We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great base for exploring the city”
Review of Hostal Jentoft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Jentoft
Ranked #97 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Orihuela
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great base for exploring the city”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Pleasant helpful reception. Private (indoor) parking very handy and reasonably priced. Choice of buffet or continental breakfast. Easy walk from here to all major city sights. Rooms basic but very clean and comfortable enough. Bathroom had shower/bath, bidet and basin but not a single plug to be found! but lots of hot water! Inside very quiet as corridors all carpeted, but very busy road outside.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the busy main road was quite noisy from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    203
    122
    26
    18
See reviews for
45
275
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed in Hostal Jentoft for 4 nights in October 2011. We chose this place because of its price, proximity to the center and fairly good opinions. In fact the only positive side was the price. It took us about 20-25 minutes on foot to get to center. The surroundings of the hotel isn't interesting at all. Probably if we hadn't had to pay for the room before seeing it, we wouldn't have stayed there. The room was quite clean, basic and a bit dark. The main inconvenience was that the room was facing busy street (Calle Arjona) that made us impossible to open the window because of noise and fumes. When air conditioning was switched off, the water from it (through the hole in the ceiling) was dripping on the floor. The staff was polite but not so open and friendly like Spanish usually are. I think it's appropriate place for people looking for just cheap accommodation. We were a bit dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colintea89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Valerien
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

If value for money is what you are looking for in a near city centre location then this is it..Small but adequate bedrooms with ensuite. Free wifi and aircon. Breakfast is not very good but you can choose not to have it. If you are driving there is a secure garage opposite the hostal.

Room Tip: No choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Staff is not really keen to provide service of I would say the service they provide is very minimum. What's happened:
1) they arranged a room for us with door being broken for robbery before, when we asked for room changed, they are not really willing to do so.
2) in 2nd room (which is facing patio, mean dirty inner part of bldg and you won't really want to open the Windor to get ' fresh' air), we cannot receive any wifi at all, we asked for changed as we stayed three days there with long trip planning, however, they said no room availability in coming days. What we observed is at least half of the 60 rooms with both their room keys and tv remote control left in the reception locker, means not really occupied. We also noticed some double room checked out on 2nd days and empty. It's a matter of fact if they would like you to have pleasant stay or just ask you stay in reception or IT area all time using wifi.
3) daily room cleaning services varied, someday bed is tidy, some is not, though it's just minor.

Only the IT guy seems eager to help.

We are not paid for five star hotel so we just treat this as a place for sleep! So if you think you just need a clean bed, here it is! But avoid room 10 unless they hv changed the broken door!

Good luck!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJ_RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seville hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empoli, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We chose the Jentoft Hotel because it was the one with the best compromise between location and price and was the only one with breakfast included (after several searches we've come to the conclusion that the accomodations in Sevilla seem not to be so cheap respect to other cities where we've been in Andalusia as Granada or Malaga).
The hotel is near the main bus station, so it's good if you arrive to or you leave from Seville by bus; with a 10 minutes walk you're in the hearth of the shopping area of Calle de los Sierpes and from there down to the historic hearth (Cathedral, Reales Alcazares, barrio de Santa Cruz).
Our room was pretty small but we had enough space to put our belongings and it was clean and comfortable; also the bathroom was small and a little dated but clean as well.
A couple of flaws:there was only an electric outlet in the room and it was in the bathroom; the walls were a bit thin and we could hear people talking and moving. Fortunately we did not have noisy neighbors, but this could be a problem.
Finally, with regard to the breakfast, it's pretty basic (bread, ham, cheese and donuts to eat and juices, coffee and milk to drink) and you can choose between the fixed menu that costs 3,5 euros and was the one included in the price of our room (including: a toast, a juice, a coffee and a sweet) or the buffet , but in this case the price is doubled.
So a basic hotel but can be a good choice if you do not have special needs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in this hostal at October 2011. Upon check in, be prepare to pay the full amount of your bill even before you can see your room (Don’t worry; they got Huge multilingual notice post all over their reception to remind you.). A room facing the “Patio” (i.e. Dirty dark Alley with all sort of waste water pipes) was assigned to us. The first thing you’ll notice once inside the room is a sign telling you “Smoking is prohibited” (fair enough), but another sign is ALL kind of food/eating is also prohibited (please refer to the photo I posted. Never saw this kind of rule for a hotel in my life, extremely unfriendly). Since air from this window would definitely be full of gems, so we can only rely on the air conditioner to keep the air fresh. After a day out, we return to our room and turn on the air-con. Ten minutes later, I slipped onto the floor when I enter the bathroom, then I noticed water was dripping from the air-con to the tiled floor (Air-con was right above the bathroom door). I complained to the reception immediately, but he seems not so surprised about it and pretend not understand English. Luckily, a woman who also stayed at the hotel was at the reception area. (She helped us to do the translation and suggested us to change the room.) But the old man at the reception just ignored us and finally just gives us a tiny towel to soak the dripping water. Next morning, water dripping worsen and almost like a waterfall. Most other guests have checked out already. We approached the reception again and repeat our complain. Another old man was there, he kept ignoring us. Finally, he came to our room and just pull out the key (the key is used to activate the air-con), saying the solution is stop using the air-con. We asked to change the room (as I noticed most guest have check out already), he just kept ignoring our request and went away from the reception. We can’t wait all day, so we went out for sight seeing and hopefully good new would turn up when we return at night. But as you can expected, at our return at night, nothing was fixed. Water keeps pouring out from the air-con. We know they are not going to fix it nor change the room for us. We went to the reception again; another old couple helps us to translate. The old man refused to change room and starting shouting at us. To avoid argument, we decided to leave. But the old man at reception refused to refund. After an hour of argument, plus the help of the old couple (Very nice couple, thank you). We got our refund back (Only 2 nights refund) and took our luggage to start searching for another hotel at 12 midnight.
Terrible experience at Hostal Jentoft, Staffs are rude and not friendly at all. If you want to ruin your travel mood/plan then go. Otherwise, find another place. Location is not everything. Travel is about joy but not argument. Hope this review can help others when choosing appropriate hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of November, 2011. The hotel is not a "hostel" as some think, but a good, basic hotel that has small, clean, quiet rooms with clean, ensuite baths including small bathtubs. The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of the Plaza de Armas bus station and the bridge to the Triana district, and so makes a good base for exploring Seville on foot or by bus, and it is possible to get from the hotel to within walking distance of the train station by taking the right local bus. The hotel has a small elevator, so you do not have to haul your suitcases up the stairs to the hotel as you have to do in many budget European hotels. My only real beef was that the hotel website clearly advertised a 39 Euro rate for low season, which was defined as including November, but when we arrived, we were denied the 39 Euro rate and were charged 43 Euros. I argued that the website said 39 Euros, but the desk clerk kept pointing to a 43 Euros price posted on the wall. For that little difference, I finally gave in instead of starting to search the neighborhood for alternative lodging, but it did leave a little bit of a bad taste in my mouth. That being said, the hotel was clean, secure, and comfortable, and had a free computer for guests to use and free WiFi in the rooms, and was still an excellent value for 43 Euros. But skip the breakfast - it is not definitely not worth the money. Instead of paying 3 Euros for the "basic" breakfast or the astronomical price of 10 Euros for the rather pitiful "buffet" breakfast, walk a couple of blocks to the Plaza de Armas shopping center opposite the bus station and buy a cup of coffee and a generous chocolate-filled croissant for only 1.65 Euro at Pans & Company. Or plan ahead, and visit the grocery store in the basement of the shopping center (which does not open until 10 a.m.) and cater your own breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdandShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
0.2 mi away
Le petit Paris
Le petit Paris
#105 of 175 in Seville
235 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Sevilla
Ibis Budget Sevilla
#77 of 175 in Seville
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abril
Hotel Abril
#68 of 175 in Seville
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel San Pablo Sevilla
Hotel San Pablo Sevilla
#74 of 175 in Seville
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Madrid de Sevilla
Hotel Madrid de Sevilla
#79 of 175 in Seville
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Un Patio al Sur
Hotel Un Patio al Sur
#95 of 175 in Seville
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Jentoft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Jentoft

Property: Hostal Jentoft
Address: Calle Benidorm 2, 41001 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Jentoft 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1979 Jentoft Hostal is the biggest one in Seville. 46 Simple rooms available, practical and with all modern conveniences (private bathroom, TV, Wifi,...). In addition, secure parking lot 24h is available for guests. Jentoft Hostal offers you a memorable stay in the historic centre and business area of Seville, with a superb location only five minutes on foot from the "Nice Arts Museum", the bull ring, "La torre del Oro",... Guests can visit and sightsee the city on foot and enjoy the best Andalusian cuisine. We offer a conscientious service to give our clients the best of their stay. Rooms are cleaned daily, and towels are changed every day as well. Brochures and information about events in the city and its more important places of interest will be kindly offered by our staff. A huge range of activities as flamenco shows, guided routes, excursions, trips,...Are also offered with considerable discounts on the price for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Jentoft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing