We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect small hotel”
Review of YH Giralda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YH Giralda Hotel
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have recently spent 3 nights at this hotel and we're very satisfied. It is friendly, clean and comfortable. The room we had (# 22) was quite adequately large for 2, the bathroom / shower was modern although we understand that other rooms may be smaller. The location is excellent for the enjoyment of the main attractions of Sevilla.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave3000427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is Clean and essential. It is right in the middle of Seville, 1 minute walk from the Giralda. Very friendly staff gave us plenty of useful info. Great value for money. Close by there are plenty of good restaurants and tapas bars as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Cant complain about the location.. This is a basic basic hotel. Good value for money.. Only noise you hear, are the bells from the cathedral! Ana at the front desk was super nice. Gave us the lay of the land, and some insider tips for good shows, good food & shopping (considering we dont speak Spanish). Loved the shower, modernized!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nandyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at the YH Giralda June of 2013 and had a wonderful experience. The hotel was very clean and the woman at the desk greeted us warmly. She offered us many suggestions for day activities and was very friendly. The woman who took over after her was just as friendly (Although she pushed a specific flamenco show heavily, even after we told her we were not interested. It seemed that she may have been getting a commission from this venue.) and always greeted us with a smile.
The location was phenomenal. The walk to the cathedral took less than five minutes, but we were still off the main street so there was little, if any, loud noise at night. There were plenty of restaurants and bars, albeit touristy ones, nearby that gave plenty of options for dining.
The rooms were quite small, but they were well kept and very well designed. It felt historic and traditional without feeling outdated.
Be aware, however, that there is no elevator in this hotel, so if you book above the ground floor you could be stuck hauling your luggage up some steep stairs. Luckily, this did not affect my stay, and I would gladly come back.

Room Tip: If you need a handicap accessible room, book on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

rooms are indeed very small. The building and room decor is lovely. Someone had a very good eye. The bathroom is compact but modern and well-done. Just don't expect to have much space. The bed took up nearly all of the room. However, with the beams and shutters and beautiful bedspread and lovely palette of paint, the charm trumped the size. All the necessary amenities, from hair dryer to top-grade shampoo, etc. Wi-fi was easily accessed.The only noise we heard from this pedestrian street was the Cathedral bells, and that would be true anywhere in the vicinity.
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, indeed proactive. We enjoyed chatting with them.

The hotel does not serve breakfast. Our first morning, we turned right on the pedestrian street called Abades and walked down to the "big" street Mateos Gago and crossed it to Bodega Santa Cruz. A real neighborhood place with many local people there having breakfast, even though the setting seems like a bar. We got fresh-squeezed orange juice, toast, and coffee for a very reasonable price. The next morning we decided to walk down C. Mateos Gago a bit toward the Cathedral and went into a more tourist-oriented cafe/restaurant. We paid double for a smaller breakfast. Lesson learned too late.

In the neighborhood, if you have a few extra minutes after the Alcazar and Cathedral the Archives of the Indies is very interesting.....and free, so you can just spend whatever time you have.

We would go back to the hotel. The charm, location, and great staff made the small size tolerable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redtwizzler1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Initially we were handed keys to a room in the lobby, but thankfully, given what the other reviews have said, were instead directed to the third floor triple room. We had been greeted by a very friendly man who helped us with our luggage, as there is not an elevator. Staff were mostly very helpful and friendly. Our room was dark and quiet, the beds very comfortable, and we were able to sleep like logs until late our first morning in Sevilla. And then, explored the city from what is arguably the most ideal location! But be forewarned, driving here would be very difficult as it is on one of the city's very narrow ( and charming) streets. All in all it was a lovely place to begin our trip.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the top floor if you are willing to tote your luggage up and down three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed her for two nights. Friendly, helpful staff. We had a room on the third floor. We had reserved a room with three beds and room was set up this way, but a very tight fit. Small closet was only storage. Metal tables with no drawers. Location is excellent. Shower was small, but functional. Quiet at night and we slept well, but we could clearly hear people in other room(s?) talking in evening. Good value for the money, especially if you do not have a lot of luggage.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#58 of 178 in Seville
513 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
#99 of 178 in Seville
300 reviews
Hotel Alcazar
#64 of 178 in Seville
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maestranza
#108 of 178 in Seville
193 reviews
Hotel un Patio en Santa Cruz
#114 of 178 in Seville
319 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#41 of 178 in Seville
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YH Giralda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YH Giralda Hotel

Address: Calle Abades 30, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Price Range: £39 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YH Giralda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel Giralda Sta. Cruz, an 18th century palace and the former house of the Abbots, is located near the picturesque Santa Cruz neighborhood. Located 350 feet from the cathedral, the hotel is housed in a completely refurbished historical building which preserves the unique and artistic value of the hotel. We offer fourteen rooms with en-suite bathrooms, supplied with hydromassage showers and hairdryers. All of the accommodations come furthermore equipped with individually-controlled air conditioning systems, a direct dial telephone, television, free Internet access (WI-FI) and heating. Moreover, non-smoking and disabled-accessible rooms are available and additional cots, extra beds and ironing facilities may be provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your YH Giralda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yh Giralda Seville
Hotel Yh Giralda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing