We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really - REALLY can't go wrong!!! Book now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alminar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alminar Hotel
Ranked #19 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You really - REALLY can't go wrong!!! Book now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

We called a day in advance after finding this place on Tripadvisor. We were really lucky to get a room! From our initial contact until we finally, reluctantly left - we had an outstanding time! Stupidly we tried to get to the hotel by car, we followed the GPS towards the address only to miss the hotel again and agin. We called the hotel, where Maria answered. Charming, straight to the point, excellent description - she piloted us to the nearest parking. We took the short stroll with our luggage and found the hotel without a problem. The hotel isn't close to the main attractions of Seville - it is RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THEM ALL! We could probably see the cathedral from our small balcony if we had tried - it is 75 meters away. The best Tapas place is down the street, everything is right outside the door. Maria was extremely helpful in giving us tips, she is a great asset to the hotel and is very welcoming and charming. We had the good fortune to meet the manager on our second day, also a very nice guy who only made our stay more pleasant and our wish to come back even stronger. Sure, the rooms are a bit loud but we brought our 17 month old baby and he didn't wake up, neither did we. You need to understand that this is located in the Old Town of a living, pulsating, working city. This is not a recently built building on the outskirts of town, this is in the center of everything, bring earplugs if you have trouble sleeping - we didn't need any and slept like our baby. The room was modern, comfortable and left nothing to be desired. We have stayed in 5 hotels in Seville before this one ranging from 5 star to 2 star, this was the best of them all. The hotel is very clean, the cleaning lady made a point of placing our sons cuddly toys in a nice way in his crib (crib free of charge), just small details like that, an eye for detail in everything. We will not stay anywhere else when we return to Seville, if the hotel is full I would rather re-schedule my trip!
Thanks you so much!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    208
    46
    13
    11
See reviews for
102
439
100
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TEXAS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

My Wife and I checked into The Alminar on March 12,2009. We soon realized that it may be the noisiest hotel we have ever booked. We could hear all kinds of street noise and you had to slam the door to our room to close it. When I asked at reception if they had a quieter room, the lady assured me that all of their rooms were the same and that "it is impossible to find a quiet room near the center of any large European City." We paid a 120 euro cancellation fee and rolled our bags half a block to The Hotel San Francisco where we got 3 nights of good sleep in a larger and much quieter interior room for 56 euros per night. We stayed in 3 wonderful hotels on this trip; 4 nights at The Jazz Hotel in Barcelona, 4 nights at Britania Hotel in Lisbon, and 3 nights at The Hotel Preciados in Madrid

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CORTEX62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Alminar Hotel for 3 nights in June 2008. We booked a superior room after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and got one of the terrace rooms on the top floor with great views of the Giralda. The room was nice, the terrace wonderful and the staff will do all they can to make your stay a memorable one. The free coffee in the lobby is also a great bonus. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

A lovely hotel on a quiet cobbled street close to the Cathedral, a perfect location. Room was spacious and stylish and bathroom was very modern; both had "Juliette" balconies. Staff were friendly. Domestic staff were a little noisy in the mornings but probably can't be helped due to small size of the hotel. Great drinks facilities in the foyer.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shortie115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

I booked this room based on the good reviews on tripadvisor and it definitely lived up to its expectations. The room was very modern, bright and cheerful. The location is right near the cathedral, close to most neighborhoods and sightseeing. The staff, expecially Maria, couldn't have been any more helpful with directions, travel tips, suggestions for restaurants and walking routes. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, but the free coffee was a nice perk. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Seville.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Alminar for a week in February 2009. The hotel is a stone's throw away from the cathedral and right in the heart of old Seville. The hotel itself is small but very comfortable, however the thing that sets it apart is the excellent service and the wonderful staff. I've stayed in many much more expensive hotels as a business traveller - but I thought the Alminar's staff went the extra mile in terms of their helpfulness and local knowledge. I would throughly recommend this hotel. The rooms are modern, a little small - but that is to be expected given the location of the hotel, the bathrooms are very well appointed - both rooms we stayed in had views of the cathedral.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank actionturnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

Amazing hotel.

Hotel located in the very center of the city, about 50 meters away from the cathedral. Superb location.
Parking is located about 10 mnutes away from the hotel. It is not cheap, about 18 Euros per day.
Staff is wonderful - welcoming, polite and helpful.
Rooms are beautiful and very clean. Hotel is very quiet.
Didn't have breakfast here, but it seemed pretty good.

All in all, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Stay here!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter123452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Corral del Rey
#2 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alminar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alminar Hotel

Property: Alminar Hotel
Address: Calle Alvarez Quintero 52, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#11 Family Hotel in Seville
#14 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alminar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Alminar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alminar Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing