We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T HESITATE TO BOOK HERE”
Review of Corral del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corral del Rey
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

What a nice place to stay. Centrally located with super comfortable spacious rooms, great bed and a huge bathroom, things that can easily be found in other hotels. The difference is the staff. Always very helpfull with nice details as having a continental breakfast ready when leaving very early in the morning.
Great recommendations for restaurants and activities. They even were able to get tickets for the soccer game Real Madrid-Seville and arrangements were made to have transportation to and from the stadium.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sunnyshaderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Corral del Rey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

...to get back home so that I could reflect on a great stay and to review this property.

I always preface any review to note that I am ranking this based on my expectations for an urban boutique hotel. It would be unfair to compare this to some sort of country resort, or to a large urban property. You won't find a huge lobby, or a workout facility, or an adjacent golf course. What you will find is perfection...with some character.

The denominator for the greatness of this hotel is the staff. From the moment I made reservations on-line, to the second we walked out the door, the staff was there making it all happen and treating us like long lost friends. They set my family up in adjoining rooms, when the apartment proved to be unavailable. They coordinated city tours and a trip to Gibraltar. They made restaurant recommendations, and ensured transportation to and from the airport. They always had breakfast ready in the hotel for our early risers, and went to the trouble to freshly prepare rolls, croissants, and juice the evening before our early morning departure. They even, brace yourself, help to find a safe and clean ear piercing studio where my teenage daughter could get her Andalusian souvenir.

All of this speaks nothing of the amazing property itself. We stayed for five nights across the street (think six feet, as Sevilla is packed with narrow, angular, cobblestone streets guaranteed to to get you lost) from the main building in an awesome, well-appointed, well maintained set of adjacent rooms. Others have described and photoed these rooms, and their pictures do them justice. They feel like home, except for the efficient maid and turn-down service. People have commented on the noise, which we noted and may be alleviated if you asked for a more secluded room, but it really did not affect our stay. Still, you should note that scooters sound like weed-eaters at midnight and that the locals are out later because of tapas and dinner customs. (As a side note, they are also passionate. This is especially true during Atletico/Betis matches and in the early-morning hours when a lubricated, local, Don Juan-to-be was shouting his affections in Spanish from a downtown balcony. Ahhh, Seville!)

The location of this property is, of course, perfect. Once you learn to navigate the streets, which can be tricky, you are easily within walking distance of everything. Less than 10 minutes to the Cathedral and Giralda, the Alcazar, and shopping; Less than 20 minutes to the Plaza de Toros, the Plaza de Espana, the Parque de Maria Luisa, and, in the other direction, the Metropol Parasol; If you just fall out your door, there is a grocery store, a pharmacy, tapas restaurants, and 2000 year old Roman pillars. Could not be any better.

Price is a bit steep, but not inappropriate for the urban location and the features. I think the Corral del Rey is ideal for couples, good for families of most ages, and can't be beat for tourists who want to be in the center of the action.

About the only thing I would suggest is that hotel management invest in better maps. Seville can be hard to navigate, and having a larger map, with less advertising and more landmarks would be amazing. Just think, they could even put the Corral del Rey logo and location on it. It would be perfect, just like our stay, and I would be excited to use that map again to visit my friends when I return to Spain!

Room Tip: The staff here is AWESOME! Just tell them what you want or need and they will make it happen!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wannagetawaymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It is an assembly of two beautifully restored buildings . Modern designed with respect for original elements. We had a junior suite , spacious with all the comforts you would expect in a five-star hotel. In a cupboard a pantry with a kettle, espresso machine , microwave and table top fridge . The breakfast is simple but effective , on the table rolls, toast , jam , plenty of orange juice, everything else is to order. Despite the positive experience at this hotel , there are some comments to make. In a niche of the spacious bathroom , the toilet was placed, but there is no door . In certain moments this does not feel good. Although the shower was very spacious and the shower head fixed to the wall provided more than enough water , we missed the hand shower . The care of the room was mixed. Sometimes not very clean , lint dust on the ground. Old flowers went out of the vase , but the vase with dirty water stayed. Across the street is a nice bar, but guests are alcoholic noisy far after midnight. Furthermore, a super location in the old town. All attractions within walking distance . Very friendly and attentive staff . Evening check of the room . Late check out was no problem .

Room Tip: ask for a room off the street.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Most amazing stay at Corral del Rey, service outstanding, Carmen was of great help and so flexible. The rooms were beautiful, interior decoration throughout is to be commended, great attention to detail and very luxurious turn down service. We enjoyed our short stay immensely. Location is very central but quiet, highly recommended, do not hesitate booking at the Corral del Rey, You will enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivvyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Four of us stayed at Corral del Rey for four nights in early March. Our rooms were in the town house across the lane from the main building. There is a lift to the first and second floors so no problems with accessibility. Very comfortable beds, clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly, professional and 'got things done'. Their suggestions for restaurants were spot on - we ate superb food in Seville. Breakfast was very good continental fare. Very good coffee, excellent orange juice (but what do you expect) and perfectly acceptable croissants, rolls and toast. We would recommend this place to anyone who wants a quiet room in the centre of the city. Everything was within easy walking distance except the Roman ruins at Italica and we caught a bus there from the bus station which was a 15 minute walk. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Windows face to a courtyard away from street noise.But it w...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LotusEaterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here in October last year, can't think why I didn't review it at the time, we had a fantastic room across the street, wonderful staff great wine and perfect location. Not sure what else to say.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights. The room was spacious with high ceiling, well furnished and designed with a very comfortable bed [very rarely a 'given'] .Walk in shower room was of the same high standard. All the staff were helpful and happy to provide their local knowledge [e.g. about the Seville Flamenco Museum nearby -a 'must' to visit] with a welcoming, balanced approach -being there when needed without being overbearing. Breakfasts were excellent with a good range on the menu [e.g. very fresh fruit to order, in addition to the continental breakfast included in the room rate]. Location is in the heart of the old quarter. We would certainly book there again if returning to Seville.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,120 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corral del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corral del Rey

Address: Calle Corral del Rey 12, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#3 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £159 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Corral del Rey 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corral del Rey is located in the heart of Seville, in the old quarter of Barrio Alfalfa five minutes walk from the Cathedral. The original 17th Century Casa Palacio has been meticulously restored and converted into a small private luxury hotel, offering chic accommodation with a vibrant bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Corral del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corral Del Rey Seville
Corral Del Rey Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing