We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could want!”
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #11 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2009

My son and I stayed at the Hotel Amadeus for 4 days, using it as a base for exploring Andalucia by bus and train. What a delightful place! The staff was warm and friendly, and had all the answers to our questions. All spoke English except for one older gentleman who manned the desk our last night there. With my rusty college Spanish, however, we muddled through getting the bill paid and a taxi to the airport arranged. We both had fun and became instant friends.

We stayed in the Mozart room, which is huge (it's the one pictured when you read the reviews about Hotel Amadeus on TripAdvisor). Comfortable beds, lots of space for clothes and toiletries, and a nice view of the new-looking apartment complex across the alley way. If you are a romantic young (or older) couple, I'm sure you would enjoy the jacuzzi tub that sits in the middle of the room. Not of much use for a middle-aged woman and her 21 year old son, however. A nice feature: he could be on his laptop using the wireless Internet in our room, while I could be on the desktop on the desk in the hall, reassuring my husband that all was well.

The location is perfect for sightseeing and shopping and dining, and not a bad walk to the train station (when we went to Cordoba) or the bus station (when we headed out for a few days in Tarifa, Tangier, and Granada).

We had breakfast in our room the first morning, when we got a late start due to jet lag, and again on the terrace the morning before we left for points south and east. It's a simple meal, but adequate. It's a plus that the hotel is smoke-free, as it's difficult to find smoke-free dining anywhere in southern Spain.

As I said before, we returned there for our last night in Seville and Spain. It was like coming home. I hope to return to this lovely part of the world with my husband sometime soon, for that "romantic vacation." I wouldn't think of staying anywhere except the Hotel Amadeus.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2009

This is a great place to stay if visiting Seville - very well located only 5 mins walk from the Cathedral. Very friendly, family run. Very strong classical music theme - with grand piano in the hall/sitting area which can be used by anyone. When we arrived, there was a practice session going on with piano and double base, and in another room someone playing a guitar. Each room has a CD player and there are lots of classical tapes to play.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snickerireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We wanted to book the hotel Amadeus but it was full so we booked the La Musica which is a couple of doors down the same street. It's owned by the same people but it has the feeling of a backwater - there's no staff there or reception area, it's not as nicely decorated and it doesn't have the little freebies like coffee and wine. The Amadeus itself looked lovely and well worth the price, but don't be fobbed off with the La Musica next door - you could probably get better value somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonGuyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

The Amadeus itself is lovely and has many fine qualities; however we believe they economize by hiring rather inadequate help at the front desk. We had a series of problems -- from them losing our keys and then blaming us (they found them again later), to condescending attitudes, dismissive responses, slow and grudging helpfulness with staff blaming other staff when mistakes occurred; and of most concern, we left about a dozen post cards with the front desk as we were checking out, and asked that the hotel post them. They agreed, and took them from us. None ever arrived. I can assure you they each had appropriate postage and proper addresses. Also we returned to our room once and found that our room had been left unlocked after being cleaned.‎

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiallNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

What a lovely hotel. All centered on music and instruments (most of which you can pick up and play...one evening someone played the piano for about an hour - lovely). The rooms are very nice (best beds I've slept in in Europe). Each room is different and named after a famous composer. Honor coffee and you can order room service for breakfast (simple but good). The roof top is lovely for viewing the surroundings and enjoying a relaxing cocktail. Charming back streets to get to the main square. 6 Euros cab ride from the train station. Very good resturants with in 5 minutes. Staff very friendly and helpful. Each room comes with a laptop and free internet!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tech&NAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We were very pleased with this small secluded Hotel located on a pedestrian alleyway, which was very quiet at night. Yet only a 5 minute stroll from the Cathedral and near lots of restaurants. Quirky decor, and we liked that classical music was already playing in our room when we arrived. Family owned and very friendly, good English spoken.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotswolds47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Lovely small hotel hidden on a narrow pedestrian-only road. The location is perfect, a ten-minute walk to the Cathedral and Alcazar, several nice restaurants and tavernas nearby. Each room is dedicated to a classical composer, the rooms are charming, clean and quiet. Despite being over 100 degrees outside our room's air conditioning kept us comfortable. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was very good. Hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. A highly recommended stay.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Rex-Imperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,660 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Las Casas de la Juderia
#37 of 177 in Seville
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Calle Farnesio 6 y Calle San Jose 10, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#19 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £68 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amadeus 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel in Spain with a classical music theme. The hotel is built around a typical Sevillian patio of the eighteenth century (1745), situated between the Barrio de Santa Cruz and the Juderia, very close to the Giralda. It was recently refurbished but retains all its original charm. There are 19 rooms available, fully equipped with telephone, satellite television, air conditioning, minibar, en suite bathroom and security safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Seville
Hotel Amadeus Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing