We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and fab hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio Alcazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
Ranked #97 of 179 Hotels in Seville
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and fab hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a great hotel, really good value for money you are in the heart of the historic town. We stayed here for 2 nights and were pleasantly surprised by how nice this hotel was. It was very clean, everyone was very friendly and the terrace is an excellent addition especially after a long day of sightseeing. I would recommend this hotel to all - it was a perfect relaxing spot away from all the tourists. You can get the bus from the airport to very close by here, no need for a taxi we walked everywhere and took public transport as it's so easy to get around.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    95
    34
    19
    16
See reviews for
43
146
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We recently visited Seville, staying at the Palacio Alcazar Hotel, which is extremely well situated near the centre of town.
The hotel facilities are pretty good, and the view from the restaurant terrace is excellent.
Beware that taxi drivers from the airport will drop you off at the wrong hotel unless you tell them the exact hotel name.
Also be aware that if the hotel books a taxi to return you to the airport that you will be charged an additional €5, which isn't explained at the time of booking by the hotel staff.
Our room, on the 1st floor, was a little on the small side, but very adequate.
Despite what I've read in reply from the manager, this is not a 4 star hotel - it's good, but if this is 4 stars, the Hotel Alfonso X111 would be 21 stars, albeit the price would be significantly more.
The receptionists are friendly enough and helpful.
In summary, this is a very good little hotel, but maybe a touch over-priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0nyHUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand G, Director General at Hotel Palacio Alcazar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for dedicating your time and sharing your opinion about your stay with us.

-We noticed that you've appreciated our privileged location, the panoramic terrace with
views to the Giralda and the Cathedral, our good facilities and the kindness of our
receptionists; thank you for mentioning it.

- We are sorry about your unpleasant taxi experience. As often, they sometimes don't
always give the best image of a city. Independently from the hotel policy, you might
know that it's a common rule over the world that an additional charge is applied when
one calls for a ride.

- As far as the Hotel Alfonso XIII is mentioned, it is true that it's an excellent 5 stars
hotel (at an average price of 850 euros for a standard double room)…

We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Seville, all the staff and myself would be happy
to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Beltrán García Ligero
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is located just behind the cathedral, brilliant for all the major sites and restaurants.
The staff are superb and very friendly.
One of its best features is the roof top terrace which is great to return to for either a light snack or a drink, great view over the GiraldaSometimes.
This is my second visit and would love to return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Accommodation is cheap and shoddy ie eco friendly. A dirty mop is dragged over the floor (we saw the bucket and mop), bed made after midday, and the room is called "done". Sheets were worn and torn. The red sleeper couch is full of stains. The roof terrace has a view of the cathedral bell tower, but the drinks are extremely expensive compared to anywhere around. We chose not to eat there as we saw food sent back as it was mouldy. The location is convenient but noisy during the afternoon siesta. A yapping dog lives across the way and barks at everyone and everything that goes by. This hotel is not value for money and has no facilities, I would not stay here again and would most certainly not recommend it. The location does not make up for all the deficiencies of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Champagne42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand G, Director General at Hotel Palacio Alcazar, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for dedicating your time and sharing your opinion about the experience you
had in our hotel. Please allow us to specify some points:

- We should admit that we don't really understand what you considered wrong about the
cleanliness of your room: having noticed the bucket and mob?...well, yes, we do use
them, and quite frequently actually, that is why a vast majority of our guests gave us an
excellent rating about cleanliness.
It is true that we did made your room (and not only your bed!) after midday. We apply
the rule that the first who lives in the morning has it room done first, while the last ones
are effectively the lasts to have the room done. Please be sure that does not affect in any
case the quality of the service.

-We were happy to note that at least you've appreciated the location of the hotel and our
panoramic terrace with views to the Giralda and the Cathedral. Our prices does
correspond to the average range in the area, we are even cheaper than some other
terraces and the reason is simple: about 80% of our clients being from Seville, you can
be sure that they wouldn't return if drinks or food were extremely expensive...Sevillan
people are pretty picky about that (and as non residents of the hotel they didn't
beneficiated any complementary drink as each of our guest does..).

-Though any pet dog lives around, we are really sorry if that day you were bothered by a
barking dog. The hotel is situated in a very quiet peatonal square and it is unusual that
any noise could be heard from the side the rooms. In any case, our sincerest apologies if
this was so during your stay.

About the four-stars-hotel status of which we're proud of, we can just say that we are not
the one who gave this range, it corresponds to the general rules and norms of the
European Union, common to any E.U country.

Having our clients satisfied is our biggest priority providing the best accommodation to
our guest, always being extremely helpful to them.

Sincerely yours,
General Director and its staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

You could not ask for a better location. Right in the Barrio Santa Cruz, a couple of steps from the Alcazar, the cathedral, and the Giralda
Set on a small square so noise is not an issue.
The hotel is a charming and small (12 rooms) , the rooms are smallish but very acceptable in size.
The decoration is modern.
Our friends even had a bouquet of fresh flowers in their room.
They offered us a welcoming drink.
The reception is very helpful.
I enjoyed reading on the terrace during our break in the day.
I'd be hard put to find anything negative to say about the hotel, except maybe the breakfast. We didn't eat there as it wasn't our cup of tea.

Room Tip: We had the rooms on the same level as the terrace bar. Our rooms were very quiet. They were facing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patmazuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This lovely little gem was hidden in the back streets but almost on top of the cathedral and the alcazar. behind it has some tiny narrow walking only streets with such character. Super location for most restaurants and bars in easy walking distance.
The hotel is sparkling white inside, with lots of lovely paintings and lovely glass chandeliers. It is on the small side and the room was small but perfectly clean and we even had a view of the cathedral from our balcony room.
There is a hotel bar upstairs which is romantic with a view of the cathedral at night also. although the cocktails were disappointing.
Our room was perfectly quiet all night
I would highly recommend for a city break.

Room Tip: balcony rooms have a view of the cathedral tower which is super in the morning and at the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Firstly you can not beat the location - it is perfect.

We had the same experience as others - we were taken to the wrong hotel and left! Apparently taxi drivers are confused as a hotel changed name recently and has a similar name - can not blame the hotel - but annoying - so watch out!

We booked 2 rooms - only two left so no choice. One was on the bottom floor and was the cheaper - high roof and weird reading area up some metal stairs. My parents room was several floors up and more "normal" shaped. Both clean, nice TV, glasses, fridge etc. Downstairs room had a shower only but my parents had a shower and bath. Nether had a view. My parents room was noisy due to on going building (only during day) and our room noisy all the time as window next to hotel door and a square (most of time - especially at 3am!).

I always think you judge service on when things go wrong. We were woken about 5am with all these lights going on. The normal lights and TV would not work. My husband opened our door and spoke to reception (yup that close) and the man came in and move a picture and behind it sorted some switches. It was a horrible way to wake up - no explanation and no sorry - hence 3 stars and no more.

All in all would use again if price ok due to the fact it is clean and location, location, location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Dona Maria
Hotel Dona Maria
#59 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#51 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Alcazar

Property: Hotel Palacio Alcazar
Address: Plaza De La Alianza, 11, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio Alcazar 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Palacio Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing