We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like renting an elegant town house for the weekend!”
Review of Casa Numero 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Numero 7
Ranked #117 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Staying at Casa Numero 7 was not so much being in a hotel, much more like renting an elegant town house in the heart of Sevilla - with staff to look after you! Like the whole property our bedroon and bathroom were elegant and quiet, great to be away from television and radio for a few days. The things we loved about it: it's central location, the breakfast room(s), breakfast itself (incuding the service), coming back in the afternoon to iced homemade lemonade afer the heat of the Sevilla day, our room serviced twice a day, fresh flask or cold water on returning to our room each evening, a member of staff always appearing to check if we wanted anything every time we returned to the hotel, fresh flowers everywhere. Could do better?: a safe in each room, shampoo in the bathroom. Overall, great place to stay (we had four nights there).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank F00dandwinel0vers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

The hotel is in a great position, the room we had was lovely, although the bed was 2 singles pushed together and sheets etc for singles, and the general spec is good and clean. Falls down badly on service. We were only there for 4 nights, and were relying on the hotel for recommendations and help with bookings. We were recommended to a grossly expensive restaurent which would have been OK but again service was very poor and the food average. Also, booked in to see Flamenco show but when we arrived the hoitel had got the wrong time. The rest of the time the lady was not there. Quite happy with honesty bars but I resent paying 15 euros for a G&T when I have to pour it myself. All in all very bad value - there is a lot better to be had.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank langthorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Casa No 7 is a very elegant little Spanish hotel with excellent staff and a warm and friendly welcome. The hotel is the perfect blend of charm and comfort and a pleasure to return to after a day spent wandering the maze of streets in Seville's old town. We tried some of the restaurants suggested by the hotel and thought they were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AthaCliat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My wife and I have recently returned to our home in Marbella having spent three nights/four days at Casa Numero 7 in Seville which we found to be possibly one of the worst boutique hotels that we have ever stayed in in Europe or indeed elsewhere in the world.
Whilst its location in the old Jewish quarter was very convenient and its recent makeover was also quite interesting the lack of car parking or indeed any alternative parking arrangements was a real trial. Our views were as follows:-
Our accommodation Room Number 1 – On top floor - apparently one of the best rooms in the hotel
• No safe
• No hot water (water tepid at best)
• No dedicated shower only wall mounted hairwash handset run off mixer taps with no pressure
• No mini-bar
• No fridge
• No bathrobes
• No bath gel or shampoo
• Bathroom radiator inoperative
• Once white bath towels now a dirty grey colour
• Sheets not changed during our stay
• Getting our luggage down from the top floor was a real challenge
• Still evidence of recent building works – a large block of solid tiling grout/cement in the base of the toilet pan below the water line (surely someone – if only the cleaner - must of noticed this?) Most unhygienic
Staff
• The Owner – apparently an aristocrat from Jerez – not on site during our stay
• The Manager – Maria – part time but usually absentee
1. Did not manage staff as she was not always on site
2. Never seen at breakfast being the only meal offered
3. Took no interest in our needs or requirements from the time of our arrival up to and including the time of our departure viz luggage, car parking, directions, places to visit, place to eat etc etc.
• The Butler – never on site during our stay
• The waiter/general assistant – William
1. Non English speaking Paraguayan
2. Nice young man but needed training and supervision by Owner, absentee
Manager or missing Butler Breakfast
• Meagre and basic and did not replenish buffet
• Only hot choice – scrambled egg and bacon!
• No alternative fare either hot or cold offered by staff throughout our stay
• One needed to be on time for breakfast or the food would have run out
Other amenities
• Sitting room with honesty bar
1. No fridge or ice
2. No beer
3. No soft drinks
4. Certainly no service from the promised Butler
• Reception
1. Rarely manned between 9.30 a.m. to 1.00 p.m. and 6.00 p.m. to 9.00 p.m. as Manager finds it difficult to get in on time due to her home location and William was of course always serving breakfast from 9.00 a.m. – 11.00 a.m. and was therefore unavailable to carry out this task
2. Evenings were again a complete lottery
Security
• Emergency exits not indicated by staff or evidenced/displayed in our room
• All room keys left in tray in foyer ( a real worry when a safe was not provided in the rooms)
Whilst some £300.00 per night for bed and breakfast is not exorbitant for a city location such as this surely even in one of the more basic international chain/bed factory hotels the management and staff would take some ownership of the client facing processes and indeed have some pride in what they do.
Sadly this was not the case at Casa Numero 7.
Having read Alistair Sawday’s report on this hotel in his book called Alastair Sawday’s Special Places to Stay – Spain – 8th edition published in 2009 page/entry 204 Map 15 he must either have visited on a good day or more likely perhaps the owner knew he was coming.
All such a terrible shame!
Finally I have just been passed Trip Advisor.co.uk reviews – together with the hotel managements totally dismissive responses – for 2011 already 2 major complaints for January [only month yet reported] both of which confirm our experience or worse.
A hotel to be avoided at all costs

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank RichardReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

You won't find any TVs or radios in your room...telephones or any other type of distractions! What you will find with this elegant hotel is the opportunity to rediscover love! Spending Valentine's Day at Casa No. 7 was unequivocally the most memorable Valentine's Day of our lives! The hotel and its staff did everything imaginable to exceed our expectations! Maria was a charming hostess and her staff must not go unmentioned! Attention to details was apparent with everything from an escort for parking our car, turn-down service that included special chocolates, cozy rooms with fabulous bedding and a breakfast presented by a butler that surpassed any waiter I have ever experienced! We have had the pleasure of staying in many similar properties and must say...you should not visit Seville without an overnight stay at Casa No. 7!! You and your loved one will not regret it!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddogmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This was a lovely small hotel and one of the nicer places we stayed in Spain. While it was a small hotel, we found the staff friendly and always willing to help. The rooms are understated and beautiful, and, unlike in a larger hotel, you get to live in the real Seville, with its charming neighborhood alleyways.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We found this hotel to be the most disappointing of our trip. It is staffed by three very young and inexperienced people, only one of whom speaks English (and she was rarely there). Finding it is very difficult, and the carparking is literally 15minutes walk. When we went down for breakfast at 8.30am, we found the kitchen & dining room desserted and in darkness. The office was also abandoned with the door locked. We ended up raiding the fridge and making our own!! Not what one expects in an expensive 4star hotel!! The 'butler' who is about 22, was very rude when we knocked on the door of the office at 8.30am and roused him from his slumber in the adjoining room. There are much nicer and better value places in Seville. Give this one a miss!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonnambula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaseven, Propietario at Casa Numero 7, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2011

We take feedback from our guests very seriouslyand make changes to the way we operate or to our services wherever appropriate. On this occasion we are at a loss as to what we could have done differently to satisfy these criticisms.

1.The nearestcar park to our hotel is 'Cano y Cueto' which is marked in our directions and on our website. This car park is a 5-7 minute walk from our hotel depending on the person's walking pace. Of course it is possible for guests to ignore our recommendations and park in other car parks which are futher away.

2. We always have staff available to help guests in the hotel at all times. Maria(the manageress) is at the hotel from 09.30-14.00 and then again from 17.30-21.00, and whenever needed outside of these hours. Although other staff do not all speak English, they will call Maria if guests need help and they are unable to speak Spanish.

3. Our room guides, provided in all of our rooms, contain breakfast time, check-out time and any other information that we think guests require. Room guides clearly state that breakfast is served from 09.00 and should guests like earlier breakfast we can arrange this for them so long as they let us know the day before. We had no request for an early breakfast from this guest, and feel criticising us for not having breakfast ready for them at 08.30 unreasonable.

4. Like all hotels all over the world our kitchen is a controlled area for health and hygiene reasons, therefore, nobody other than kitchen staff are permitted entry. We find it incomprehensible that a guest would walk into a "Staff Only" kitchen and help themselves to food, exposing other guests to potential contamination and the hotel to possible fines by the authorities for admitting unauthorised persons into a food preparation area. This shows total disregard for hygiene regulations and lack of common courtesy to other guests.

5. We made a reservation for dinner at a nearby restaurant (Maria the Manageress advised them on Restaurants that were opened and made reccomendations). During the check out they made no mention of their breakfast experience. Whilst we appreciate that people are free to make their comments on feedback websites such as TripAdvisor, we are a little puzzled as to why they did not make us aware of their unhappiness whilst they were still at the hotel. we would have at least had an opportunity to discuss their dissatisfaction and possibly make a gesture of good will.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Casa Imperial
#75 of 178 in Seville
429 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Casas de Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 178 in Seville
2,174 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Alminar Hotel
Alminar Hotel
#18 of 178 in Seville
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Numero 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Numero 7

Address: Calle Virgenes 7, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £121 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Numero 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Numero 7 Seville
Casa Numero 7 Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing