We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel
Ranked #39 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The best thing about the hotel was the staff.Very helpful and friendly. The hotel was a little too far from the best sites in the city.The room was charming but my wife was afraid of the bath tub.If you do stay here you are not far from Al Ajibe restaurant which was a memorably good meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montrose s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hotel is outside the old center, but this is not the main problem. The bathtub is provided with a mosquito-net, under which you take the shower. Flooding is unavoidable. The moquito-net stickt to your skin and the resulting feeling is very unpleasant. But this is not the main problem. The main problem is the breakfast: no service, or almost inexistant, we had to ask for everything (bread, knives, spoons, teabags, orange juice,...).
Finally, employees at the reception were kind and helpful. not all, but the majority... (2 out of 3)
In short: during our 2-weeks long tour through Andaalucia, this was by far the hotel with the most unfavourable quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROetLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I loved my stay at this hotel and the stand out for me is the decor. It looks like its been plucked out of a Moorish fairytale and plonked into Seville. Right from the sitting area to the decor in the room, this is a tastefully done up little hotel.

The hotel is not located in the city centre and takes about 15-20 mins to walk. However the walk is interesting, so we didn't mind the slightly out of the way location.

The room was of a good size and the bathroom is nicely done, with the shower & toilet areas nicely segregated. I was tempted to buy a couple of the decor items like the ceramic stuff and some of the shower & perfume bottles in the room.

This was also one of the few hotels that have breakfast with the room rate, which was nice. The spread was quite decent and the setting just off the lobby area was very nice.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay in Seville.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

After spending four nights at this hotel, we were disappointed to have to move on to our next destination. This small boutique hotel was a real experience ranging from the excellent and helpful front desk staff to the wonderful restaurant attached to the hotel run by Rosita, whose food was some of the best we've had in Spain. The hotel is not in the the main tourist area which lends itself to a good 20-30 minute walk through some older neighborhoods of Seville.The limited number of rooms are individually decorated in Moorish themes, giving the feel of the Arabian Nights. Because of the small number of rooms, the hotel is very quiet. The rooms are clean and spacious. If you are looking for something different, this is the hotel for
you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

the hotel is beside Basilica de Macarena. upon arrival at the hotel, the receptionist is very friendly and she treats you as if you're a family; they are also very receptive on additional requests that guests might have. if you want to have a, andalucian feel in your accommodation in seville, this is the best place to stay. we just got a bit surprised with the bathroom, because it has no door - just a stone / brick division from the raoom itself. it has a nearby cab station - which is very convenient because the hotel is a bit far from the central part of seville.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrh_en-ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We took a taxi from Santa Justa Train Station to the hotel which costs 9euro. The hotel is right beside the Basilica de Macarena. When you enter the hotel, you will already feel the Andalucian feeling. The check-in was fast and the person leads you to your room. Room is clean and very Moorish. Shower has open concept door and water can leak while showering. It isn't a big deal because the room is spot-free when we are back from sightseeing. It is special and great hotel for a change. I believe it's not everyone's cup of tea but it is a very good idea to try. Room is in the 2nd floor, our room is near the lift and surprisingly not a bother. Breakfast is ready at 8:30am in a mini buffet but really delicious. They serve you with a Fresh Orange Juice, eggs, good pastries, cold cuts, bread, butter & jam, mineral water, coffee and tea. Just take note when they ask you whether you want scrambled and omelet. The omelet is the scrambled one and the scrambled one is the sunny side up. We knew it on our 2nd day. Staff are really friendly and provides good information. Ask them where is the best place to eat and they will tell you a place which offers really value for money. There's a restaurant beside the hotel (I guess it's part of the hotel) where they serve good tapas and the staff are super friendly without being annoying. The environment is very local. I would recommend buying the ticket to the sightseeing bus from the hotel because when you buy it there, it is valid for 2 days. You can then use it as your transport from the hotel to the center, otherwise there is bus C3 and C4. There's a rooftop where you can have drinks and you can book the jacuzzi. It is included in the hotel amenities. We didn't use it but if you want you can ask the reception to reserve it. Overall, our hotel stay was an indeed a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked into this hotel because it was suggested in Frommer's Guide. True it has some nice Arabic decor and furniture pieces but our biggest complaint was the smells in the place. As soon as we entered the building it smelled dirty in the lobby and our room smelled too. It was a frowsy, dirty smell, mixed with incense. It could be that the smells came from from poor ventilation from a nearby kitchen that was using dirty oil in the deep-fryers.

The second issue was the loud sound of dripping water that started around 4 in the morning and went on for two hours so that we couldn't sleep during that time. This occurred BOTH nights we were there. It wasn't a quiet dripping like a tap; it was loud. In fact I got up the second night and walked down the hall to the elevator (10 metres away) and it could be heard from there, so it wasn't a subtle. It seemed to come from behind the wall in our room (the Abam Baso room). Maybe only this room was affected but surely previous guests must've experienced the same thing.

Thirdly, the drain in the unlit shower didn't run away fast enough so you were left standing in an 8-centimeter pool of water by the time you were done.

And lastly, the promised WI-FI service didn't work the 2 times we tried to connect. The first time a young man from the front desk fixed the issue within an hour; the next night they told us it was fixed but we were already asleep; and the next morning when we tried again, it didn't work.

The included breakfast buffet wasn't completely laid out for you. You had to ask for many things which can make it more difficult if you don't speak Spanish (we could). They did accommodate our very early departure the second day which was nice of them.

Although our room was located next to a busy street, the windows did a great job of keeping the noise out. The room was quiet for sleeping.

The location is okay and the 20-minute walk to the cathedral and alcazar is a nice one through a long plaza and then a pedestrian way with some good shops.

Not to sound too negative, the staff were quite friendly and helpful. The hotel just needs a good cleaning, better ventilation, and getting the two water issues fixed. It has a lot of potential. This is our first below-average assessment for a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arne_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcarrion, Director General at Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear guests:

We are very grateful about your comments. They are really constructive and allow us to improve. We are really pleased with them as I can know directly what my guests feel about our services and facilities.
We are very sorry about the smell. It was punctual due to an obstruction in the kitchen extractor. It is already fixed and only soft oriental scents can be smelled right now in Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla.
The sound of dripping water you refer came from a pipe leak from the building beside. We adviced the neighbours and they have already fixed them. Now everything is quiet at our hotel.

Due to your comment we checked the drain at Aben Basó room and as you said, it was a bit slow. Our maintenance Antonio has found the solution (as he always does) and now everything is fine.

Wifi did not work this weekend correctly in the whole district. I suppose it was a problem with the telecommunications company. We made a complain in order not to happen again. Now it works in high speed as it has always done.

Concerning breakfast, we present a nice and plentiful buffet with fresh and good quality food but we have decided that guests could order personally items such as coffee, eggs, etc, so they can have them as they like. Our staff speaks english and french so every guest can manage to order. People appreciate so much to be served personally with the food cooked and the drinks served as they personally like.

We also really appreciate your positive comments, specially concerning our staff. That encourages us to keep serving our guests and even improve.

Finally, I would like you to came in the next future to check that your suggestions have been taken into account and solved.

Thank you very much and hope to see you again.

Rafael Carrión
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 177 in Seville
739 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
H10 Corregidor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,441 reviews
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#12 of 177 in Seville
765 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Becquer 9, 41002 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#29 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £77 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andalusian legacy is still prevalent in Seville. Our hotel, Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla, is located next to the Basilica de la Macarena, which keeps the Virgin Mary of Macarena, in the same house where, according to the legend, the poet king of Seville Al-mutamid hid his impetuous love for the washerwoman Rumaykiyya from his father.To face modern life stress, in our hotel you will find peace, calm, serenity, tranquility, relax and rest for your body… and your soul.We invite you to time travel: go back to the Andalusian period, a time full of colors and emotions when Seville (Isbiliyya) was the cradle of Western and Eastern cultures, arts and scientific knowledge, thanks to the contact and fusion of three different cultures: Jewish, Muslims and Christians.You will be surprised by our colorful and impeccable decoration! But we have a bigger surprise for all of our guests. We are a hotel-boutique and every piece of furniture in the rooms and the hotel is on sale. You can buy pictures, lamps, headboards, canopy beds, chairs, curtains, bathroom fittings… everything you want! We are continuously innovating!A wonderful terrace with a Chill Out Lounge will make you enjoy spring and summer nights as well as you can have lovely sunbathings and freely use our outdoor jacuzzi.And the last surprise!!! The best tapas and andalusian food can be tasted in our restaurant, managed by our famous chef Rosita. She will personally serve you the best tapas you can ever eat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcoba Del Rey De Sevilla Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing