We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and cozy hotel in the heart of Seville's Barrio de Santa Cruz” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alcantara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alcantara
Ranked #42 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant and cozy hotel in the heart of Seville's Barrio de Santa Cruz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

I spent one night at Hotel Alcantara in Seville while touring Spain with a friend in July 2010. We booked a Superior Double room with twin beds, and paid 81 Euros. (The room cost 90 Euros, but we got a 10% discount by paying in cash and showing our 2010 Rick Steves' guidebook.)

Hotel Alcantara is a cute hotel located on a tiny, pedestrian-only cobblestone alleyway in the heart of the Barrio de Santa Cruz district of Seville. It is a great location from which to explore Seville: you walk out the front door of the hotel, and you are immediately ensconced in the maze of vibrant stores, restaurants, and bars that surround the Cathedral and Palace. Our room was large, with three huge windows over-looking the hotel's interior courtyard flooding the room with natural light. The room was quiet and the decor very pleasant. The bathroom, however, was fairly "bare bones" and a bit out-dated.

One nice surprise about Hotel Alcantara was that it shares an entrance with one of Seville's best flamenco houses: Casa de la Memoria de Al-Andalus. We bought day-of tickets as soon as we arrived (after reading about it in our trusty Risk Steves' guidebook) and it didn't disappoint. We caught a 10:30 PM showing, and after it was over, we simply walked upstairs to our hotel room! Incredibly convenient.

The staff at the front desk at Hotel Alcantara spoke excellent English, and were exceedingly friendly. Overall, I would certainly recommend this fine hotel to people visiting Seville. However, we did have a bad experience with the hotel staff checking out. We had to catch an early-morning train, so had to check out at around 6:30 AM and catch a cab to the train station. We had asked the night before and they assured us that it would be no problem to call a cab for us in the morning. However, when we got down to the lobby in the morning, we discovered that in fact it was quite the ordeal to hail a cab, including walking around the streets of Seville and then having to call an operator with a 15-minute wait time. The hotel is somewhat hidden off the street on a pedestrian-only alleyway, so it was not as easy as walking out the front door and sticking your arm up to hail a cab. We almost missed our train, and the whole experience was quite stressful and not helped by the Hotel Alcantara staff person who spent more time talking than helping. So, if you have an early morning train to catch, I would choose a hotel located on a main street over Hotel Alcantara.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    323
    79
    14
    7
See reviews for
95
353
70
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

The hotel is well placed in Santa Cruz . The rooms are cool with firm beds and good linen and were well serviced each day. We appeciated the staff who were friendly, very well informed and who took time amnd trouble on our behalf to sort out visits we wished to make.
We thought that this modestly priced hotel was a gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Hotel Alcantara made for a pretty and comfortable stay in Sevilla. Getting through the town was not easy and we were glad that we took a cab. Once you got there, everything else was easily accessed by foot. The hotel was bright and cheerful, clean and spacious. I like that there was someone at the front desk all the time. Guests were quiet and respectful and we found that it was just as comfortable and nice to run back to the hotel in the middle of the day for a nap, before heading back out again. We didn't have the breakfast at the hotel, since there were so many good restaurants nearby. One big bonus: there is a flamenco show right next to the hotel - definitely worth getting tickets for!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stsung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed with our family of 8-6 kids and my husband and I in late June.(during the World Cup games-very exciting!) We had 3 rooms-FYI-most small hotels only have ONE triple per floor so we were split on 2 separate floors. Luckily-my oldest daughter is 21 and shared one room with her next oldest sister and my husband and I split up in the other two rooms with our remaining kids, aged 18-8. The rooms were fairly spacious and the bathrooms were decent sizes, too-especially for a European hotel. They are sparse but adequate and reasonably priced-nothing fancy.
The hotel is very clean -all single beds in our three rooms. Air conditioning was fine-worked better in some rooms than others but adequate. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel since it was pretty basic but lots of choices nearby. We got english Disney channel on the tv in 2 of our three rooms-not sure why it didn't work in all 3.
The hotel is in a great location-we walked EVERYWHERE-even with my 8 year old. Great restaurants around and shops. FYI-very small, narrow streets so you can't get a car close-we walked a couple of blocks with all our luggage since we rented a 9 passenger van and had issues with parking. A cab probably would get you a little closer.
It was next door to a Flamenco show that was decent to experience and inexpensive.
BEAUTIFUL CHURCH nearby with largest bell tower in Spain and Christopher Columbus' remains are there-well worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kskbtvkcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

This hotel has a wonderful staff who always went out of their way to help us with any questions we may have had. You cannot beat the location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vertigo1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Nice quiet hotel in the Santa Cruz neighborhood - great location, close to everything. Free wi-fi in the lobby (and sometimes your room, depending on location). Helpful staff, especially arranging taxi to train station or airport. DON'T leave your key in the room, bad news for everyone (it wasn't me!) Breakfast was coffee/roll/cold cuts but sufficient.

Try out the Casa de la Memoria de Al-Andalus, entrance just before the hotel's, a nice one hour show featuring traditional flamenco and music in an outdoor (covered) patio. Not too much of any one thing, a good flavor of the art form.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oregongirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel in the Santa Cruz neighborhood, a great walking neighborhood. I chose it for its location and the many good reviews I read before we booked it. We had a triple room with a nice bathroom that looked out over the courtyard where we ate breakfast one morning. We took advantage of their breakfast buffet both mornings and it was fairly basic, but enough to satisfy. It was quiet as well and we had free wifi in our room, perfect!! The staff were very nice and helpful. In fact, we left some clothes in our room and they packed it up and sent it to us. And I really appreciated that! Another positive thing was that we went to the flamenco show next door to the hotel and we were glad we didn’t have far to go after the show. The show was fabulous too, I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobyo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
#21 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#39 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#31 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcantara

Property: Hotel Alcantara
Address: Calle Ximenez de Enciso 28 | Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#32 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alcantara 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Alcántara offers comfortable and modern installations at the heart of Seville's historical center. It is located in the Santa Cruz district, next to the famous Murillo gardens, declared "of Cultural interest". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alcantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcantara Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing