We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sacristia de Santa Ana
Ranked #74 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the centre of the city but there are plenty of restaurants and bars straight outside the hotel in the evening. We had a superior room which was well worth it. Staff were excellent and helpful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a superior room it's well worth the extra for that special break!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drummerboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Positives:
Hotel Ambiance: This is a beautiful hotel, renovated with a shabby-chic aesthetic and kept impeccably clean. The mattresses are very comfortable. Water pressure is fantastic. Staff members are very friendly and extremely helpful. Altogether I would recommend the hotel.
Location: Location was a huge positive for us in our second stay in Seville. The first time we stayed at Amadeus in the Santa Cruz area and loved it, but this hotel on the lively Alameda de Hercules seems to be in a far more non-touristy area, with many residential apartments, grocers, stores as well as cafes and restaurants. The walk from this area back to the Cathedral or other attractions allows you to pass the best shops in Seville. So it was a different experience than staying near the Alcazar/Cathedral. Having said this, this square used to be the red light district just a few years ago, and the ladies have simply moved back to the streets running parallel to the square. While no problem for us, some people may not be pleased with some of the characters who frequent the square later in the evening. Much marijuana is consumed (and sold). Skateboarders and hippies increase exponentially as the evening progresses. We never felt it was unsafe.

Major Negative: Noise, noise and more noise. The price you pay for the beautifully renovated original ceilings, beams and all that is that you can hear every creak and every word from every room in the vicinity and every passerby in your hallway. The windows may be insulated against outside noise, to some degree, but there is nothing you can do about noise inside the hotel when people speak or walk about. So, if you are sensitive to noise, you may want to reconsider this particular choice. Ear plugs may not suffice.

Minor Negatives: The three rooms we had were all very small. Other than the bed, desk and chair, it was difficult for two people to stand in the space that remained. The photos are particularly misleading about the size of these rooms. If you care about light, there are very few rooms that will suffice. There is hardly any natural light in most internal rooms. As with almost all of Spain, coffee at breakfast was an abysmal affair, from yet another machine contraption spewing out a weak concoction that would not pass for coffee in most countries. The rest of breakfast was just fine.

The extremely comfortable beds, cleanliness, location and shower water pressure and the very friendly desk staff make me recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I really like this hotel-spotlessly clean,helpful staff and interesting decor throughout.A huge plus is that it was very quiet despite being in such a lively area.Beds very comfortable ,lovely bathroom.Reception staff very helpful in advising how to get to the Palacio de Congresos nad even knew the busfare .Travelling alone I felt very secure and comfortable there-would like to vist again

Room Tip: I had a room at eh back which was silent-marvellous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiradarcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Lovely small hotel, comfortable room and bed. I had a room overlooking la Alemeda de Hercules, which is a beautiful tree lined boulevard full of bars and restaurants. The area felt safe, with a mix of people, from the very young to very old. It was a bit noisy on Saturday night, but when I closed the window and put on the air conditioning it was fine. Good bathroom, the shower was excellent. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby, and the central area was about 15 minutes walk away, however we also used taxis which were reasonably priced. October was a good time to visit, not too hot but still warm and sunny. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
One small gripe, we would have liked more choice at breakfast, and after our first morning went to a local cafe, which was cheaper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside view, the main Alemeda de Hercules has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ezra54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We are three nights into a four night stay at Sacrista de Santa Ana and I would recommend it without hesitation. It is a charming boutique hotel with loads of character, our bedroom is beautifully appointed and the staff have been most helpful. The hotel is located on a large square stuffed full of fun cafes, bars and restaurants, it is a short stroll from the main tourist sites. A number of the bedrooms have rooms overlooking a central atrium, if you want to be guaranteed a room with an outer facing window like ours you need to go for a superior room. Even though we will have been here for four nights by the end of our stay we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scottishaccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sacristia de Santa Ana when we were in Sevile for our honeymoon and boy was it a bad experience.

First, we tried to make a change to our reservation 96 hours in advance and they did not allow us to do this.

Second, they gave us a hotel room with a hole in the ceiling where we could see the room above us (and therefore they could see us). We tried to change rooms, but were told none were available.

Third, they insisted we pay in US Dollars at their exchange rate which was higher than the actual rate. When I say insisted, I mean that they wouldn't let us leave without signing for this higher amount.

DO NOT STAY HERE... unless you want to be ripped off, of course.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelerjess_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacristia, Gerente at Sacristia de Santa Ana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear madam,



Certainly we do regret you had such a bad experience at the hotel.

We would have been glad to welcome you with a Champange bottle at the arrival, as we usually do with just married couples, but we did not have any idea your were on honeymoon until we have read your comment.

Anyway We must clarify that there are no rooms with holes in the ceiling nor on the floor above the ceiling. There is just no possible way you could see the room above yours.

About the changes you tried to do we inform you that our cancellation policy is clearly stated. If you cancel or modify within two days, the amount of the night cancelled will be charged; that’s the reason why we charged the cancellation fee when you cancelled the last night at your check in; as you were informed on your confirmation mail when you booked, and three times by our staff during your stay.

We are sorry if the room wasn’t what you expected, but it really was not possible to give you another room, since we did not have any other rooms available.

To finish, we offer our guest the chance to pay in their own currency if they wish, it is not in any case a must. This is done through Banco Santander the major Spanish bank with affiliates all around the world and very attractive currency changes therefore, that in any case the guest are informed in advance.

Anyway we ask you, as Maria the person at the front desk offered you already, if you would like to have your payment back in Usd and charge it again in Euros.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Lovely hotel, really nice to stay somewhere with character and charm. Easy 15 minute walk to the cathedral area, and then stayed near the hotel at night as lots of places nearby to eat and drink. Alameda area seemed quite quiet during the weekday evenings, but got noticeably livelier by Friday night.

Had room that looked into the middle of the hotel rather than the outside, initially disappointed but then realised this made the room completely silent so perfect for an undisturbed siesta. Niggles would be two single beds pushed together rather than a double, and air conditioning was a bit temperamental, but room itself was very large, lovely furniture and nice big bathroom.

Receptionist very helpful in printing off train times to Cordoba and advising of the different price options, much appreciated. The computer with free internet access also came in handy.

Would definitely stay here again if I returned to Seville.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesHerHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
H10 Corregidor Boutique Hotel
Hotel Patio de la Alameda
#35 of 178 in Seville
522 reviews
Casa Romana Hotel Boutique
#84 of 178 in Seville
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 178 in Seville
756 reviews
Hotel Maestranza
#108 of 178 in Seville
193 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Casas de Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacristia de Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacristia de Santa Ana

Address: Plaza Alameda de Hercules 22, 41002 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £46 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sacristia de Santa Ana 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th-century building is located in the lively Plaza de la Alameda, in Seville’s old town. It offers a 24-hour reception and stylish rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen satellite TV.The air-conditioned rooms at Sacristía de Santa Ana feature parquet floors and classical-style décor. Each one has a work desk and a private bathroom.The hotel serves a daily breakfast buffet and Mediterranean cuisine with modern touches. Free coffee is also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sacristia de Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacristia De Santa Ana Hotel Seville
Sacristia De Santa Ana Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing