We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot in the heart of old Seville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alminar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alminar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Perfect spot in the heart of old Seville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here.
Staff were extremely nice and even helped us book our travel to Ronda with Los Amarillos.
The hotel is very clean and situated meters from the cathedral and the Alcazar with lots of really nice restaurants and bars in the vicinity to suit all budgets. We skipped on the breakfast because of the proximity to restaurants. It is also not far by taxi from the train station and only cost us about 8 euros to get the hotel.

The only negative we have is that it is quite noisy. So, heed some of the other travelers advice on here and try to get a room higher up or away from the street. In saying this, the area around the Cathedral is always busy and the streets are so narrow that the noise reverbs between the buildings. A tip if you are in one of the rooms that is a little noisier is to tune the radio (in the closet) to static and use it as a white noise machine. This worked well for us.

Despite this negative, i would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Anything up off the street (floor 2 and up) and at the back of the hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    208
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
101
437
99
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My mother and I had 5 nights at Hotel Alminar, located down a series of fairly tight alleyways, and right in the heart of wonderful Sevilla! It was a great base for our adventuring; and from Alminar you really didnt need go far. So much exploring around all the alleys, and so close to the Cathedral and surrounds.. it was never too far to come back in the heat of the day for a well earn siesta.
We found the hotel very well appointed; lovely rooms, with a small balcony and modern bathroom. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, giving great non-touristy tips and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed their delightful town. Oh, and the simple breakfast selections were a typical local breakfast and really fabulous.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Alminar. It is well located, especially with wonderful, traditional flamenco practically next door at the Auditorio Alvarez Quintero. The Alminar’s staff is great: friendly, helpful, and bilingual. The free coffee and tea available at all hours was nice. I stayed on the ground floor (room #2) and had no problems. I was surprised with how little street noise there was. With all of these positives, I find the Alminar to be reasonably priced and would stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

just returned from usual October treat with my daughter at this fantastic hotel. I travel a lot ( 19 times on a plane so far and several more trips to go this year) and I expect v high standards - which are indeed met at the Alminar. The staff are v helpful, friendly, good tips for treats, perfect English and remember all the things we like.
we always stay at the top with the terrace overlooking the Catherdral - fantastic view and pretty table and chairs with canopy if you need it - check out the pics. room is a good size with bath and shower, soft towels and good bed linen .Everything is v clean.

It is a great location - near some v good tapas bars and restaurants and places of interest. I read some reviews complaining about the noise - quite frankly this hotel and the street it is in is quieter than most near the cathedral - I know because I have stayed elsewhere inc the Dona Maria which is a big posh hotel and I don't rate it. I also saw some moans about the breakfast - rubbish - I had freshly squeezed orange juice and all sorts of pastries, fruit, cheese etc etc. if you want a fry up don't go to Seville !!

I am just about to book next years trip to this great hotel and cant wait.

Room Tip: ask the staff to explain what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fan717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This September was the 3rd time that my husband and I have visited Seville, 3rd time and the best time. I can honestly say that Hotel Alminar and it's staff contributed a lot to how great our holiday was. We were directed to Alminar from the Infhor office at the train station and were delighted to find the hotel located in a small characterful street just a stones throw from the stunning cathedral in central Seville. The incredible location is just one of the great things about Hotel Alminar.
The long list of pros includes:
1. Friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable staff. Francisco and his team were always on hand to help, advise and organise or even just for a friendly chat.
2. Clean, modern and well designed rooms.
3. Brilliant links to transport, within easy reach of parking, taxis and trams. Close to a train ticket office and easy to reach the main train and bus stations.
4. 2 doors away from a recommended (and thoroughly enjoyed) Flamenco show.
5. Many reasonably priced and extremely palatable restaurants and cafes simply minutes walk away. Bar Estrella was recommended to us by Francisco and we went more than once, if you want an authentic tapas experience we highly recommended it!
6. Fast and effective Wifi

(Ladies, Hotel Alminar is about 5 minutes walk from the main shopping street)
Special thanks to Emily for recommending the Las Setas, you are right the view at night was incredible!

We will definitely be booking back into Hotel Alminar when we return to Seville again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyCOwen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel has a lot of good going for it :

1) location is really 50 meters from the cathedral, the Alcazar, and many of Seville's main highlights. If I had 1-2 days in Seville, this would be optimum location.

2) staff is wonderful - they speak perfect English and are always willing to help with any question, suggestion for restaurant, etc. As a matter of fact we got a fabulous suggestion from one of the young gals for an authentic tapas bar in Triana called Sol y Sombre. It was truly an experience and highly recommended.

3) the hotel is clean and comfortable.

The breakfast room and the breakfast itself needs much improvement. There is no real space and it is neither convenient nor inviting. The hotel and the rooms have no atmosphere whatsoever and there seems to not have been any thought process into how to make the area more inviting and aesthetic.

While we were fairly happy with the positives of this hotel, if we find ourselves in Seville once again, I believe I would choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: I requested rooms anywhere but on the ground floor since there were other travelers who advised this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flame123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

At check in we where well received and a lot of tips given on sights an local restaurants (a few of which we also went to and can confirm they where good tips with many locals). And the next day he also followed up again.

We had a room on the ground floor at the hotel which wasnt great however also did not have the issues you may expect (liitle noise from breakfast area for example).

So overall good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esploratore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#11 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Las Casas de El Arenal
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alminar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alminar Hotel

Property: Alminar Hotel
Address: Calle Alvarez Quintero 52, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#11 Family Hotel in Seville
#14 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alminar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alminar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alminar Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing