We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Macerena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel
Ranked #56 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a welcoming, fun, cosy, clean and comfortable hotel. Highlights were the roof terrace which was empty during the day when we were staying so we had it all to ourselves when we needed to rest after a hard morning sight seeing. We were provided with fresh towels and even ordered a chilled bottle of cava on one occasion.
The big comfortable beds which were hard to leave. And the best rainfall shower ever. Delicious fresh breakfast. Great decor and helpful friendly staff. Would certainly return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

When planning our trip to Seville, we wanted a hotel that had a roof terrace and was not your typical hotel; something with a bit of charm. Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla exceeded all our expectations in every way. I was initially a little concerned that the hotel was a walk from the centre of Seville, but actually loved the location. The Macarena district is a great place to wander and the church next door is well worth a visit. The room we had was a delight (Abenamar): the bed was huge and very comfortable, the room was large with a private patio and the bathroom was large - the shower was fantastic! The room was cool and peaceful, as it was at the rear of the hotel and on the ground floor.

The staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly. We had the lovely roof terrace (larger than I expected) to ourselves and fresh towels appeared as if by magic whenever we wanted to lie in the sun.

I would certainly return to this lovely place as it felt like our little oasis and somewhere we felt relaxed and at home.

Room Tip: We had the jacuzzi suite and it was lovely and represented very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Decorated in the Moorish style with antique collectibles (and all of them on sale), this intimate & romantic hotel satisfied us in most ways. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices and they were happy to make eggs if requested, though it was advertised as continental. The room was a pleasure (though no window), also beautifully decorated and spacious with a strong shower. Bad points: location was 30 minutes away from the city center and the service was spotty at the front desk. When I was leaving at one point, the woman at the desk thought I was skipping out on the bill! And when we requested a wakeup call for our flight, the night desk manager forgot to call us. His excuse: "I was squeezing oranges." Luckily, we set an alarm too. Still, after a 4 night stay, I'd recommend it if you don't mind a little walk into town, which you will need after their excellent breakfast, served at a great hour for late risers, 8:30-11. And on the last day, they were happy to make it specially for us at 6:30 am. And, I almost forgot the great rooftop Jacuzzi, very private with lots of beautiful plants and comfy chairs!!

Room Tip: Ask for hot breakfast...they'll happily make it. And ask for a room with a window. Use the jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent one night in this wonderful boutique hotel. The rooms were enchanting and the service friendly and polite. Best to book a hotel facing away from the busy road as it was a little noisy. We loved the deep tiled bath and mattress was exceedingly comfortable. Although in the old city, it was a bit away from the tourist attractions which meant a fair bit of walking but also a more authentic experience as we were surrounded by Sevillians rather than tourists.Highly recommend it - we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: book a room facing Bequer road as rooms facing the busier perpendicular road was more noisy. Regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c-ann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a great experience with our seven-night stay at the Alcoba del Rey Hotel in Sevilla. The staff was accommodating from the beginning, responding promptly and clearly to email inquiries in English. When we arrived, they had our room set up as we had requested, and throughout our stay the staff was cheerful, friendly, and helpful. The staff we had contact with included not only the front desk reception, but also the breakfast waitress, who remembered our preferences from one day to the next. All spoke English, some better than others, and special requests such as checking in and printing boarding passes the day before our flight was done without question or special charges.
We had a third floor room with French doors over a small balcony (“Almanzor”). The room, as pictured on the website, was interesting, with Moroccan-type furniture and fixtures, and there was plenty of drawer space to store things and even a small television. The room was small, particularly with the two single beds it contained—not even room for a chair—but perfectly comfortable. I would not recommend the room for multiple persons if they need privacy in the bathroom…there was only a breezeway to the shower and sink room (no door), no shower curtain, and a barn-door-type sliding door to the toilet/bidet room that left a large crack open on the toilet side. Although it faces a building across the street, the room is also open to a busy square cattycorner to the hotel, so noise might be an issue if you stay during warm months when you want to leave the windows open. We found that closing the windows blocked out the noise significantly and satisfactorily.
The price of our hotel included breakfast, and the breakfast was an expansive buffet. For most of our stay you could make your own toast from U.S.-style sliced bread or Spanish rolls. These could be topped with Spanish breakfast items such as olive oil and fresh, sliced tomato or ham or sausage or cheese or many other items that I was not familiar with. Perhaps more typically for Americans you could ask for short-order eggs, any style, or choose cereal, yogurt, and/or fresh fruit from the buffet. For some reason at our last breakfast (on a Monday) the toaster had been removed and they were making toast in the kitchen instead, which meant that we were not able to make it the way we liked it. They also ran out of yogurt on that day.
The location of the hotel was ideal for us, since it was situated near the home of the friends we were visiting. It was also close, however, to tourist attractions such as the river and a couple of the lovely bridges, the Macarena church, and the Alameda de Hercules with great restaurants and outdoor fountains in the plaza. We were pleased that it was also a very nice walk downtown through narrow streets, and the walk took only about 20 minutes.
We would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and had a fantastic time. The hotel is lovely with very helpful staff, beautiful décor and very clean and comfortable rooms. Situated 20 minutes walk to the Cathedral (which was enjoyable walking through the narrow streets) and conveniently located to catch buses to the station and airport. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Alcoba is a nice small hotel with several good aspects and a couple of downsides. The good parts are that it is clean, the rooms are a good size, the wifi works well in the rooms, and the bathrooms are modern with plenty of hot water for a really good shower. In addition, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good (with wonderful fresh orange juice), and if you are tired at night, there is a small bar restaurant attached with simple but good food and a very friendly owner. A downside is the location. It is a 30 minute walk to most of the Seville attractions, through a safe but dreary part of town. So if you want to go to the hotel to relax between the afternoon and the evening, it adds a lot of walking. The other downside is that the room does not have a chair or very good lighting--so for reading or writing or answering emails the bed or the lobby are the only options. Adding a reading chair and a good lamp would be a great addition to these rooms! It is also on the corner of a busy street, so it is sometimes noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lesliewnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Holos
#57 of 177 in Seville
503 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 177 in Seville
769 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Las Casas de la Juderia
#37 of 177 in Seville
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Becquer 9, 41002 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#17 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £76 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andalusian legacy is still prevalent in Seville. Our hotel, Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla, is located next to the Basilica de la Macarena, which keeps the Virgin Mary of Macarena, in the same house where, according to the legend, the poet king of Seville Al-mutamid hid his impetuous love for the washerwoman Rumaykiyya from his father.To face modern life stress, in our hotel you will find peace, calm, serenity, tranquility, relax and rest for your body… and your soul.We invite you to time travel: go back to the Andalusian period, a time full of colors and emotions when Seville (Isbiliyya) was the cradle of Western and Eastern cultures, arts and scientific knowledge, thanks to the contact and fusion of three different cultures: Jewish, Muslims and Christians.You will be surprised by our colorful and impeccable decoration! But we have a bigger surprise for all of our guests. We are a hotel-boutique and every piece of furniture in the rooms and the hotel is on sale. You can buy pictures, lamps, headboards, canopy beds, chairs, curtains, bathroom fittings… everything you want! We are continuously innovating!A wonderful terrace with a Chill Out Lounge will make you enjoy spring and summer nights as well as you can have lovely sunbathings and freely use our outdoor jacuzzi.And the last surprise!!! The best tapas and andalusian food can be tasted in our restaurant, managed by our famous chef Rosita. She will personally serve you the best tapas you can ever eat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcoba Del Rey De Sevilla Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing