We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
Ranked #101 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay :)”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Pluses:
1. Really close to the cathedral and alcazar area - like 2 mins of walking - so supremely convenient to see all the attractions and tons of eating places around. For those who may be concerned about finding it- its quite easy to find if you head towards the alcazar from the square in front of the cathedral and just turn left (after nearing the alcazar) and walk straight head .. The hotel is right there in abt 50 meters or so. Of course it's really not advisable to drive around in this area and I can imagine parking will be a nightmare and expensive - I was glad we dropped off the car at Sevilla railway station.
2. Friendly , helpful staff
3. Clean hotel, clean rooms, nice decor, good bathrooms, safety lock in rooms
Minuses ( minor issues really)
1. Very small rooms ( we stayed in the smallest room though )We had only 2 small suitcases so was ok but I can imagine it will be really tight with more luggage.
2. Breakfast looked pretty boring ( we didn't bother with it and had much better breakfast near the cathedral )
3. Toiletries in the bathroom were very limited -- only shower gel , no shampoo or conditioner
4. We didn't get good hot water one of the mornings. It was cool to Luke warm at best. We didn't bother calling reception to check the issue as we were in a rush but the problem seemed to correct itself the next day without us having to do anything else extra.

So overall good stay. But could a have been little bit better for the price we paid- the most expensive hotel in our Andalusian trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    105
    37
    20
    19
See reviews for
47
163
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Good:

Excellent location
Plenty of restaurants and shoppings nearby
Next to the beautiful church
Roof top restaurant overlooking the beautiful church with excellent nightview

The Bad:

Customer service - some good some bad!!!!

1st shocking experience in a 4 star property:

I was given a lovely room on the ground floor (room 1)
Had a really good shower in the afternoon but the whole bathroom was flooded because of the blocked drain inside the shower cabin (i was so scared!!!!!)
The lady at the reception was sooooo helpful to clean up and got it repaired ASAP. Thank God!
However, Me and my mate had a shock - a 4 star hotel with a flooded bathroom after a simple shower????

2nd shocking experience:

Enjoyed breakfast at the hotel roof top restaurant overlooking the church one sunday morning and the atmosphere was just lovely and beautiful until the fried eggs were served!!!!!!!
Just take a good look at the picuture attached please
Having finished the breakfast, i then paid for the breakfast with cash ( it wasnt cheap around Euro 11 or 12, i think but we didn't mind because of the lovely view)
Having stayed 3 day 2 nights at this 4 star hotel, i then checked out early in the morning, the reception lady was firstly very nice and told me about the total price of our bill and here is the conversation:
lady: the price was Euro XXX for two nights;
me: Thank you but why Euro 20 something more please?
lady: you had breakfast yesterday and it was Euro XXX for two persons;
me: hmmmm but i paid after the breakfast;
lady: NO you have not paid, Not at all;
me: (by then, i was shocked again). However, I did
lady: NO you have not paid
me:(luckily i kept the cash recepit from breakfast in my wallet and sharted showing her the receipt)
lady: So the bill was Euro XXX

the 2nd shocking experience demonstrated that poor communication among the hotel staff. And she didn't even try to investigate it and said to me twice that 'NO you have not paid'
NO apologies of whatsoever after that and this is a 4 star hotel.

Therefore, I will NOT choose to stay here anymore in the near future

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkpraise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand G, Director General at Hotel Palacio Alcazar, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear guest,
Though it resulted a true disappointment to read your comment, I would like to sincerely thank you for dedicating your time and for sharing your experience with us.
- We obviously made an error when we wanted to charge your breakfast at your check-out while it was already paid. Not only that this lack of communication is totally beyond our responsibility, but the way you felt you were treated by the person in charge of the reception desk has clearly to be investigated. I can personally assure you that, as managing director of the hotel, that I will make sure that this kind of disagreement won't happen again in the future. The girl in charge on this early Sunday was on trainee and was't clearly prepared enough to face the situation, I do apologize about that.
- We were happy to notice that in spite of the little shower incident that you faced, our receptionist managed to solve it herself on the spot without having to call any of our maintenance agent. We are glad that you found her very helpful .
We thank you for having mentioned also some very positive points such as:
- The excellent location of our hotel.
- We were happy to read that you've liked your room as well as our panoramic roof terrace.
Having our clients satisfied is our biggest priority providing the best accommodation to our guest, always being extremely helpful to them.
Sincerely yours,

Beltran Garcia Ligero
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Wonderful location just a few steps from the Alcazar, the Cathedral and local restaurants/bars. Staff were extremely helpful with advice, and also considering 2 of our party had had to cancel with only a couple of days' notice. The hotel has recently been refurbished and we had breakfast for 3 days on the nice rooftop terrace. I thought the 9 Euro charge for breakfast was good value for money given the quality and amount of food. The only downsides for us were the lack of space in the room - the wardrobe is tiny, which would prove something of a problem if you were staying for more than just a few nights. I effectively lived out of my suitcase for the 3 days we were there as there wasn't sufficient space for both of us to put our clothes in the wardrobe it was that small. I really think the hotel ought to think about investing in some dressers, especially in the smaller rooms. Free wi-fi was also a godsend, although quite why they've bothered with cable tv when just about every channel other than BBC World, the French news channel were in Spanish I'm not really sure. Would probably have expected some international movie channels given the standard of the hotel, although we spent most of our time outdoors. Why the Spanish continue to dub foreign films is quite beyond me; hopefully they'll move to sub-titling in years to come. Some complementary water given our very late arrival time would have been welcome. Overall, a very positive experience, although would aim for a larger room next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markunderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Charming small hotel with a pretty terrace within cooee of the famous Giralda Tower in Sevilla. Breakfast Sunday morning on this terrace with the bells of the Cathedral ringing almost overhead. Located next door to the Alcazar and the above. This little cafe was well patronised for lunch and in the evening - the food was good and prices competitive with anything on offer in the streets below. And in our experience, service a great deal more cheerful and efficient.

Otherwise the hotedl was friendly, helpful, super-clean. Our only -ve was that the bed was rather low and not firm enough for our personal preference. Taxi drivers seemed totally confounded with regard to both the plaza location and the hotel name. You'd be better off asking for the Alcazar or the Giralda and walking the 30 or so steps around the corner.

We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayne28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is superbly well placed for tourist attractions such as the Alcazar, cathedral and La Giralda. On the edge of the Santa Cruz area, it's an excellent location for restaurants and bars of all descriptions. (Worth a visit to Taberna Belmonte for the mounted bull's heads if nothing else!) The hotel itself is a small "boutique" style establishment with very helpful and friendly staff. The roof terrace is a great place to start and/or end the day. The buffet breakfast (9€) is decent enough (although the quality of "huevas fritas" depends entirely on who's on duty that morning!) and, although it may not be the cheapest drink in town, the late night brandy is impressively voluminous! Don't be too late back though, in case the bar is closed! We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the square and the only downside was noise from the building work going on several doors down - no problem on a Sunday morning when the builders weren't working, but be prepared for an 08:00 alarm call with a club hammer (or two) on weekdays and a similarly interrupted siesta! However, friends with a room at the back heard nothing - also no problem if you're an early riser and out all day of course! In summary - well placed, but can be noisy!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during the Feria de Sevilla in April 2013. The hotel is small (12 rooms) and very well maintained. It used to be an art studio that was converted into a hotel about a year ago. It's right in the heart of the city. You could not ask for a better location. It's literally around the corner from the cathedral and within walking distance to tons of good restaurants and shopping. There is a rooftop terrace which overlooks the tower of the cathedral and serves tapas and drinks. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We were worried we would miss our flight out b/c of Fair traffic (the taxis the hotel called for us were running late) and the lady at the front desk did everything within her power to help us - made phone calls, talked to the taxi driver etc. Overall, we had a good experience here & would go back.

Room Tip: Room 9 is a room with 2 twin beds, spacious & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It was a one night stay. Ground floor, by the square which was being renovated at the time, so it wasn't particularly busy with people, just construction machinery. I'm not sure which would be worse.

The hotel staff are extremely helpful, and the roof terrace has a charm but very expensive as you would expect. It certainly is a trendy hotel, with some fabulous art work on the walls.

Great value for money but i'd recommend asking for a room that is not overlooking the square. The room we had was small.

It's in a great location which makes it a great place to stay on a short break

Room Tip: Try an avoid ground floor and overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Palacio Pinello
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 175 in Seville
2,082 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Dona Maria
Hotel Dona Maria
#65 of 175 in Seville
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Alcazar

Property: Hotel Palacio Alcazar
Address: Plaza Alianza 11, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio Alcazar 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palacio Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing