We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, but not again..”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Florida
Ranked #170 of 180 Hotels in Seville
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    21
    27
    19
    42
See reviews for
17
61
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location is good. Rooms are clean. But the rooms are TINY. Barely enough space to walk around in and the bathroom was so small that it required a sliding door and when you sat on the toilet, you had to sit at an angle since there wasn't enough room for my knees if I were sitting straight (I'm 5'8"). Also, they wanted to charge us 2 Euros to keep our 2 bags for a few hours after we checked out. We were there during La Feria and they charged us 80 Euros rather than the normal rate of 40.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hostal Florida is really good located, the most important points in the city are on walking distance. Stuff is friendly and helpful. I've read about bugs in the room which was NOT the truth.Rooms and bathroom are clean and tidy, but not too spacious. WE didn't have any problem there. If we have chance we would come back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazmaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Firstly, I want to say that I have traveled a lot troughout the world and I have seen many bad hostals but this is by far the worst experience I have ever had, here is my story:

My girlfriend and I booked 3 nights in this hostal, we arrived early in the morning and asked the receptionist if we could take the room at 7am instead of 11am. She said that we could not, but we could leave our luggage in the room and come back around 10am.
She had left the hostal's door open, and the phone rang just after she opened it. It was the owner calling to ask to close the door, she was spying her employees with the video camera first thing in the morning, we were kind of stupefied...

We went back at 11am, as we have already discussed with the receptionist and took a 2h nap. When we got out, the lady told us that we had to pay an extra night because we took the room 2hours before the check-in ?????!!!!!!
She said that she was sorry but the owner had decided otherwise and that we had to pay a whole additional night for dropping off the luggage for 2 hours. We obviously refused to pay, as her employee gave us the permission and everything was crystal-clear. She later asked us again, but we said there was no way we had to pay for their poor communication and mistake.

Then, she did not ask again. But when we left the hostal, the owner was here. And it was really crazy, we tried to leave using the door and she attacked us !!! She grabbed my arm with force and yelled at me that we only paid 2 night and that we had to pay for an other night.... So now the story had changed, but we indeed paid 3 night when we arrived with the receptionist but she was telling us that we paid only 2. This was completely crazy, she began to threaten us and at one point it was really scary.

Being incompetent and lacking communication is one thing. But physically assaulting one client is clearly unacceptable. I wouldn't go back in this hostal, even if you pay me. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oni_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seville hotels

Tirana, Albania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This place should be on the national historic list. The architecture of the building is a micro world of Spain's culture.The Cleanliness of the room and all hotel's area is perfect. The housekeeper are doing their job properly. The toilets and the bathrooms are also nice. Toilet is in hispanic style. The toilet paper, shower gel and shampoo are available.
Location is great, if you wanna explore old town area, just a block or so you will reach it. Many good cafes are near by.
Rooms are nice and roomy. For each dorm bed you get reading light, a plug, a small shelf, a curtain and a cabinet. All rooms are air-conditioned. .The reception are very helpful and considerate. The price is reasonable.Definitely I would like to stay there again .

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank iskra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Beautiful hotel,very nice service,Staff ,Owner polite and good communication skills, Rooms clean and tidy,quite place,even in center of the city.I would like to go again and again to this place..and I will recommend to to anyone who is going to Seville,to stay to Hostal Florida.!!!!Hope to go back again next Year...Highly recommend this Hostal

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George_1858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
226 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We could not sleep a wink here. We could not find another hotel without losing $475.
We did not feel safe. We had car exhaust in the room.
Should be classified as a prison setting.
Cost over $125 USD per night -- outrageous !
Staff speaks no English, which in the tourist world is not good. They should at least have a laminated sheet with English with common questions and answers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
La Casa de la Luna- Antiguo Hostal Arias
Hostal Sierpes
#127 of 180 in Seville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Ibis Budget Sevilla
#84 of 180 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Anfiteatro Romano
#146 of 180 in Seville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Hotel JM Jardin de la Reina
#160 of 180 in Seville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Le petit Paris
#108 of 180 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Florida

Property: Hostal Florida
Address: Calle Menendez Pelayo 27, 41003 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 180 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Florida 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of Seville within walking distance of all tourist areas, monuments, museums, supermarkets and shopping area of the city. We have rooms with ensuite bathroom, TV, Air Conditioning,Hairdryer, Room Service..We are happy to make everybody feel comfortable with us: backpackers who come to stay the night on their way to other destinations, families with kids touring Spain, couples who come to enjoy the beauty of Sevilla, small to mid sized groups and many more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostal Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Florida Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing