We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a charming and quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Casa del Maestro
Ranked #83 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a charming and quirky hotel”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a great stay at La Casa del Maestro, it is a lovely hotel, out of the main tourist area (which is no bad thing) and easy walking distance from all of the main attractions of the city. We enjoyed finding our way through the windy streets. We had a superior room, which was lovely, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and could not have been more helpful. The hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere and breakfast is unhurried - there is a varied and delicious buffet so it is nice to take your time! If you are worried about finding the hotel when you first arrive, the hotel can book you a taxi. Seville is a great city and if you like interesting boutique hotels then I would highly recommend La Casa del Maestro.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    122
    52
    20
    12
See reviews for
36
203
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel is in a great location about 10 minutes walk from the cathedral etc. It is in an old colonial building and very tastefully decorated. As other reviewers have mentioned it was a lovely touch having an iced jug of water and sweets left every day.

We had a standard rooom, which was at the back and a reasonable size. Whilst the room was reasonably comfortable the bed was rather soft and small (I am 5ft 6ins and my feet were dangling off the end of the bed). There was also no drawer space, although there were a couple of shelfs in the wardrobe - one of which is no good if you are shorter than me! The plumbing left a bit to be desired but we put that down to it being an old building.

The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the receptionist. Our main gripe was with breakfast - although there are 11 rooms there is only table space for 8 people in the breakfast room - although two more can be accommodated on the sofa - and the table space was limited. There were always 2 staff serving breakfast (coffee, orange juice and toast) but they only seemed to be able to deal with one table at any one time and were not very attentive after having taken your intial order (i.e. checking to see if you would like more coffee). One day we came to breakfast and there was no-where to sit except the sofa and we had to wait about 20 minutes for one of the staff to ask us if we wished to have our breakfast on the sofa. The breakfast was also pretty limiting (the same every day) which is fine if you are only staying 1/2 days but not for any longer (we stayed 5 nights).

The hotel has a lovely little terrace but this needs a bit of attention - for example a plant had fallen over and was left for the whole 5 days we were there although plants had obviously been watered. Also the sun lounger cushions had seen much better days.

There are some great bars around the hotel, including the one at the end of the street (turn right outside the hotel) and we found them to be much better value, and just as good, as the ones in the centre.

Overall we were disappointed particularly given we had to pay a premium price as it was over Easter.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

Lovely four poster bed in our superior room with a little balcony. Some street noises and church bells can be heard but quiet at night. Good breakfast, excellent service by staff. There is no elevator but Alex will carry your luggage up the stairs for you. Only a 10 minute walk from the Giralda through charming sevillan streets. Local tapas bars are fabulous and cheap specially at the plaza de la tercera. We ate at the La Huerta Mediterranea and would totally recommend it. Lots of choices for vegetarians too. Honesty bar in hotel. Reception not staffed at night but you get a code to open the door. No kettle in room which my tea loving partner found disappointing.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Finnbar_Oooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We spent 4 nights in Seville, one of Spain's nicest cities, at La Casa del Maestro. We had a regular room although based on past reviews our preference was for a superior room, we were told none were available. Our room was quite small, particularly after being on the road for 3 weeks.
The hotel is charming, however, with very friendly and accommodating staff. We enjoyed a nice breakfast each day before heading out to visit the city.
There is a nice rooftop terrace which we enjoyed each morning
Wifi would go out occasionally and then come back on, a minor inconvenience
Municipal parking in the Escuelas Pias lot is very close. The hotel does not offer parking.
Be sure to check out El Rinconcillo for tapas. It is close by and classic.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayandPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

La Casa del Maestro is a delightful small hotel situated in a quiet alleyway, a 10 minute walk from the cathedral. Just five minutes stagger away is the bar El Rinconcillo, one of the oldest tapas bars in Seville and a great place for an early evening Manzanilla or a final glass of wine on the way home. The hotel is charming, with comfortable beds and reasonable shower rooms. The breakfast includes freshly squeezed orange juice and various pastries and coffee. The staff are helpful and their English is good.
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spursfanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This charming hotel has only a few rooms and is tucked away in one of the narrow, winding streets of old Seville. As you open the massive front door it feels like stepping into another world. The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable. Lots of thought has been put into the decor. Although we had a mishap with our a/c unit in our first room the staff very cheerfully moved us to another room and made sure we were quite satisfied with it. There is a restaurant attached where we had a very fresh, typically Andalucian breakfast each morning before setting out on our exploration of beautiful Seville. The people in this town all seem to have a zest for life which was contagious. Definitely on our "must go back again" list!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel has so many excellent reviews, I hardly need to add to them! It certainly lived up to our expectations of 'flamenco ambiance' and old world charm, without sacrificing comfort. The tiny street has been re-named and many locals still know it by the old name of 'Almudena'. It's a challenge to find your way around the old streets, we found it helpful to navigate by the churches. Our standard room was so tiny, we considered an upgrade, but nevertheless, the bed was very comfortable and the shower room spacious and well fitted out. Very good quality linen, towels and toiletries, fresh iced water every day and everything spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the flamenco music at the continental breakfast, which was leisurely and copious, with a mix of local specialities and international fare such as cereals. The staff were very pleasant, efficient and helpful. Although it's a 15 min walk to most of the tourist action, we felt it was worth it for a peaceful night's sleep! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Seville, definitely enhanced by our stay in la Casa del Maestro!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CicelyLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casamaestro, Gerente at La Casa del Maestro, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear friends:

It makes to me very happy that you were enjoying a fantastic stay with us.
Reviews as yours, it encourages us to continue improving day after day.

Thank you very much for his words and we wait to see you again in La Casa sdel maestro.

best regards

Patricia Z
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Sacristia de Santa Ana
Sacristia de Santa Ana
#77 of 176 in Seville
456 reviews
Hotel Posada del Lucero
#61 of 176 in Seville
388 reviews
Hotel Casa Imperial
#68 of 176 in Seville
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
H10 Corregidor Boutique Hotel
Casco Antiguo
Las Casas De Los Mercaderes
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 176 in Seville
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Maestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Maestro

Property: La Casa del Maestro
Address: Calle Nino Ricardo 5 | Close to Carrion Mejias Street, 41003 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — La Casa del Maestro 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house is a tribute to Nino Ricardo, a tribute to those who love beautiful and simple pleasures of life, a tribute to the great music and, above all, a tribute to those who love Seville.It was originally the house of the master of the flamenco guitar, Niño Ricardo, and a typical nineteenth-century courtyard which was first rehabilitated and expanded by the master himself in the 60's to subsequently be rehabilitated and adapted by his family to its current use as a Hotel.The eleven rooms are built around the central courtyard, each one of them with a different decorative motive inspired by songs of the Master... eleven compositions, eleven different stories.From the courtyard of the Hotel you can access the lounge or the library of the House, where you might enjoy a good read, a good breakfast, a drink or a chat.On the top floor of the Hotel we have the roof where our guests can let their imagination free... or perhaps have breakfast, dinner, a drink, read a book... but be careful... La Giralda is watching us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your La Casa del Maestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Maestro Hotel Seville
La Casa Del Maestro Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing