We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice interesting hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa del Maestro
Ranked #81 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice interesting hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Fran who gave us lots of helpful advice on visiting Seville. He told us where we could see authentic flamenco dancing.Our room was lovely with a four poster bed. The price was very reasonable for such a handy central location. If you arrive in Saville's bus station as we did you can walk to the hotel in less than 15 mins. This is better than taking a taxi as they have to use the one-way system which goes all over the place. Again this was a helpful tip from Fran. I had notified the hotel in advance that my husband was coeliac and they catered for that.

Room Tip: check out the rooms in order to match your particular requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G00ch09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    126
    53
    20
    12
See reviews for
36
209
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. Initially there was some confusion over my confirmed request for one room with 2 single beds( for my 2 sons), and one room with a double bed. I am glad to say that, after a little hesitancy, this issue was resolved and we did indeed stay in the rooms, which I had specifically requested from my booking made months earlier. The staff were very helpful, arranging a visit to an intense flamenco show, and guiding us to excellent tapas bars and restaurants, where we savored some of the best food in Sevilla! Breakfast was lovely and our rooms were comfortable and always clean and tidy. The view from the terrace was a pleasant surprise. We loved exploring the winding streets behind the hotel, where we discovered a convent selling some tasty sweet pastries and brought home some exquisite tiles purchased from a charming store hidden in a small alley. All in all we had a splendid time.

Room Tip: Always reconfirm your specific booking requests !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaireBrigid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellerup
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel had a very homey feel to it - friendly staff, cozy rooms and in a quiet location.
Breakfast included freshly squeezed orange juice - which is rare.
Service minded staff even though not everyone spoke english.
Didn't make it to the rooftop terrace - supposedly very nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Not sure my head was when I booked this. Had just checked out of a 5 star hotel in Madrid. In a grotty neighborhood--but hey, i turned out to be fine, more than fine. Place is hard to find. First cab ditched us on the wrong street and pointed to the wrong hotel. Finally got in and staff REALLY friendly and helpful. No elevator. .. 3rd floor walk-up. No safe. (Hotel staff offerred to hold things in his office..) Cute room, maybe designed by interior design student on her way to better things. Baby hoteliers working hard. Not totally ready for prime time, but a gem for a budget traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a low floor, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryna_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Perhaps this small hotel was once very attractive, but it appears that it must be under a different management. The staff is very strange. The woman who checked us in only complained about her job and her schedule and was not the least interested in our needs. Our 2 nights had been pre-paid but when we were ready to check out they continued to question us about this and seemed extremely disorganized. The floors in our room (ground floor) were extremely dirty when we checked in. The area of the hotel is not the greatest, and I don't think anyone would feel especially comfortable there late at night. The breakfast is skimpy (and we heard other diners say the same thing). I would try to find a hotel more centrally located near the Cathedral area if you are planning a trip to Seville and would definitely not stay at La Casa del Maestro.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahur111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoersel, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We enjoyed our stays (third time) at this little hotel located in the old part of Sevilla, walking distance to almost all major attractions such as Bull Ring, oldest Tapas bar, Palace and Garden, Cathedral, Flamingo Museum. We were there during April Feria and of course the price of the room is not normal but we enjoyed our two days visit in Sevilla. This is our third visits and there still so much to explore and visit...a fantastic city Sevilla.

Room Tip: A typical Spanish house with a open court yard in the middle and balcony around each floor, add a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This was a miss for us.
1. Service. The poor lady who fulfils the one man band at reception, office, door opener, etc had the flu. She coughed and sneezed all over us, wiped her nose and didn't wash her hands. I was torn between wanting to don a gas mask and gloves and needing to check in. She won. So did her flu. 3 days later on the button I got her flu. Wrecks your holiday. Not her fault but I don't think people that sick should be holding the fort

Mrs Flu did get a reprieve at the end of our stay from a guy without English. My fault I know. One should learn Spanish if one intends to come to Spain. I'm still trying to wrangle with MasterCard over the fact that he charged me twice for Hotel accommodation. I'm sure the language barrier is to blame. Given how expensive this hotel is, I think we just misjudged what we were going to get. It is a tiny basic no frills b&b.

2. One man band and an unattended door. With only one person ( in our case with one foot in the grave) on duty and a locked door policy, waiting at the front door for her to come let you in for three minutes in the cold rain ain't fun. Perhaps when one man band is unable to walk we should be given a key or leave the door open?

3. Sherpa required. I was travelling without my husband and with 3 kids. Heading up that narrow staircase with 4 bags on your own is a great gym workout but wouldn't suit anyone without a personal trainer. Ask for ground floor rooms unless you like exercise.

4. Don't swing your cat. You can't. These rooms are TINY. If your suitcase is on the floor you will have to walk on it to get into the bed. Oh and if you like mattresses without lumps and body shaped divets, walk away now.

5. Dodgy wifi. Some might consider this a plus. I had to work. I found it a minus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
#27 of 175 in Seville
681 reviews
Hotel Posada del Lucero
#60 of 175 in Seville
417 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Las Casas De Los Mercaderes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Imperial
#64 of 175 in Seville
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Maestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Maestro

Property: La Casa del Maestro
Address: Calle Nino Ricardo 5 | Close to Carrion Mejias Street, 41003 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — La Casa del Maestro 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house is a tribute to Nino Ricardo, a tribute to those who love beautiful and simple pleasures of life, a tribute to the great music and, above all, a tribute to those who love Seville.It was originally the house of the master of the flamenco guitar, Niño Ricardo, and a typical nineteenth-century courtyard which was first rehabilitated and expanded by the master himself in the 60's to subsequently be rehabilitated and adapted by his family to its current use as a Hotel.The eleven rooms are built around the central courtyard, each one of them with a different decorative motive inspired by songs of the Master... eleven compositions, eleven different stories.From the courtyard of the Hotel you can access the lounge or the library of the House, where you might enjoy a good read, a good breakfast, a drink or a chat.On the top floor of the Hotel we have the roof where our guests can let their imagination free... or perhaps have breakfast, dinner, a drink, read a book... but be careful... La Giralda is watching us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your La Casa del Maestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Maestro Hotel Seville
La Casa Del Maestro Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing