this hotel and was delighted. I liked the charm and traditional feel of this relaxing hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was characterful, blissfully quiet and clean. Complimentary tea, coffee and orange wine were available at most times of the day. Despite getting lost every time I ventured into the small back streets, I found that the location was excellent and everywhere was walkable. Yes, the pavement outside is narrow (it's the historic centre of Seville!!) and the road is busy but that means that the average waiting time for a taxi is only about five seconds!! I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi an
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this very charming and well positioned hotel in Seville. The entrance doors lead into a really enchanting courtyard on three levels in which one could sit comfortably. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Our room was at the back,was a good size, air conditioned and very clean as was the bathroom. The decoration was very Spanish and was preferable to a characterless room. The wifi worked and was free as was the safety deposit box. Because of our position we did not experience any noise or disturbance at all. The breakfast, which cost 6€, was excellent with a very wide choice of food on the buffet table. Throughout the day there was free tea and coffee or orange wine. A very nice touch.

The hotel is in a fantastic position, just a very short walk (5 or 6 minutes) into the heart of Seville but far enough away not to experience the noise of bars and street cleaners. There is a busy road close to the front of the hotel and perhaps rooms on that side may experience road noise, so choose a room at the back unless you sleep like the proverbial log.

It is very good value for the position, quality of accommodation and service. I would certainly stay there again and would thoroughly recommend it.

If you arrive by plane get off the airport bus at Santa Juste train station ( first stop) and then take a cab to the hotel(@5€). It is quicker and cheaper than going to the bus station and then taking the C3 bus back to Puerta Carmona and then walking. Pick up a practical city guide at the tourist office at the airport, it is a good clear map.

Also look up feel the city tours (sevillalowcost.es) and take the tours. Some are free, others you pay for but all are very good and wonderful value. The pure flamenco tour is exceptional.

Room Tip: No noise at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Wow - Seville. I will try to stay focused on just talking about the lovely Hotel Abanico!
Booked VERY last minute - like from Seville airport. After a quick trip from the airport, we entered the old town, our taxi zig zagged through narrow cobbled streets and were very pleased to see - we were right in the middle of it all! A close walk to various tourist sites, bars and restaurants - and a GORGEOUS bath house (Aire de Seville).
Our first impression of Hotel Abanico was the massive iron doors leading into a stunning lobby area. The reception greeted us by name and even gave us a "choice" of rooms! We choose a ground floor room with bath. Room 5 i think? It had two beds pushed together - enough room for unpacking, a big enough bathroom with deep tub and separate toilet. Being on the ground floor, you did get some noise from people heading to the breakfast buffet - but who needs sleep in Seville! Also, there is a small courtyard outside bedroom window. There was free tea and coffee available during the day AND some of that beautiful Orange Wine that Seville is famous for - YES FREE WINE TASTING! WiFi was also included. We were made welcome from the first moment we arrived!.
We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra night!
There was a fantastic bar about a minute's walk from the front door. There was no need for taxi's at all! WHEN i return to Seville, I would stay here again!!

Room Tip: Better WiFi reception on lower levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel Abanico has excellent, helpful and courteous staff. Quite central but parking is a 'pig'. Certainly not the place to conveniently drop off people and cases. We found it easier to drag cases from hotel to car park than drive back. Parking is expensive. All day coffee etc ideal; breakfast sufficient. Although I did not see other rooms ours was internal, small and no natural light. Air conditioning appears to be centrally controlled and at the whim of the hotel staff. Still all in all not bad for couple of nights.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 180 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#31 of 180 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#39 of 180 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
H10 Corregidor Boutique Hotel
Las Casas de la Juderia
#32 of 180 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abanico Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abanico Sevilla

Property: Hotel Abanico Sevilla
Address: Calle Aguilas 17, 41003 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#31 Family Hotel in Seville
#34 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abanico Sevilla 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevillian Palace, with an Andalusian Patio and sevillian tiles. Located in the historical and monumental center of Seville and surrounded by the most important monuments, such as Casa de Pilatos, Alcazar, Giralda, Jewish Quarter....Thanks to its perfect location, its innumerable details in patio, hall and walls, this boutique hotel is perfect for a visit to Seville.We invite you to enjoy our Free Coffee-Shop in a cozy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abanico Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seville Abanico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing