We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be very careful when choosing your room.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casona de San Andres Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casona de San Andres Hotel
Ranked #119 of 179 Hotels in Seville
San Sebastian
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Be very careful when choosing your room.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Frankly, I chose this hotel because it was the only one among the cheap ones in Sevilla that had not a terrible decoration.

The first room I was offered at my arrival had its only window on the corridor! (sic). They call them 'interior', so be careful when booking. I thought this was forbidden. Each floor has six rooms of this kind and three normal rooms with a french window to the street.

We were going to spend a whole week in Sevilla, so I asked for one of these rooms with a window that can be opened to the street, you know what I mean. A normal room.

The room was ok. Clean, reasonnably kept, but things made you remember it was cheap (e.g. plastic glasses in the bathroom).

The street was fairly noisy, but the windows were good, with double glazing.

Breakfast was really poor, at least for us who were going to spend a week. There was a coffee machine, false orange juice and a toaster. All dishes, glasses and cuttlery in plastic. And all this scenery was kept in a 15 sq.m. room. We made do by buying different sorts of fruit in a nearby shop.

But the magic of this city and its inhabitants made us forget everything. This city is really unique, and its citizens are envied by their way of living.

Just one more tip: Do not buy the special transportation card for tourists. The public transportation (buses) has a radial scheme; it connects the perifery with the downtown area, but is almost inexistent in the historical centre, which is very big indeed -2 by 3 km-, and the space where we tourists move. Most of this area is closed to trafic. Moreover, the bus system is sort of Kafkaesque. We chose one day to go by bus to the catedral early in the morning, to discover that that precise line started at 10:30 AM.

Room Tip: For your sake, ask for a room with a window on the street. The other ones have their only window on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gracian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    87
    43
    19
    16
See reviews for
21
105
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Having booked to stay at the sister hotel, Doña Lola, I was surprised to be told when I arrived, that I was now staying here. It was late and I imagined it was going to be the same style etc, so I didn't press the point. Whilst it is a perfectly nice hotel, it's style is far more traditional than its more contemporary sibling - which is why I had chosen it - so I was a little disappointed on that count. The lady on reception was efficient, but not particularly friendly and didn't offer any explanation about the change except to say the price would remain the same.
The room itself was on the small side, but fittings and facilities were all in excellent condition.
The downside was that it had no external window, only one which opened onto the internal patio.
The wifi signal was excellent in the room and there was also a PC downstairs for those requiring other internet access.
The location is pretty good, especially if shopping is a priority. If culture is the main focus the walk to the cathedral etc is a little longer, but still within easy reach. The area is lively and is full of restaurants and bars, but the square where the hotel is situated was busy but not noisy on the weekend I visited.

Room Tip: Mention an 'external' window when booking if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicaw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Pleasant hotel. Very clean with helpful staff, although they have limited command of English, they did their very best to help out with our enquiries. No information was provided in the rooms and no tv channel that was English speaking, not even the news! Firstly,the breakfast was very poor, just juice, bread and drinks. It was self service and drinks were dispensed from a beverage machine in paper cups, with plastic plates and utensils for the food, accompanied by paper signs saying what you could or could not do. Secondly we paid for an upgrade to a room with a balcony at the front of the building. This was a very pleasant room, in my opinion well worth the extra cost, but other guests who were staying in the property found the interior rooms dark and noisy and would not recommend them. If you intend to use the room as a base for seeing Seville this hotel ticks the box, clean, slightly away from the centre but easily accessible, with very helpful polite and pleasant staff. As a footnote please ensure you have an exact cost when using a taxi, not an estimate, as we found to our cost the taxi drivers will argue and overcharge if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jms52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

The hotel is in a great location. It is very well priced. The hotel has been nicely restored and redecorated and everything was spotless and the bed comfortable. However the room has no exterior window so is dark in the daytime and HOT. As I was only staying one night it was bearable and this was in the winter. I would not even consider a room like this for summer.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelltravelledSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

There was some mix-up with my booking so instead of my original hotel I was sent to Hotel Casona de San Andres - and that was my loss!
I was told it was better hotel but I got a room where the only window opened up to an indoor corridor so everyone passing by could hear and see everything. The aircondition did not work so the temperature in the room reached 28 degrees C. A ventilator could not be found. But even worse than the claustrophobic heat was a large group of German guests. Apparently they had a very nice time - but they also made sure that noone else got more than 2 to 3 hours of sleep before they started again at 6.30 am. And no, they were not teenagers! I just had to get out - and yes, I paid.
The receptionist was so sorry and when I returned to my originally booked hotel they had made sure that I got a very nice room but still it does not make up for that horrible night.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seville hotels

South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2006

This hotel is in the historic center of Seville, but not in a particularly attractive area. We had ambivalent feelings about it because we had spent two previous nights at a much nicer small hotel, but couldn't book a third night, so had to move. The Casona just has a slightly "bordering on seedy" air to it, sort of dispirited, instead of lively and bright. However, it was clean. The hotel did not offer breakfast, but gave us vouchers to walk around the corner to a nearby cafe, where we got a toasted roll and cup of coffee. The Casona was certainly reasonably priced, but I would spend a little more to upgrade if we were to return to Sevilla.

  • Liked — nothing in particular
  • Disliked — The lobby was dark and dreary.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneinseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2006

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Casona de San Andres. It has a great location that is within walking distance to everything you want to see and because it is on a square, the hotel is quiet! The hotels and the rooms are charming with beautiful Spanish/Moorish decor. We didn't want to stay in a sterile hotel but rather something a little more authentically Spanish and this fit the bill perfectly. It was also a great rate of 65 Euros.

The only downside is driving in Seville to find the hotel! It is a maze of really narrow one way streets, pedestrians everywhere and seemingly no traffic rules. If you are coming by car, get a good map before you go, map out your route and head to the Corte Ingles car park (costs 15 Euros for 24hrs through the hotel).

Have breakfast with the locals in the little restaurant across the square. It is lively and the food was pretty good!

All in all, we would definitely stay here again. Seville is a great city and we enjoyed wandering around and enjoying the atmosphere!

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling_loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Venecia
Hotel Venecia
#102 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cervantes
Hotel Cervantes
#82 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Derby Sevilla
Hotel Derby Sevilla
#47 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Un Patio al Sur
Hotel Un Patio al Sur
#87 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel America  - Seville
Hotel America - Seville
#48 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
#23 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona de San Andres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona de San Andres Hotel

Property: Casona de San Andres Hotel
Address: Calle Daoiz 7, 41003 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona de San Andres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Casona de San Andres Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing