We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rumours about this place were true!”

Mechela Restaurante
Ranked #19 of 2,709 Restaurants in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Closed from 30th July until 21th August. We will open the 22nd for dinner.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The rumours about this place were true!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had a lovely meal here earlier tonight: the food was a notch above the usual tapas in the city (which is still tasty, in my opinion) and very well presented. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable and their suggestions were on the money. My partner and I had a sizeable amount of food and wine and the bill was under 40€. Hard to fault it, really. We went pretty early by Seville standards (8.30pm) so we had no problem getting a table; it's probably more difficult later in the evening...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMoustachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    326
    84
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A decent meal, good value but not amazing”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I can't say this was an incredible meal, but nonetheless it was good. Most of the dishes were quite oily and heavy. Good flavors but not amazing. Presentation was quite good. Not sure how this place rates as one of the top on Seville, but it is certainly good value and service was great!

Helpful?
Thank Dan v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel, Gran Melia Colon and I also found it on tripadvisor. It opens about 8.30pm and if you don't have a booking you will not get a table, but you will possibly get a high table with bar stools or you will have to sit up at the bar. We had a high table, had some lovely vino bianco from Rueda. The food was also fresh and beautiful. Service was also great. Menu is limited but don't let this stop you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Something very special”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Many places close on a Monday night in Seville but thankfully after reading the reviews on TA we discovered that Mechela closes for lunch Monday but is open for dinner, result!

After arriving Anthony Bourdain style (no reservations) bang on opening time we were told that we could either take a seat at the bar or on the higher tables with stools, we opted for the latter, although the bar seating is also a good option and possibly more comfortable on reflection.

We were greeted with menu's by friendly English speaking waitresses who explained that the fish options on the menu weren't available due to market availability, not a problem as it turned out as the menu still read very well both in price and quality of food.

We went for four dishes, home made pate with blackberry jam, Thai spring rolls, Iberian rice with mushrooms and razor clams and the venison loin with tomatoes and mushrooms.

Straight away an amuse bouche arrived courtesy of the chef, who you can see through a serving hatch in the kitchen busily putting together your food which is a nice extra. The amuse was a potato salad dressed with chives and gherkins garnished with lettuce, fresh and instantly giving more than a hint that this place is all its cracked up to be.

I won't go through every dish in dissective detail but all I will say is that everything was cooked to perfection, presented beautifully and if you want properly cooked meat that melts in the mouth along with flavour combinations that surprise and amaze, you're in good hands.

We finished off with a chocolate cake topped with hazelnut ice cream which just about made its way down after a mammoth meal, and the price for all this? A mere 20 euro's each, yet more reason to love this place.

The place began to get busy around 9-9.30 and by 10 every table was taken, its not hard to see why.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The place to eat in Sevilla”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Great menu, wine list and food is presented with aplomb.
Service with the friendly smiles and so helpful

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mechela Restaurante also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Mechela Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing