We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great restaurant”

La Cantina Mexicana
Ranked #26 of 2,619 Restaurants in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$26
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Real Mexican( not TexMex) food, served in tapas format. Good atmosphere, good service at great prices, Mexican beer, Margaritas. Our rave reviews tell it all! NEW: Happy Hour!
1 review
“A great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Very tasty and reasonable price.
I really loved it...
Its small and colorfull .., the service is excellent, and the food came very fast

Helpful?
Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    155
    47
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
197 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This place is every bit as good as the reviews suggest! We turned up a bit before the normal opening time but were welcomed in straight away and told to enjoy a drink and peruse the menu while the kitchen got ready. Based on the menu and the helpful advice of Oscar, we chose a selection of tapas, all of which turned out to be lovely. We also really liked the décor of the restaurant and the selection of Mexican music playing in the background. The service was fast and the bill was amazingly cheap. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corinne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Mexican in the heart of Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is 4 1/2 star Mexican style cuisine by any country's standard. Very small restaurant about 3 blocks North of Cathedral Square. We tried all 5 of the top dishes (Enchilada Verde, Tostada de Tinga, Huarache al pastor, Panucho, and Queca de Pollo) , all were delicious and a nice change of pace if you have been "tapas'd out".
If you like heat , there is plenty. The Hurarche and the Enchilda Verde are particularly excellent. The prices were good here as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Longton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tacos al Pastor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Best tacos al pastor I have eaten in years, and other plates, such as flautas con salsa de mole, were excellent..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I don't know how this place got so highly rated. I tried two Mexican places in Sevilla, and the other place was way better. The prices here were high and the food was not very good. Most of it was serviceable - I had a chicken quesadilla which was basic and fine - but it wasn't very flavorful and other friends got cold food or just disappointing meals. The service was not great either. If you want good Mexican in Sevilla, go to the place by the river, or go to the rooftop of the Corte Inglés.

Helpful?
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rjohngold, Owner at La Cantina Mexicana, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
I am sorry the Cantina did not meet your expectations. We know we have extremely low prices, very good quality ingredients and we pride ourselves on our service, so something did not work that day and that moment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina Mexicana also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to La Cantina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing